![]() |
|
|
|||
Your partner is wrong.
DESIGNATED FREE THROWER 8.2 COMMENT: When A1 is designated to attempt a free throw(s), no other player shall be permitted to make the attempt unless A1 is injured or disqualified prior to the attempt. If the wrong player attempts the free throw, it may be corrected as prescribed in 2-10. In certain situations, the attempt by the wrong player may be due to a justifiable misunderstanding. In such case, there should be no penalty. But, if it is a situation in which it is reasonable to expect the player to know that he/she is not the proper one to attempt the free throw, a technical foul for unsporting conduct shall be called. In this situation, the proper player is entitled to his/her free throw(s) which will be followed by the administration of the technical foul. (10-3-7f) 8.2 SITUATION: A1 is unable to attempt either of the two free throws awarded because A1 was injured during the play. A6 enters, replaces A1 and attempts the first free throw. A7 reports and enters to replace A6. RULING: A7 must return to the bench and A6 remains in the game to attempt the second free throw. Since A6 replaced A1, A6 must shoot both free throws, unless A6 is injured or disqualified before attempting the second free throw. If this situation involved technical foul free throws, A7 would be allowed to enter and attempt the second free throw. (8-3) |
|
|||
My partner and I both agreed that the sub would have to shoot. We just disagreed that the sub was required to replace A1. Because the coach did not want to remove her injured player, should we have offered to let her take a time-out? Or just assume that if the coach wants to take the TO to allowe rher player to stay in, she'll ask for it of her own volition?
__________________
Are there rocks ahead? If there are, we all be dead! |
|
|||
Quote:
Here is a clear case play which states that either a time-out or a sub was required in your situation and that your partner's opinion is dead wrong. 3.3.5 SITUATION B: A1 appears to be injured and an official properly halts play and the Team A coach rushes onto the court to check A1. However, A1 is OK and seems ready to play within a few seconds. RULING: A1 must be removed as the coach came onto the court. A1 may remain in the game if the coach does not come on the court and A1 is ready to play immediately. If the coach or other bench personnel have come onto the court, the player must be replaced. There is no set amount of time as to what is “immediately,” but it should not involve more than a few seconds and it must be without the coach, trainer or doctor being beckoned and/or entering the court. The coach may also call a time-out to keep the player in the game. (10-4-2) |
|
|||
I agree with you 100%. We looked at that case. My partner claimed that 3.3.5sitB was not specific enough since A1 was not a fouled/injured player about to shoot FTs. I know of know exception to that rule, but hey I'm new.
__________________
Are there rocks ahead? If there are, we all be dead! |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
injured free throw shooter | deecee | Basketball | 3 | Mon Jan 22, 2007 07:43pm |
Injured player? | DJ_NV | Football | 2 | Sun Oct 29, 2006 03:57pm |
injured player | umpire29 | Basketball | 5 | Thu Nov 11, 2004 12:15pm |
Injured Player | Bizket786 | Basketball | 1 | Wed Oct 13, 2004 10:56am |
Coach attends to fouled, injured shooter | Back In The Saddle | Basketball | 30 | Mon May 12, 2003 05:03pm |