The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 06, 2008, 11:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie
It was a double whistle situation where the lead called the foul and the C came in with the intentional signal. I can only guess that when they talked, the C agreed to drop the intentional call. I think that was a mistake. It wasn't the hardest foul you'll ever see, but an intentional would have been a good call in that sit.
Exactly, C came in w/ the intentional while L was in between the players. I agree it should have been an intentional. Correct me if i'm wrong, but from what I remember, not only did the defender grab the shooter's arm and pull him to the ground, but he grabbed it at or above the elbow. I think he had him around the bicep area, can't really say he was going for the ball. Based on the situation he was just trying to stop the dunk. In retrospect, given what happened afterwards, kind of wonder why they didn't leave it as an intentional to help get control of the game.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 09:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 547
didn't see the play, only the previous postings.....based on the descriptions, the crew did NOT handle the T correctly. They had a dead ball T (happened after the original foul was called) that included contact (the pushing/shoving) which they deemed not to be Flagrant ( not combative action/punch/etc) - this is one of two situations where the T is penalized by 2 FT's and the ball (administered at half-court opposite the table). In essence, the crew had an intentional technical foul and did not penalize correctly.

There are only two possible explanations for handling the T penaly as they did: 1) the got it wrong, or 2) the T was not called for a shove/push, but rather just for something a player said verbally......

I had this exact situation happen to me earlier in the year and did not administer the penalty correctly. As a result, I'll "never make that mistake again"......
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 10:31am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Jeff is correct -- IF the technical foul was for dead ball contact. That would make it an intentional technical foul by Men's rules; which means the penalty is 2 shots and the ball. They should have shot the free throws for the personal foul first with the lane cleared. Then shot the free throws for the T with the lane cleared, then awarded Kentucky the ball at midcourt.

It's also possible that the T was for something that was said -- making it an unsporting technical. In which case, the penalty is 2 free throws and resume at the POI.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 38
Do not be surprised if the new NCAA men's coordinator cleans up technical foul rules/administration in the next year or two.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 11:09am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoInZebra
Do not be surprised if the new NCAA men's coordinator cleans up technical foul rules/administration in the next year or two.
How? He's not going to be on the rules committee, is he?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 09:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
How? He's not going to be on the rules committee, is he?
I had the same question, but I figure he'll clean it up by personally attending every single game to make sure each and every T is handled exactly the proper way.

Or maybe not.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 08, 2008, 12:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoInZebra
Do not be surprised if the new NCAA men's coordinator cleans up technical foul rules/administration in the next year or two.
New men's coordinator? Is Hank stepping down?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 08, 2008, 09:18am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
New men's coordinator? Is Hank stepping down?
Yes, the new guy is the current assignor for the Horizon League. I can't remember his name off the top of my keyboard.

The Horizon League website says his name is John Adams.

Last edited by Scrapper1; Tue Jan 08, 2008 at 09:22am.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 08, 2008, 11:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Yes, the new guy is the current assignor for the Horizon League. I can't remember his name off the top of my keyboard.

The Horizon League website says his name is John Adams.
How can you not recall the name of a former President of the United States?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 08, 2008, 12:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffpea
didn't see the play, only the previous postings.....based on the descriptions, the crew did NOT handle the T correctly. They had a dead ball T (happened after the original foul was called) that included contact (the pushing/shoving) which they deemed not to be Flagrant ( not combative action/punch/etc) - this is one of two situations where the T is penalized by 2 FT's and the ball (administered at half-court opposite the table). In essence, the crew had an intentional technical foul and did not penalize correctly.

There are only two possible explanations for handling the T penaly as they did: 1) the got it wrong, or 2) the T was not called for a shove/push, but rather just for something a player said verbally......

I had this exact situation happen to me earlier in the year and did not administer the penalty correctly. As a result, I'll "never make that mistake again"......
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA-M Question tjones1 Basketball 2 Sun Feb 11, 2007 08:56am
NCAA question ATXCoach Basketball 1 Tue Dec 13, 2005 08:41pm
NCAA, Question 50 FVB9 Baseball 11 Mon Mar 28, 2005 09:56pm
NCAA Question mikesears Football 13 Mon Jun 14, 2004 11:48am
NCAA Question barney19 Lacrosse 1 Wed May 29, 2002 06:57am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1