![]() |
|
|||
Not a travel...?
Player attempts a shot but the ball misses rim and backboard (air-ball) and other players. Same shooting player runs down the miss and secures ball in-bounds.
I understand that this is not a travel in NFHS rules since control was terminated at release of ball, however could someone please give me chapter and verse on this one? I am having trouble finding an explanation in the Rules Book. In contrast an errant pass that does not touch other players, but is secured by the passing player, is a travel. Because a pass attempt is not a loss of control... hmmm? Just for grins, what is the reason in creating a rule that defines a pass attempt as a different type of ball release than a shot attempt? It seems to me that releasing the ball is releasing the ball, regardless if it goes toward the basket or towards another player (am I making sense...?) Thanks ! |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Travel or not... | tnsteele95 | Basketball | 21 | Mon Dec 10, 2007 04:43am |
Travel or not. | Jayzer | Basketball | 6 | Sun Feb 13, 2005 01:20am |
Travel or not | Dan_ref | Basketball | 16 | Fri Jan 21, 2005 03:24pm |
Travel | lds7199 | Basketball | 16 | Thu Jan 13, 2005 10:10pm |
No Travel, Just Kidding Travel Kas v Arz | fletch_irwin_m | Basketball | 49 | Tue Apr 08, 2003 06:23pm |