The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 06, 2002, 07:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Oregon, OH
Posts: 166
I have a question.
Field goal try by A1 is in the air. Players A2 and B2 trying for rebound position. A2 pushes B2 and the field goal is good. I'm counting the field goal and have a push on A2 and the foul is common (No free throws). Does Team B have a spot throw in or can they run the endline?
I know if the foul had occured after B had the ball for a throw-in after the basket B would still have the endline if the foul occured where the throw-in location would be on the endline but this is a little twist.
Please reply with rulebook/casebook reference.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 06, 2002, 07:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 301
Lightbulb Run the baseline

MOFFICIAL:

In my humble opinion the rule reference is 5-1 art.5. The new rule where you don't lose the baseline on a foul or violation by the opposing team doesn't apply here because it only applies on the ensuing throw-in. So I would say the foul dictates a spot throw-in.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 06, 2002, 08:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 271
SEE NF Casebook play 7.5.7 see if you see any similarities
to your play. I believe he can still run the baseline.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 06, 2002, 09:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 249
Quote:
Originally posted by PAULK1
SEE NF Casebook play 7.5.7 see if you see any similarities
to your play. I believe he can still run the baseline.
This is interesting; if you hadn't brought up the case I would be certain that the answer was no.

In 7-5-7 it says a "foul on the ensuing throw-in"; which seems to clearly imply fouls at or after the ball is at the thrower's disposal.

However, 7.5.7A clearly refutes that. So, I will go with PAULK1, and say that you can still run the baseline.

Apparently, if there is a non-shooting foul by A anytime after the ball is in-flight on a try, until the ensuing throw-in ends, then B retains the right to run the endline.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 06, 2002, 09:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 301
Angry

This rule is one more reason that our sport is by far the hardest to officiate. I made my post looking only at the NF rule book. Clearly rule 7-5-5 and 7-5-7 don't allow for the team to have the baseline. The words A team retains this priveledge if the scoring team commits a violation or foul (before the bonus is in effect) on the ensuing throw-in if the resulting throw -in spot would be on the endline.

The rule clearly states that the violation or foul must occur during the throw in. The rule was put in just so a team can't circumvent another from running the baseline. Our case here has nothing to do with the reason the provision was instituted.

The casebook 7-5-7a uses goaltending which results in a made basket. I doubt that the casebook would be the same for a common foul during the shot.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 06, 2002, 10:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 271
I believe this is within the reason the new rule was adapted
look at it this way if A1 makes the shot A scores 2 points and there is no foul B gets the ball OOB with the right to run the baseline but if A1 makes a shot and there is a foul by A2 during the shot A still scores 2 points but now B must inbound from the spot. Besides adding a team foul to A
haven't we just punished the inbounding team for being fouled....
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 06, 2002, 10:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,611
B gets to run the endline.

From the NFHS Basketball Interpretations

SITUATION #3: While A1's three-point field goal attempt is in flight, A3 fouls B1 (B is not in the bonus) near the bottom block area. The three-point field goal attempt is successful.
RULING: Score the three-point goal for A1. Team B will be permitted to run the end line on the ensuing throw-in. (5-7-7 Exp (2); 7-5-7)

I agree that the rule needs to be worded better.

But hey, there are a bunch of rules that need to be worded better.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 08, 2002, 12:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Oregon, OH
Posts: 166
Thumbs up

Thanks for all of the input. I believe now I blew my call.
I administered a spot throw-in. But from now on it's endline privledge.
I just love this forum!!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 10, 2002, 09:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 301
I still have a problem with allowing the running of the baseline on this play. What if the foul occurs outsite the arc? The spot for the throw-in is on the sideline and not the baseline. It seems to me that if we have a spot throw-in for that situation it should be the same on the baseline. I don't think any coach is going to argue either way! It is nice to get it right, though.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 10, 2002, 10:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 249
Quote:
Originally posted by BigJoe
I still have a problem with allowing the running of the baseline on this play. What if the foul occurs outsite the arc? The spot for the throw-in is on the sideline and not the baseline. It seems to me that if we have a spot throw-in for that situation it should be the same on the baseline. I don't think any coach is going to argue either way! It is nice to get it right, though.
You are absolutely correct, if the spot is to be on a sideline or the other endline, then use the spot.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 10, 2002, 11:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Oregon, OH
Posts: 166
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
B gets to run the endline.

From the NFHS Basketball Interpretations

SITUATION #3: While A1's three-point field goal attempt is in flight, A3 fouls B1 (B is not in the bonus) near the bottom block area. The three-point field goal attempt is successful.
RULING: Score the three-point goal for A1. Team B will be permitted to run the end line on the ensuing throw-in. (5-7-7 Exp (2); 7-5-7)

I agree that the rule needs to be worded better.

But hey, there are a bunch of rules that need to be worded better.
Where does one get a copy of the NFHS Basketball Interpretations?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 10, 2002, 12:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,611
One need only to go to http://www.nfhs.org/sports/basketball_interp.htm
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 10, 2002, 06:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 451
if you put the ball sideout on the throw in you dont have to worry about running the baseline. that is if the foul occurred near the sideline.
__________________
tony
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1