The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   6 men on the court (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40253-6-men-court.html)

M&M Guy Fri Jan 04, 2008 03:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
No, it would be an old M&M boil.

That's a rather scalding comment.

Dan_ref Fri Jan 04, 2008 03:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
That's a rather scalding comment.

Yeah well no need to get crabby about it, it's only a joke.

JugglingReferee Fri Jan 04, 2008 03:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tio
So would you start the game after a timeout if black had 6 players on the floor? I would hope that common sense would prevail. Allowing 6 players on the court is a lack of concentration by the crew.... Something we don't have to deal with if we are doing our job.

If I know that black has 6 players on the court, then no, I do not start the game. I either have my hand up in the air (non-administering official), or I don't give the ball to anyone. Either way, I am voicing to black's coach that he has too many players, six, on the court.

Say the official counts 5, allows the game to proceed and then during the play, he notices that there are in fact 6 players on the court. Would you call a T or not?

M&M Guy Fri Jan 04, 2008 03:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Yeah well no need to get crabby about it, it's only a joke.

All right, I'll clam up.

For now.

(PS - Know any good music venues in JR's neighborhood?)

tjones1 Fri Jan 04, 2008 03:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
No, it would be an old M&M boil.

Melts in the pot, not in your hands?

Tio Fri Jan 04, 2008 04:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
If I know that black has 6 players on the court, then no, I do not start the game. I either have my hand up in the air (non-administering official), or I don't give the ball to anyone. Either way, I am voicing to black's coach that he has too many players, six, on the court.

Say the official counts 5, allows the game to proceed and then during the play, he notices that there are in fact 6 players on the court. Would you call a T or not?

Well, at that point you have no choice. I think we agree the key to avoiding this situation is for the crew to make sure the proper number of players are on the court before putting the ball in. I do believe that it is the primary duty of the CREW to ensure this mental lapse doesn't happen.

A similar situation is free-throw alignment. While we have violations we have to call if the players line up incorrectly, we really shouldn't be administering the shots until players are in the right spot.

My point is that we need to focus for the entire game and one little error like this can send a calm game sideways in a hurry.

BillyMac Fri Jan 04, 2008 04:26pm

Agree
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Tio
Well, at that point you have no choice.

I agree.

oldschool Fri Jan 04, 2008 04:30pm

I agree points are counted and T assessed but I could not find in rule or case book. Help please!

bob jenkins Fri Jan 04, 2008 04:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
He's just trying to claw his way to the top.

Now someone is going to make a shrimp joke and Scrappy will get all crabby. (For those who don't know Scrapper, that's an in-tide joke).

I have an ocean to just close the thread now, but that would be shellfish of me. So, I'll leave it open, just for the halibut.

Dan_ref Fri Jan 04, 2008 04:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Now someone is going to make a shrimp joke and Scrappy will get all crabby. (For those who don't know Scrapper, that's an in-tide joke).

I have an ocean to just close the thread now, but that would be shellfish of me. So, I'll leave it open, just for the halibut.

That about nets it out.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1