illinoisbluezeb |
Thu Dec 13, 2007 12:16am |
<TABLE cellSpacing=4 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=nfhsMainFtMdBld vAlign=top noWrap>10.1.9 Situation:
</TD><TD class=nfhsMainFtMd vAlign=top align=left colSpan=4>Following a charged time-out Team B is still with their coach on the sideline when the official sounds the whistle to indicate play will resume. Four players of B return to the court just in time to play defense as A1 attempts an unsuccessful three-pointer. B1 rebounds and throws a long pass to B5 who enters the court just in time to catch the pass.
</TD></TR><TR><TD class=nfhsMainFtMd vAlign=top align=right>Ruling:</TD><TD class=nfhsMainFtMd align=left colSpan=4>A technical foul is immediately charged to Team B for failing to have all players return to the court at approximately the same time following a time-out or intermission. While it is true the entire team may be off the court while the procedure is being used, once a team responds, all players must enter the court at approximately the same time.</TD></TR><TR><TD class=nfhsMainFtMd vAlign=top noWrap align=right>Comment:</TD><TD class=nfhsMainFtMd align=left colSpan=4>The resumption-of-play procedure is in effect to start the second half unless either team is not on the court. In that case regular delay provisions are in force.</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>Short version I'm not typing it but 10.3.3 B of the NFHS printed case book states a different situation but opposite no T. Player returns and just joins the team, no cherry picking layup or deception, so no T is given. So we do have some judgement and discretion.
|