The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   entering the court (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40248-entering-court.html)

fullor30 Mon Dec 10, 2007 10:06pm

entering the court
 
Did a lower game tonight as favor to assignor and talent level was pretty weak. As a result my partner and I got sloppy. After timeout ball is inbounded and B only has four players on the court( I told you were were sloppy). Play goes on for a 5-10 seconds and the fifth player runs out onto the court.

I called a T on team B. Right or wrong?

Just the ruling please............other circumstances were in play on this one

JugglingReferee Mon Dec 10, 2007 10:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30
Did a lower game tonight as favor to assignor and talent level was pretty weak. As a result my partner and I got sloppy. After timeout ball is inbounded and B only has four players on the court( I told you were were sloppy). Play goes on for a 5-10 seconds and the fifth player runs out onto the court.

I called a T on team B. Right or wrong?

Just the ruling please............other circumstances were in play on this one

Right. Coaches are ultimately responsible for substitutions.

fullor30 Mon Dec 10, 2007 10:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
Right. Coaches are ultimately responsible for substitutions.


Can you cite the ruling? I have a few cold ones on this one.

bob jenkins Mon Dec 10, 2007 10:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30
Did a lower game tonight as favor to assignor and talent level was pretty weak. As a result my partner and I got sloppy. After timeout ball is inbounded and B only has four players on the court( I told you were were sloppy). Play goes on for a 5-10 seconds and the fifth player runs out onto the court.

I called a T on team B. Right or wrong?

Just the ruling please............other circumstances were in play on this one

Right. See Interp #12

Nevadaref Tue Dec 11, 2007 01:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Right. See Interp #12

As bob let you know this ruling is in this year's NFHS interpretations which are currently posted on the website. So it should be fairly easy for you to win your bet. :)

http://www.nfhs.org/web/2007/10/2007...s_interpr.aspx

truerookie Tue Dec 11, 2007 08:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30
Can you cite the ruling? I have a few cold ones on this one.

10-1-9; 10-3-3

PYRef Tue Dec 11, 2007 08:52am

In a lower level game, if I was getting sloppy and didn't pay attention, I wouldn't be calling a T in this sitch. Actually, even if I wasn't getting sloppy, I wouldn't call the T. Unless you could detrmine it was an intentional act designed by the coach to give them an advantage.
It isn't the state championship game, let it go.

fullor30 Tue Dec 11, 2007 09:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PYRef
In a lower level game, if I was getting sloppy and didn't pay attention, I wouldn't be calling a T in this sitch. Actually, even if I wasn't getting sloppy, I wouldn't call the T. Unless you could detrmine it was an intentional act designed by the coach to give them an advantage.
It isn't the state championship game, let it go.

As I mentioned other circumstances were in play. It was the right call at the right time.

Scooby Tue Dec 11, 2007 09:15am

T is OK though I might let them play on.

fullor30 Tue Dec 11, 2007 09:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scooby
T is OK though I might let them play on.

As I mentioned other circumstances were in play. It was the right call at the right time.

Back In The Saddle Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PYRef
In a lower level game, if I was getting sloppy and didn't pay attention, I wouldn't be calling a T in this sitch. Actually, even if I wasn't getting sloppy, I wouldn't call the T. Unless you could detrmine it was an intentional act designed by the coach to give them an advantage.
It isn't the state championship game, let it go.

I hate this philosophy. What happens when a team gets to the state championship? Do they then play by a whole different set of rules? Will they be prepared to play by those rules?

The rules are the rules. Just enforce them and move on.

rainmaker Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30
As I mentioned other circumstances were in play.

Sheez, fullor you keep saying that, and now I'm curious, what other circumstances. Enquiring minds what to know!!

PYRef Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30
As I mentioned other circumstances were in play. It was the right call at the right time.

If "it was the right call at the right time", then why are you on here asking "right or wrong".
You don't want our opinion, look the ruling up yourself.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BITS
I hate this philosophy. What happens when a team gets to the state championship? Do they then play by a whole different set of rules? Will they be prepared to play by those rules?

The rules are the rules. Just enforce them and move on.

Not hardly. He said this was a lower level game. How low? That is a key point. I hear some people on here talk about calling a 5th grade game as strict as a D1 tournament. You can't just enforce the rules the same way in that level of game.

bob jenkins Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PYRef
If "it was the right call at the right time", then why are you on here asking "right or wrong".
You don't want our opinion, look the ruling up yourself.

He meant that whatever call he made was right for the game, even IF it wasn't right by the rules. He wants (or wanted) to know whether it was ALSO right by the rules.

PYRef Tue Dec 11, 2007 11:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
He meant that whatever call he made was right for the game, even IF it wasn't right by the rules.

:eek: :eek: :eek: What!!! God forbid he should do that in a state championship!

Adam Tue Dec 11, 2007 11:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PYRef
:eek: :eek: :eek: What!!! God forbid he should do that in a state championship!

Do what? Make the right call?

It's pretty clear that he was looking to make sure he had the ruling correct. It was also pretty clear that he wasn't concerned with the standard advice of "count the players blah blah blah" or "I wouldn't call this blah blah blah" because the game situation dictated this call if the ruling can support it.

illinoisbluezeb Thu Dec 13, 2007 12:16am

<TABLE cellSpacing=4 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=nfhsMainFtMdBld vAlign=top noWrap>10.1.9 Situation:
</TD><TD class=nfhsMainFtMd vAlign=top align=left colSpan=4>Following a charged time-out Team B is still with their coach on the sideline when the official sounds the whistle to indicate play will resume. Four players of B return to the court just in time to play defense as A1 attempts an unsuccessful three-pointer. B1 rebounds and throws a long pass to B5 who enters the court just in time to catch the pass.
</TD></TR><TR><TD class=nfhsMainFtMd vAlign=top align=right>Ruling:</TD><TD class=nfhsMainFtMd align=left colSpan=4>A technical foul is immediately charged to Team B for failing to have all players return to the court at approximately the same time following a time-out or intermission. While it is true the entire team may be off the court while the procedure is being used, once a team responds, all players must enter the court at approximately the same time.</TD></TR><TR><TD class=nfhsMainFtMd vAlign=top noWrap align=right>Comment:</TD><TD class=nfhsMainFtMd align=left colSpan=4>The resumption-of-play procedure is in effect to start the second half unless either team is not on the court. In that case regular delay provisions are in force.</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>Short version I'm not typing it but 10.3.3 B of the NFHS printed case book states a different situation but opposite no T. Player returns and just joins the team, no cherry picking layup or deception, so no T is given. So we do have some judgement and discretion.

swkansasref33 Thu Dec 13, 2007 02:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PYRef
If "it was the right call at the right time", then why are you on here asking "right or wrong".
You don't want our opinion, look the ruling up yourself.


Not hardly. He said this was a lower level game. How low? That is a key point. I hear some people on here talk about calling a 5th grade game as strict as a D1 tournament. You can't just enforce the rules the same way in that level of game.

hahaha. IMO, they arent extremely strict in D1, so I do believe that calling a
5th grade game the same as a D1 tourney would be extremely appropriate. :D not saying that they arent good officials, because they are, but they don't call ticky-tack stuff, and dont call everything.

fullor30 Thu Dec 13, 2007 08:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PYRef
If "it was the right call at the right time", then why are you on here asking "right or wrong".
You don't want our opinion, look the ruling up yourself.


Not hardly. He said this was a lower level game. How low? That is a key point. I hear some people on here talk about calling a 5th grade game as strict as a D1 tournament. You can't just enforce the rules the same way in that level of game.


It was the right call at the right time because the correct ruling was cited here by several. The game situation, with the coach trying to be the R on our two man crew, the drama and confusion of the fifth player entering the court required firm application of the rules and game management. For inquiring minds, it was a freshmen girls doubleheader A and B.

Offending team had won the previous game by over 30, yet pressed until the 4 qtr, which they are entitled to do, much like you posting your opinion when I asked for ruling only.

bob jenkins Thu Dec 13, 2007 08:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by illinoisbluezeb
<TABLE cellSpacing=4 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=nfhsMainFtMdBld vAlign=top noWrap>10.1.9 Situation:
</TD><TD class=nfhsMainFtMd vAlign=top align=left colSpan=4>Following a charged time-out Team B is still with their coach on the sideline when the official sounds the whistle to indicate play will resume. Four players of B return to the court just in time to play defense as A1 attempts an unsuccessful three-pointer. B1 rebounds and throws a long pass to B5 who enters the court just in time to catch the pass.
</TD></TR><TR><TD class=nfhsMainFtMd vAlign=top align=right>Ruling:</TD><TD class=nfhsMainFtMd align=left colSpan=4>A technical foul is immediately charged to Team B for failing to have all players return to the court at approximately the same time following a time-out or intermission. While it is true the entire team may be off the court while the procedure is being used, once a team responds, all players must enter the court at approximately the same time.</TD></TR><TR><TD class=nfhsMainFtMd vAlign=top noWrap align=right>Comment:</TD><TD class=nfhsMainFtMd align=left colSpan=4>The resumption-of-play procedure is in effect to start the second half unless either team is not on the court. In that case regular delay provisions are in force.</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>Short version I'm not typing it but 10.3.3 B of the NFHS printed case book states a different situation but opposite no T. Player returns and just joins the team, no cherry picking layup or deception, so no T is given. So we do have some judgement and discretion.

The rulings are different because the plays are different. In 10.1.9, there's a TO, so there's a T for "all not returning at the same time."

In 10.3.3B there's a substitution, so there's no T for having the 5th player return late (assuming no advantage / deception).

You have the same judgment and discretion on these rules as you do on any other. ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1