The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 05, 2002, 10:50am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Danvrapp
Let's look at it this way. Player A1 has one foot in the FC, one foot in the BC, and is holding the ball. A1 picks up the foot in the BC, does a complete 360 on his FC (pivot) foot, then puts his non-pivot foot back down in the BC. Does anyone not have a BC violation.

In other words, A1's position is based on his foot in the FC, not the non-pivot foot. Apply the same situation above to the three point scenario, and I think you'd get more votes to count the 3.
Dan,I see where you're coming from.In the same situation as above,if A1 picks up his pivot foot in the FC, A1 is still legally in the BC,by definition.He still has to shoot,pass,or call a TO,though, before the pivot foot hits.If not,it's a travel-not a BC violation.I'm just not sure if you can ignore the fact that A1 started a shot,by rule,with one foot over the 3-point line.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1