View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 05, 2002, 11:00am
Danvrapp Danvrapp is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
In the same situation as above, if A1 picks up his pivot foot in the FC, A1 is still legally in the BC, by definition. He still has to shoot, pass, or call a TO, though, before the pivot foot hits. If not, it's a travel-not a BC violation. I'm just not sure if you can ignore the fact that A1 started a shot, by rule, with one foot over the 3-point line.
Jurassic - Based on your reasoning above (which I agree with 100%!), sounds like A1 is behind the three point arc!

If he's still in the BC when he picks up the foot in the FC (which he is), then he should still be behind the three point arc when he picks up the foot inside the arc - same principle applies. Assuming that A1 doesn't shoot at roughly the same time the foot inside the arc comes off the floor, looks like a 3 to me.

BTW, what makes you say that "A1 started a shot, by rule, with one foot over the 3-point line?" I didn't know you had to have two feet on the floor to start a shot???
__________________
Dan R.
Reply With Quote