The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 03, 2007, 11:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
I understand the the free throws wasn't unmerited and for the wrong player shooting the FTs, but.. we are giving the correct shooter his merited free throw and per 10.2.6 - If an error is corrected, play shall be resumed from the point of interruption to rectify the error, unless it involves awarding a merited free throw(s) and there has been no change of team possesion since the error was made, in which case play shall resume as after any free-throw attempt(s).

Again, yes the error was for the incorrect shooter, but we are resuming play by giving A1 his merited free throws, so 10.2.6 would apply.
All that I can tell you is that your reasoning is not correct.

Perhaps if I alter the play for you, it might make it clearer.

Instead of the coach requesting a time-out to stop the play, B3 fouls A4. Now are you still going to give the correct shooter his attempts and think that you resume from there? You have to resume at the POI, which is the FTs now due to A4.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 03, 2007, 11:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
All that I can tell you is that your reasoning is not correct.

Perhaps if I alter the play for you, it might make it clearer.

Instead of the coach requesting a time-out to stop the play, B3 fouls A4. Now are you still going to give the correct shooter his attempts and think that you resume from there? You have to resume at the POI, which is the FTs now due to A4.
You and I both know how we are going to resume play for the corrective error, nobody on the lane for the correction, and resume with 1 and 1 for A4 with the lane spaces filled. But that's not what the OP situation. Let me ask you, can you give me a situation where 10.2.6 would apply?
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 03, 2007, 11:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
Let me ask you, can you give me a situation where 10.2.6 would apply?
Rule 10 deals with technical fouls. Do you mean 2-10-6? (We use dashes for rule book references and dots for case book citations.)
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 03, 2007, 11:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Rule 10 deals with technical fouls. Do you mean 2-10-6? (We use dashes for rule book references and dots for case book citations.)
You knew exactly what rule I was referring to, but that was the response I expected, j/a.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 03, 2007, 11:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,219
Send a message via AIM to TussAgee11
I'm just lurking from the baseball months during this cold winter, and have dilly daddled in basketball - but if you have to recognize it before your next deadball, and you granted a t/o and then realized it from the coach telling you, then you didn't recognize it before the next dead ball after the clock legally started.

All I need is one person to set me straight, I believe you experts. Just want clarification on that.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 04, 2007, 12:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Tuss, the rule is before the second live ball after the clock has started. So anytime during that next dead ball is still okay.

Joe, chill out. Your citation was confusing.
If you meant 2-10-6, then this play would be a case of its application:
A1 is fouled by B1 and it is the 7th team foul of the half. However, the table neglects to inform the officials and the ball is awarded for a throw-in to Team A. A3 inbounds the ball to A5 and while he is dribbling the table recognizes the error and sounds the horn. An official whistles to stop play and gets the proper information. Play would resume with the merited 1-1 by A1 and continue as normal from there. This was a failure to award merited FTs.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 04, 2007, 04:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
You knew exactly what rule I was referring to, but that was the response I expected, j/a.
Maybe he did, but I bet many didn't. Do you report a foul on 42 when you mean 24 and expect the scorer to figure it out??? Don't jump Nevada for your error...have the character to admit it and not shoot the messenger.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 04, 2007, 08:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
So we screw up this FT administration, and we're going to give A1 "his/her's" meritted free throw and then give A the ball back? That's not how I am reading 2.10.5 & 2.10.6.
I've said this before, but here's another example: The correctable error rules aren't designed to be "fair." They are designed so all parties -- officials and *both* teams -- have an incentive to fix the problem before it becomes a correctable error. What can start out looking like an advantage (hey -- look -- that poor FT shooter A1 is at the line instead of cant-miss A2) can turn into a disadvantage (A2 gets to shoot AND they get the ball back!?).
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 04, 2007, 11:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,219
Send a message via AIM to TussAgee11
Thanks Nevada... appreciate the help.

When I graduate this here college deal if I don't get a job at MiLB I'll probably be getting basketball certification, which makes this site valuable times 2... I defer to your knowledge...

-Tuss
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1