The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Is the official correct? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40012-official-correct.html)

tjones1 Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:36pm

Is the official correct?
 
Just for a little fun and for some of the new posters/officials. Yeah - I'm bored.

NFHS Rules

1. Team B is beating Team A by 60 points. Before the start of the 4th quarter, Team B's and Team A's coach tell the Referee they both agree to shorten the 4th quarter to 2 minutes.

The Referee tells the coaches that the quarter can't be shortened. Is the official correct?

2. B1 is in their frontcourt. B1's pivot is his/her left foot. B1 lifts his/her pivot foot before passing to B2. The official calls a traveling violation. Is the official correct?

3. B3 is shooting two free throws. B pulls their players from their two lane spots for both shots. The official allows the players from A to move down and occupy each of B's lane spots (Team A has their maximum of 4 players in the lane). Is the official correct?

4. Team B has 6 team fouls. During a throw-in by B, B3 commits a foul on A4. Official calls a team control foul on B and gives the ball to A at the spot nearest to the foul for a throw-in. Is the official correct?

5. Team A has 7 fouls. A1 fouls B3. After directing some comments toward the official, A1 is charged with a technical foul.

The official let's B3 shoot his/her 1 and 1 with the lane cleared. The official then let's B5 (who was in the game at the time of the technical) shoot one of the technical foul free throws and then allows B8 (who was on the bench at the time of the technical) to enter the game and shot the second technical foul free throw. Team B is then given a throw-in opposite table at the division line.

Is the official correct?

(Hopefully I didn't make any little errors...but I'm sure if I did JR, Bob, Mark, Tony, Jim, or Santa will let me know. :) Heck if I make a really dumb error, I might even pull Chuck out of the wood work.)

Edit 1: Silly errors corrected

Michael Johnson Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
Just for a little fun and for some of the new posters/officials. Yeah - I'm bored.

NFHS Rules

1. Team B is beating Team A by 60 points. Before the start of the 4th quarter, Team B's and Team A's coach tell the Referee they both agree to shorten the 4th quarter to 2 minutes.

The Referee tells the coaches that the quarter can't be shortened. Is the official correct?

2. B1 is in their frontcourt. B1's pivot is his/her left foot. B1 lifts his/her pivot foot before passing to B2. The official calls a traveling violation. Is the official correct?

3. B3 is shooting two free throws. B pulls their players from their two lane spots for both shots. The official allows a player from A to occupy each of B's lane spots. Is the official correct?

4. Team B has 6 team fouls. During a throw-in by B, B3 commits a foul on A4. Official calls a team control foul on B and gives the ball to A at the spot nearest to the foul for a throw-in. Is the official correct?

5. Team A has 7 fouls. A1 fouls B3. After directing some comments toward the official, A1 is charged with a technical foul.

The official let's B3 shoot his/her 1 and 1 with the lane cleared. The official then let's B5 (who was in the game at the time of the technical) shoot one of the technical foul free throws and then allows A8 (who was on the bench at the time of the technical) to enter the game and shot the second technical foul free throw. Team B is then given a throw-in opposite table at the division line.

Is the official correct?

(Hopefully I didn't make any little errors...but I'm sure if I did JR, Bob, Mark, Tony, Jim, or Santa will let me know. :) Heck if I make a really dumb error, I might even pull Chuck out of the wood work.)



In number five are you going to allow a member of the offending team, A8, shoot the remaining free throw?

rainmaker Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
Heck if I make a really dumb error, I might even pull Chuck out of the wood work.)

Good luck with that...

Nevadaref Sun Dec 02, 2007 03:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
... and then allows A8 (who was on the bench at the time of the technical) to enter the game and shot the second technical foul free throw. ...

(Hopefully I didn't make any little errors...but I'm sure if I did JR, Bob, Mark, Tony, Jim, or Santa will let me know. :) Heck if I make a really dumb error, I might even pull Chuck out of the wood work.)

You mean such as that one? :D I'm ticked that I didn't make the list. :mad:

Mark Padgett Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:55pm

I'm also curious as to why in question two, you specified that the player was in front court. Does it matter to the question? No. Also, in question three, if the official allows team A to take both of team B's lane spots and team A still occupies their own spots, it would mean that team A has six players. Actually, if you read it closely, you have one team A player occupying two spots at the same time on opposite sides of the lane. That must be one big kid!

tjones1 Sun Dec 02, 2007 01:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
You mean such as that one? :D I'm ticked that I didn't make the list. :mad:

So you're not Santa... son of a... :p

tjones1 Sun Dec 02, 2007 01:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
I'm also curious as to why in question two, you specified that the player was in front court. Does it matter to the question? No. Also, in question three, if the official allows team A to take both of team B's lane spots and team A still occupies their own spots, it would mean that team A has six players. Actually, if you read it closely, you have one team A player occupying two spots at the same time on opposite sides of the lane. That must be one big kid!

I never said all the information provided was important and/or would be used to answer the question. Didn't you ever take an exam that had matching and there were more choices than questions. ;)

In #3, yes, I can see where that was misleading. Hopefully my correction has fixed the problem. Thanks Mark.

refnrev Sun Dec 02, 2007 08:33pm

OK I'm gonna play. Let's see if the old brain is working. I'll imitate Nevada by giving the reules references for some of them.

1. Nope. They can mutually agree anytime and if the coach down by 60 wants to keep playing call an ambulance and get him in a psych unit. 5-5-3
2. No travel. Pivot foot is in the air on the pass. 4-43-B
3. Yep - they can move down if team A doesn't want them.(Because I said so:)
4. Nope, No team control on a throw in. 4-12-6
5. Yep, Violations are penalized inthe order in whichthey occured. No rule dictates the same shooter has to shoot both throws. (Because I said so.)

-----------------

So, Tanner, how did I do?

Idaho Sun Dec 02, 2007 09:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
Just for a little fun and for some of the new posters/officials. Yeah - I'm bored.

NFHS Rules

1. Team B is beating Team A by 60 points. Before the start of the 4th quarter, Team B's and Team A's coach tell the Referee they both agree to shorten the 4th quarter to 2 minutes.

The Referee tells the coaches that the quarter can't be shortened. Is the official correct?

Yes. Not positive about this one, though.

2. B1 is in their frontcourt. B1's pivot is his/her left foot. B1 lifts his/her pivot foot before passing to B2. The official calls a traveling violation. Is the official correct?

No. As long as the player didn't return his/her pivot foot to the floor before passing.

3. B3 is shooting two free throws. B pulls their players from their two lane spots for both shots. The official allows the players from A to move down and occupy each of B's lane spots (Team A has their maximum of 4 players in the lane). Is the official correct?

Yes.

4. Team B has 6 team fouls. During a throw-in by B, B3 commits a foul on A4. Official calls a team control foul on B and gives the ball to A at the spot nearest to the foul for a throw-in. Is the official correct?

No. No team control during throw-in.


5. Team A has 7 fouls. A1 fouls B3. After directing some comments toward the official, A1 is charged with a technical foul.

The official let's B3 shoot his/her 1 and 1 with the lane cleared. The official then let's B5 (who was in the game at the time of the technical) shoot one of the technical foul free throws and then allows B8 (who was on the bench at the time of the technical) to enter the game and shot the second technical foul free throw. Team B is then given a throw-in opposite table at the division line.

Is the official correct?

Yes.

:)

bob jenkins Sun Dec 02, 2007 09:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Idaho
Yes. Not positive about this one, though.

You can become positive by checking 5-5-3

Nevadaref Sun Dec 02, 2007 09:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnrev
OK I'm gonna play. Let's see if the old brain is working. I'll imitate Nevada by giving the reules references for some of them.

1. Nope. They can mutually agree anytime and if the coach down by 60 wants to keep playing call an ambulance and get him in a psych unit. 5-3
2. No travel. Pivot foot is in the air on the pass. 4-43-B
3. Yep - they can move down if team A doesn't want them.(Because I said so:)
4. Nope, No team control on a throw in. 4-12-6
5. Yep, Violations are penalized inthe order in whichthey occured. No rule dictates the same shooter has to shoot both throws. (Because I said so.)

-----------------

1. There is a nuance that you are overlooking and it is in 5-5-3.
2. 4-44-3a; 4.44.3 Sit C
3. 8-1-4e
4. :)
5. These are fouls, not violations. ;) Yes, they are administered in order per 8-7, but you misspelled "occurred." :D A specific NFHS interp says the two throwers may be different. (2003-04 Sit 13, reference given is 8-3)

refnrev Sun Dec 02, 2007 09:15pm

Not nuances... typos:D .

Nevadaref Sun Dec 02, 2007 09:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnrev
Not nuances... typos:D .

No, seriously, there is one aspect of this play that is being overlooked. It appeared on an NFHS rules exam a few years ago. Try to find it.

refnrev Sun Dec 02, 2007 09:35pm

I give up. What is it?

Nevadaref Sun Dec 02, 2007 09:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnrev
I give up. What is it?

Ok, here's the NFHS exam question from the 2000-01 Part 1 exam:

75. Playing time for a varsity game may be reduced by mutual agreement of the opposing coaches.

Is your answer true or false?



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1