The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Is the official correct? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40012-official-correct.html)

tjones1 Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:36pm

Is the official correct?
 
Just for a little fun and for some of the new posters/officials. Yeah - I'm bored.

NFHS Rules

1. Team B is beating Team A by 60 points. Before the start of the 4th quarter, Team B's and Team A's coach tell the Referee they both agree to shorten the 4th quarter to 2 minutes.

The Referee tells the coaches that the quarter can't be shortened. Is the official correct?

2. B1 is in their frontcourt. B1's pivot is his/her left foot. B1 lifts his/her pivot foot before passing to B2. The official calls a traveling violation. Is the official correct?

3. B3 is shooting two free throws. B pulls their players from their two lane spots for both shots. The official allows the players from A to move down and occupy each of B's lane spots (Team A has their maximum of 4 players in the lane). Is the official correct?

4. Team B has 6 team fouls. During a throw-in by B, B3 commits a foul on A4. Official calls a team control foul on B and gives the ball to A at the spot nearest to the foul for a throw-in. Is the official correct?

5. Team A has 7 fouls. A1 fouls B3. After directing some comments toward the official, A1 is charged with a technical foul.

The official let's B3 shoot his/her 1 and 1 with the lane cleared. The official then let's B5 (who was in the game at the time of the technical) shoot one of the technical foul free throws and then allows B8 (who was on the bench at the time of the technical) to enter the game and shot the second technical foul free throw. Team B is then given a throw-in opposite table at the division line.

Is the official correct?

(Hopefully I didn't make any little errors...but I'm sure if I did JR, Bob, Mark, Tony, Jim, or Santa will let me know. :) Heck if I make a really dumb error, I might even pull Chuck out of the wood work.)

Edit 1: Silly errors corrected

Michael Johnson Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
Just for a little fun and for some of the new posters/officials. Yeah - I'm bored.

NFHS Rules

1. Team B is beating Team A by 60 points. Before the start of the 4th quarter, Team B's and Team A's coach tell the Referee they both agree to shorten the 4th quarter to 2 minutes.

The Referee tells the coaches that the quarter can't be shortened. Is the official correct?

2. B1 is in their frontcourt. B1's pivot is his/her left foot. B1 lifts his/her pivot foot before passing to B2. The official calls a traveling violation. Is the official correct?

3. B3 is shooting two free throws. B pulls their players from their two lane spots for both shots. The official allows a player from A to occupy each of B's lane spots. Is the official correct?

4. Team B has 6 team fouls. During a throw-in by B, B3 commits a foul on A4. Official calls a team control foul on B and gives the ball to A at the spot nearest to the foul for a throw-in. Is the official correct?

5. Team A has 7 fouls. A1 fouls B3. After directing some comments toward the official, A1 is charged with a technical foul.

The official let's B3 shoot his/her 1 and 1 with the lane cleared. The official then let's B5 (who was in the game at the time of the technical) shoot one of the technical foul free throws and then allows A8 (who was on the bench at the time of the technical) to enter the game and shot the second technical foul free throw. Team B is then given a throw-in opposite table at the division line.

Is the official correct?

(Hopefully I didn't make any little errors...but I'm sure if I did JR, Bob, Mark, Tony, Jim, or Santa will let me know. :) Heck if I make a really dumb error, I might even pull Chuck out of the wood work.)



In number five are you going to allow a member of the offending team, A8, shoot the remaining free throw?

rainmaker Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
Heck if I make a really dumb error, I might even pull Chuck out of the wood work.)

Good luck with that...

Nevadaref Sun Dec 02, 2007 03:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
... and then allows A8 (who was on the bench at the time of the technical) to enter the game and shot the second technical foul free throw. ...

(Hopefully I didn't make any little errors...but I'm sure if I did JR, Bob, Mark, Tony, Jim, or Santa will let me know. :) Heck if I make a really dumb error, I might even pull Chuck out of the wood work.)

You mean such as that one? :D I'm ticked that I didn't make the list. :mad:

Mark Padgett Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:55pm

I'm also curious as to why in question two, you specified that the player was in front court. Does it matter to the question? No. Also, in question three, if the official allows team A to take both of team B's lane spots and team A still occupies their own spots, it would mean that team A has six players. Actually, if you read it closely, you have one team A player occupying two spots at the same time on opposite sides of the lane. That must be one big kid!

tjones1 Sun Dec 02, 2007 01:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
You mean such as that one? :D I'm ticked that I didn't make the list. :mad:

So you're not Santa... son of a... :p

tjones1 Sun Dec 02, 2007 01:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
I'm also curious as to why in question two, you specified that the player was in front court. Does it matter to the question? No. Also, in question three, if the official allows team A to take both of team B's lane spots and team A still occupies their own spots, it would mean that team A has six players. Actually, if you read it closely, you have one team A player occupying two spots at the same time on opposite sides of the lane. That must be one big kid!

I never said all the information provided was important and/or would be used to answer the question. Didn't you ever take an exam that had matching and there were more choices than questions. ;)

In #3, yes, I can see where that was misleading. Hopefully my correction has fixed the problem. Thanks Mark.

refnrev Sun Dec 02, 2007 08:33pm

OK I'm gonna play. Let's see if the old brain is working. I'll imitate Nevada by giving the reules references for some of them.

1. Nope. They can mutually agree anytime and if the coach down by 60 wants to keep playing call an ambulance and get him in a psych unit. 5-5-3
2. No travel. Pivot foot is in the air on the pass. 4-43-B
3. Yep - they can move down if team A doesn't want them.(Because I said so:)
4. Nope, No team control on a throw in. 4-12-6
5. Yep, Violations are penalized inthe order in whichthey occured. No rule dictates the same shooter has to shoot both throws. (Because I said so.)

-----------------

So, Tanner, how did I do?

Idaho Sun Dec 02, 2007 09:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
Just for a little fun and for some of the new posters/officials. Yeah - I'm bored.

NFHS Rules

1. Team B is beating Team A by 60 points. Before the start of the 4th quarter, Team B's and Team A's coach tell the Referee they both agree to shorten the 4th quarter to 2 minutes.

The Referee tells the coaches that the quarter can't be shortened. Is the official correct?

Yes. Not positive about this one, though.

2. B1 is in their frontcourt. B1's pivot is his/her left foot. B1 lifts his/her pivot foot before passing to B2. The official calls a traveling violation. Is the official correct?

No. As long as the player didn't return his/her pivot foot to the floor before passing.

3. B3 is shooting two free throws. B pulls their players from their two lane spots for both shots. The official allows the players from A to move down and occupy each of B's lane spots (Team A has their maximum of 4 players in the lane). Is the official correct?

Yes.

4. Team B has 6 team fouls. During a throw-in by B, B3 commits a foul on A4. Official calls a team control foul on B and gives the ball to A at the spot nearest to the foul for a throw-in. Is the official correct?

No. No team control during throw-in.


5. Team A has 7 fouls. A1 fouls B3. After directing some comments toward the official, A1 is charged with a technical foul.

The official let's B3 shoot his/her 1 and 1 with the lane cleared. The official then let's B5 (who was in the game at the time of the technical) shoot one of the technical foul free throws and then allows B8 (who was on the bench at the time of the technical) to enter the game and shot the second technical foul free throw. Team B is then given a throw-in opposite table at the division line.

Is the official correct?

Yes.

:)

bob jenkins Sun Dec 02, 2007 09:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Idaho
Yes. Not positive about this one, though.

You can become positive by checking 5-5-3

Nevadaref Sun Dec 02, 2007 09:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnrev
OK I'm gonna play. Let's see if the old brain is working. I'll imitate Nevada by giving the reules references for some of them.

1. Nope. They can mutually agree anytime and if the coach down by 60 wants to keep playing call an ambulance and get him in a psych unit. 5-3
2. No travel. Pivot foot is in the air on the pass. 4-43-B
3. Yep - they can move down if team A doesn't want them.(Because I said so:)
4. Nope, No team control on a throw in. 4-12-6
5. Yep, Violations are penalized inthe order in whichthey occured. No rule dictates the same shooter has to shoot both throws. (Because I said so.)

-----------------

1. There is a nuance that you are overlooking and it is in 5-5-3.
2. 4-44-3a; 4.44.3 Sit C
3. 8-1-4e
4. :)
5. These are fouls, not violations. ;) Yes, they are administered in order per 8-7, but you misspelled "occurred." :D A specific NFHS interp says the two throwers may be different. (2003-04 Sit 13, reference given is 8-3)

refnrev Sun Dec 02, 2007 09:15pm

Not nuances... typos:D .

Nevadaref Sun Dec 02, 2007 09:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnrev
Not nuances... typos:D .

No, seriously, there is one aspect of this play that is being overlooked. It appeared on an NFHS rules exam a few years ago. Try to find it.

refnrev Sun Dec 02, 2007 09:35pm

I give up. What is it?

Nevadaref Sun Dec 02, 2007 09:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnrev
I give up. What is it?

Ok, here's the NFHS exam question from the 2000-01 Part 1 exam:

75. Playing time for a varsity game may be reduced by mutual agreement of the opposing coaches.

Is your answer true or false?


refnrev Sun Dec 02, 2007 09:45pm

The answer is False. I still have the test. What's you're point?

Nevadaref Sun Dec 02, 2007 09:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnrev
The answer is False. I still have the test. What's you're point?

If you understand WHY it is false, then you grasp my point.

refnrev Sun Dec 02, 2007 09:49pm

Please do not tell me you are empahasizng the words "and referee."

Nevadaref Sun Dec 02, 2007 09:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnrev
Please do not tell me you are empahasizng the words "and referee."

It's not me, it's the NFHS as evidenced by the exam answer, but that is precisely right. For a varsity contest, not only do the opposing coaches have to agree to shorten the quarter, but so does the referee per the first sentence of 5-5-3. For nonvarsity games the permission of the referee is not required per the second sentence of 5-5-3.

refnrev Sun Dec 02, 2007 09:57pm

OK .. I was just assuming that it was understood... never mind, I won't assume anything.

Nevadaref Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnrev
OK .. I was just assuming that it was understood... never mind, I won't assume anything.

Yeah, I think that any referee who would not agree and allow the coaches the shortened quarter that they want would be nuts.

Did I say "nuts"? Hmmm...perhaps a squirrel will soon be making an appearance in this thread.:)

Scrapper1 Mon Dec 03, 2007 10:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
For a varsity contest, not only do the opposing coaches have to agree to shorten the quarter, but so does the referee per the first sentence of 5-5-3.

While this is true, it is irrelevant to the question in the original post. The original question was:

Quote:

The Referee tells the coaches that the quarter can't be shortened. Is the official correct?
The quarter can be shortened. It requires the referee's consent, but it can be shortened. The official in the question is incorrect.

Nevadaref Mon Dec 03, 2007 10:38am

Not so clear on that, Scrapper. Perhaps the official didn't wish to shorten it and simply told the coaches no. The OP did not post any reason. He didn't write, "The referee tells the coaches that the rules forbid him from allowing that." On the other hand it also doesn't say, "The referee tells the coaches that THEY can't shorten the quarter."

It can certainly be taken in a different manner just as the exam question that I posted. Some may believe that the answer to that question should be true and could make a good case for that.

bob jenkins Mon Dec 03, 2007 10:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
He didn't write, "The referee tells the coaches that the rules forbid him from allowing that."

I'd say the word "can't" means exactly that in this context.

Nevadaref Mon Dec 03, 2007 10:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
I'd say the word "can't" means exactly that in this context.

Maybe. Perhaps the OP will fill us in on what he was thinking when he wrote the scenario. There is a possibility that the OP didn't even realize that the referee must also consent. If he didn't, then he will learn something from this thread too. I don't know what he thought process was, but we might find out. ;)

tjones1 Mon Dec 03, 2007 12:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Not so clear on that, Scrapper. Perhaps the official didn't wish to shorten it and simply told the coaches no. The OP did not post any reason. He didn't write, "The referee tells the coaches that the rules forbid him from allowing that." On the other hand it also doesn't say, "The referee tells the coaches that THEY can't shorten the quarter."

It can certainly be taken in a different manner just as the exam question that I posted. Some may believe that the answer to that question should be true and could make a good case for that.

This is what the OP was saying.

The referee was saying that the rules don't allow the quarter to be shortened.

The answer was meant to be the official was incorrect. Upon the referee's agreement, by rule, a quarter may be shortened at any time as long as the two coaches and referee agree.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Maybe. Perhaps the OP will fill us in on what he was thinking when he wrote the scenario. There is a possibility that the OP didn't even realize that the referee must also consent. If he didn't, then he will learn something from this thread too. I don't know what he thought process was, but we might find out. ;)

FTR, I knew. ;)

refnrev Mon Dec 03, 2007 05:15pm

TJ1,
See what I mean? Way too tight!:cool:

tjones1 Mon Dec 03, 2007 05:32pm

Yeah, well... only an hour and a half before I leave.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1