The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 12:10pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
It's not an IW, it's a correctable error.
It's only an IW if all the players attempted to get the rebound, in which case your partner was wrong to go with the arrow. IW goes to the team in control, if there is one.
If it's correctable error, you'd go to the arrow (assuming only a couple of players were attempting to rebound.)
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 12:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
It's not an IW, it's a correctable error.
How is this a correctable error?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 12:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
How is this a correctable error?

I believe Snaqwell was in a rush. Indianaref cited the case play
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
I believe Snaqwell was in a rush. Indianaref cited the case play
Right, it's a fixable mistake, but not a correctable error.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
How is this a correctable error?
Would this fall under 2-10-1 b. Awarding an unmerited free throw? My reading of that has always been that it is corrected after the unmerited free throw has been shot, but can we also apply it if the error is corrected prior to the free throw being shot?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
Would this fall under 2-10-1 b. Awarding an unmerited free throw? My reading of that has always been that it is corrected after the unmerited free throw has been shot, but can we also apply it if the error is corrected prior to the free throw being shot?
An unmerited free throw wasn't awarded, it was announced.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 01:03pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I consider it a CE, as jdw points out, for awarding an unmerited free throw. Even though the shot was not actually taken, that's in essence what happened. What other rule are you going to use? If you use IW, then you have to give the ball to the kid who catches it.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 01:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
I consider it a CE, as jdw points out, for awarding an unmerited free throw. Even though the shot was not actually taken, that's in essence what happened. What other rule are you going to use? If you use IW, then you have to give the ball to the kid who catches it.
I could be wrong here, but I don't think this is a correctable error. The FT wasn't awarded. Did you look at the citation IndianaRef gave? Looks applicable to me.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 01:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
I consider it a CE, as jdw points out, for awarding an unmerited free throw. Even though the shot was not actually taken, that's in essence what happened. What other rule are you going to use? If you use IW, then you have to give the ball to the kid who catches it.
You have to be careful calling it a CE though because then are you going to apply the CE rues for correcting it? What if you don't get it right away, but during the next dead ball you think "you know what, the other kids didn't really go for that rebound", are you going to go back and fix it then and cancel all activity, etc, etc??? Just think of it as a unique case with a unique provision for fixing it.....CE's are specific situations with specific methods for correcting.....
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbilla
you think "you know what, the other kids didn't really go for that rebound", are you going to go back and fix it then and cancel all activity, etc, etc??? ....
You don't do that when you correct a CE, so no he won't.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 01:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
You don't do that when you correct a CE, so no he won't.
Geez, I was trying to make a point about why you shouldn't consider it a CE, I wasn't trying to quote 2-10 for crying out loud....and yeah you would cancel the free throw and activity in 2-10-4 - other than unsporting, flagrant, intentional or technical fouls....if you want to get technical...sheesh...
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 01:51pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbilla
You have to be careful calling it a CE though because then are you going to apply the CE rues for correcting it? What if you don't get it right away, but during the next dead ball you think "you know what, the other kids didn't really go for that rebound", are you going to go back and fix it then and cancel all activity, etc, etc??? Just think of it as a unique case with a unique provision for fixing it.....CE's are specific situations with specific methods for correcting.....
What activity am I going to cancel? I would do it by CE rule, yes. Otherwise, you can't fix it.
If you call this an IW, then you have to give the ball to the player who has it.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
What activity am I going to cancel? I would do it by CE rule, yes. Otherwise, you can't fix it.
If you call this an IW, then you have to give the ball to the player who has it.
None in this case since they had an immediate whistle, all I am saying is that if you start shoehorning situations into rules where they don't fit you can get yourself twisted up...maybe not this time, but just as a habit..why do you have to "call it" anything, why not just administer it per the casebook play 8.6.1 that was quoted earlier? There are five specific CE situatuions, this is not one of them - no "error" had even been committed, if it was one shot, the shooter only shot one shot, where is the error? If anyone asks you what happened say that the official gave errouneous information and we handled according to the rules specific to that situation....and don't forget 2-3, the referee shall make decisions on any points not specifically covered in the rules...
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 02:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
What activity am I going to cancel? I would do it by CE rule, yes. Otherwise, you can't fix it.
If you call this an IW, then you have to give the ball to the player who has it.
I believe the previous caseplay regarding the official giving erroneous information is exactly what the OP is. It definitely can't be a CE. The free thrower was allowed 1 free throw which he got. He didn't take an unmerited free throw, so there is no correctable error here, by rule. Now there was an error when the lead announced 2 free throws when only 1 was allowed. We correct that error by immediately killing the play and going to the a/p arrow, unless everybody or the mostly everybody continued to play, then we we disregard the erroneous information. If after everyone plays on or attempts to play on, then a whistle comes in, that is about the only time I would give the ball back to whoever had possession at the time of the whistle.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 03:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
What activity am I going to cancel? I would do it by CE rule, yes. Otherwise, you can't fix it.
If you call this an IW, then you have to give the ball to the player who has it.
It's an error, and it's correctable, but it's not a correctable error.

Similar to giving the ball to the wrong team for a throw-in and catching it before the throw-in pass is touched.

If you need to call it something, call it "Fixable Upon Correct Knowledge of the Error for Disregarding the Usual Procedure."

(Apologies to those who don't cuss)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
free throw admin... bdub712 Basketball 21 Thu Jan 12, 2006 10:18am
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
Technical Free Throw Admin WAZebra Basketball 9 Fri Jan 23, 2004 11:34am
Free Throw Q Ryder09 Basketball 1 Wed Dec 04, 2002 11:15pm
please clarify the admin of free throws NFHS ronjay42 Basketball 9 Thu Apr 06, 2000 12:03am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1