The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 03:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
What activity am I going to cancel? I would do it by CE rule, yes. Otherwise, you can't fix it.
If you call this an IW, then you have to give the ball to the player who has it.
It's an error, and it's correctable, but it's not a correctable error.

Similar to giving the ball to the wrong team for a throw-in and catching it before the throw-in pass is touched.

If you need to call it something, call it "Fixable Upon Correct Knowledge of the Error for Disregarding the Usual Procedure."

(Apologies to those who don't cuss)
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 05:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Let's change this play slightly. Everything is the same except the officials don't blow the whistle until either: 1. A2's putback attempt is in the air, or 2. B1 grabs the rebound and heads down the other way towards an uncontested layup.

The administering official awarded the free throw when he announced "two shots." Whether or not the free throw had been attempted yet doesn't change that.

Finally, what if no one rebounded, and the trail official didn't notice anything wrong until the lead gave the ball back to the shooter for his second attempt. Trail kills the play prior to the shot. This fits the correctable error, and needs to be corrected accordingly. It sure isn't an inadvertant whistle.
Sorry Snaq...this is NOT a correctable error. It doesn't become a correctable error until the FT shooter actually completes the FT (made or missed). Sure, there has been an error...but not a "correctable error".

It's not an inadvertant whistle either. It's a dead ball the moment it comes off the rim and players don't try to rebound it due to the misinformation.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 06:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells


I'm assuming you're issue is that with CE the window for correction is longer. Right? IOW, if B1 grabs the ball that no one else really attempted to rebound and flings it down to B3 streaking for the basket, and you blow your whistle just after B3 throws down an earth-shattering dunk, it's too late?

...

Calling it CE or not really has no effect on this play.
B3 just dunked a dead ball...the ball is dead on the FT miss if players do not attempt to rebound the ball based on misinformation....even if the ref is slow in blowing the whistle.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 09:13pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
B3 just dunked a dead ball...the ball is dead on the FT miss if players do not attempt to rebound the ball based on misinformation....even if the ref is slow in blowing the whistle.
I don't see how the ball is dead. There's no violation or foul to cause the ball to become dead. The whistle is what makes the ball dead.

I do find it interesting that 2-3 (the God rule) is invoked by the case play, rather than 2-10.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 09:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
I do find it interesting that 2-3 (the God rule) is invoked by the case play, rather than 2-10.
And what does that tell you?
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2007, 10:05pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
And what does that tell you?
The rational me, or the obnoxious me?
Seriously, it tells me the rules committee doesn't consider this 2nd free throw to be awarded yet.

That said, my initial thought, that it is not an IW, stands.

By calling it an IW, the OP's partner put the blame on the OP (possibly inadvertently, ironically enough) rather than on himself.

To me, this is treated and fixed like a CE; and I see no ramifications for thinking of it as such; even if it really isn't.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 27, 2007, 01:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
It's an error, and it's correctable, but it's not a correctable error.

Similar to giving the ball to the wrong team for a throw-in and catching it before the throw-in pass is touched.

If you need to call it something, call it "Fixable Upon Correct Knowledge of the Error for Disregarding the Usual Procedure."

(Apologies to those who don't cuss)
Bob I'm not sure about correcting the above situation highlighted in your post. The throw-in has started once the ball is at the disposal, does the throw-in have to end before we lose the chance to correct this? I can't find this in the case or rule book. I do see in case play 7.5.2 Sit A where the throw in is by the wrong team, but it's not very clear if the throw-in must be completed before we cannot correct this. In the caseplay, the throw in was completed and no correction is allowed. I guess my question is, does the throw-in have to end. In your scenario the throw in started and the ball could be passed onto the playing court, but not yet been touched. I'm not sure if I'm going to correct that, even though it is the right thing to do. Any thoughts or additional references are appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 27, 2007, 05:26am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
Bob I'm not sure about correcting the above situation highlighted in your post. The throw-in has started once the ball is at the disposal, does the throw-in have to end before we lose the chance to correct this? I can't find this in the case or rule book. I do see in case play 7.5.2 Sit A where the throw in is by the wrong team, but it's not very clear if the throw-in must be completed before we cannot correct this. In the caseplay, the throw in was completed and no correction is allowed. I guess my question is, does the throw-in have to end. In your scenario the throw in started and the ball could be passed onto the playing court, but not yet been touched. I'm not sure if I'm going to correct that, even though it is the right thing to do. Any thoughts or additional references are appreciated.
See case book play 6.4.1SitD.
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 27, 2007, 07:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
See case book play 6.4.1SitD.
Thanks JR.
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 27, 2007, 01:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
I don't see how the ball is dead. There's no violation or foul to cause the ball to become dead. The whistle is what makes the ball dead.

I do find it interesting that 2-3 (the God rule) is invoked by the case play, rather than 2-10.
It's dead becasue it was a FT that was to be followed by another FT...per the announcement of the official...even if it was an erroneous announcement. The whistle only announces to everyone that the ball was already dead.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
free throw admin... bdub712 Basketball 21 Thu Jan 12, 2006 10:18am
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
Technical Free Throw Admin WAZebra Basketball 9 Fri Jan 23, 2004 11:34am
Free Throw Q Ryder09 Basketball 1 Wed Dec 04, 2002 11:15pm
please clarify the admin of free throws NFHS ronjay42 Basketball 9 Thu Apr 06, 2000 12:03am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1