The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 07, 2007, 02:13pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1
True. 7-5-1, 8-1-2
This is one of the 5 questions that I'm still undecided on. The bold lettering is the part of the question that I don't understand.

'The resumption-of-play procedure starts over in each situation and a violation in one situation does not carry over to another.' T or False?


Anyone care to make up/provide a sitch to help me understand this better?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 07, 2007, 02:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town
This is one of the 5 questions that I'm still undecided on. The bold lettering is the part of the question that I don't understand.

'The resumption-of-play procedure starts over in each situation and a violation in one situation does not carry over to another.' T or False?


Anyone care to make up/provide a sitch to help me understand this better?
That is the part that caused our lack of understanding as well. I don't see where the rules the have been posted explain why the answer would be true.
Maybe I'm overthinking the question and it's plain as day
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 07, 2007, 02:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by BEAREF
That is the part that caused our lack of understanding as well. I don't see where the rules the have been posted explain why the answer would be true.
Maybe I'm overthinking the question and it's plain as day
Play: In the first quarter, after a TO, team B is still in the huddle after the second horn. The official puts the ball at the disposal of Team A who inbounds and scores. Team B leaves the huddle to pick up the ball and continue play.

In the 4th quarter, after a TO, team B is again still in the huddle after the second horn. The official immediately assesses a Technical Foul for delaying the game. Is the official correct?

Answer: No.

(The test question is designed to test whether officials understand the difference between a delay warning -- which does affect future delays, and the RPP).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 07, 2007, 02:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 280
So your sitch is to explain how the answer to the question is False?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 07, 2007, 03:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by BEAREF
So your sitch is to explain how the answer to the question is False?
No.

In my situation, the official had the violation carry over from one situation to the next. The official was wrong. So, the statement "a violation DOES NOT carry over" must be True.

Try this:

Play: Team B remains in the huddle. The official puts the ball in play. Later, Team B again remains in the huddle. The official again puts the ball in play. Coach A complains that Team B should also be assessed a T. The official tells the coach to STFU. Is the official correct?

Answer: Yes.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 07, 2007, 03:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
The official tells the coach to STFU. Is the official correct?
Trick question - you didn't say the official was Dan.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 07, 2007, 02:53pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BEAREF
That is the part that caused our lack of understanding as well. I don't see where the rules the have been posted explain why the answer would be true.
Maybe I'm overthinking the question and it's plain as day
What situation would have the RPP affecting a future RPP procedure?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 07, 2007, 03:14pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks Bob! The rain is gone
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS Part 1 Exam tjones1 Baseball 10 Fri Mar 03, 2006 09:40pm
NFHS Part Two Exam refnrev Soccer 5 Thu Sep 08, 2005 03:18pm
NFHS Part I Exam (Question #5) VaASAump Football 11 Tue Sep 06, 2005 04:26pm
NFHS part 2 exam bbref17 Basketball 14 Wed Dec 10, 2003 12:59pm
NFHS Part 2 exam chayos Football 4 Wed Aug 20, 2003 12:03pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1