The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NFHS exam part 1 question #34 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/39430-nfhs-exam-part-1-question-34-a.html)

BEAREF Wed Nov 07, 2007 01:50pm

NFHS exam part 1 question #34
 
'The resumption-of-play procedure starts over in each situation and a violation in one situation does not carry over to another.' T or False?

This question caused a lengthly discussion at our association meeting last night. We're still not sure of the correct answer but went with the majority rules of False. Can someone provide a rules cite please? Thanks.

tjones1 Wed Nov 07, 2007 01:59pm

True. 7-5-1, 8-1-2

imaref Wed Nov 07, 2007 02:01pm

34 is True - 7.5.1 and 8.1.2

Ch1town Wed Nov 07, 2007 02:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
True. 7-5-1, 8-1-2

This is one of the 5 questions that I'm still undecided on. The bold lettering is the part of the question that I don't understand.

'The resumption-of-play procedure starts over in each situation and a violation in one situation does not carry over to another.' T or False?


Anyone care to make up/provide a sitch to help me understand this better?

BEAREF Wed Nov 07, 2007 02:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town
This is one of the 5 questions that I'm still undecided on. The bold lettering is the part of the question that I don't understand.

'The resumption-of-play procedure starts over in each situation and a violation in one situation does not carry over to another.' T or False?


Anyone care to make up/provide a sitch to help me understand this better?

That is the part that caused our lack of understanding as well. I don't see where the rules the have been posted explain why the answer would be true.
Maybe I'm overthinking the question and it's plain as day:(

bob jenkins Wed Nov 07, 2007 02:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BEAREF
That is the part that caused our lack of understanding as well. I don't see where the rules the have been posted explain why the answer would be true.
Maybe I'm overthinking the question and it's plain as day:(

Play: In the first quarter, after a TO, team B is still in the huddle after the second horn. The official puts the ball at the disposal of Team A who inbounds and scores. Team B leaves the huddle to pick up the ball and continue play.

In the 4th quarter, after a TO, team B is again still in the huddle after the second horn. The official immediately assesses a Technical Foul for delaying the game. Is the official correct?

Answer: No.

(The test question is designed to test whether officials understand the difference between a delay warning -- which does affect future delays, and the RPP).

BEAREF Wed Nov 07, 2007 02:53pm

So your sitch is to explain how the answer to the question is False?

Adam Wed Nov 07, 2007 02:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BEAREF
That is the part that caused our lack of understanding as well. I don't see where the rules the have been posted explain why the answer would be true.
Maybe I'm overthinking the question and it's plain as day:(

What situation would have the RPP affecting a future RPP procedure?

bob jenkins Wed Nov 07, 2007 03:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BEAREF
So your sitch is to explain how the answer to the question is False?

No.

In my situation, the official had the violation carry over from one situation to the next. The official was wrong. So, the statement "a violation DOES NOT carry over" must be True.

Try this:

Play: Team B remains in the huddle. The official puts the ball in play. Later, Team B again remains in the huddle. The official again puts the ball in play. Coach A complains that Team B should also be assessed a T. The official tells the coach to STFU. Is the official correct?

Answer: Yes.

M&M Guy Wed Nov 07, 2007 03:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
The official tells the coach to STFU. Is the official correct?

Trick question - you didn't say the official was Dan.

Ch1town Wed Nov 07, 2007 03:14pm

Thanks Bob! The rain is gone :)

IREFU2 Tue Nov 13, 2007 07:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BEAREF
'The resumption-of-play procedure starts over in each situation and a violation in one situation does not carry over to another.' T or False?

This question caused a lengthly discussion at our association meeting last night. We're still not sure of the correct answer but went with the majority rules of False. Can someone provide a rules cite please? Thanks.

The answer is False (see 7-5-1 c&d)

Nevadaref Tue Nov 13, 2007 07:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IREFU2
The answer is False (see 7-5-1 c&d)

:(

bcooley66 Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:14am

I believe the answer is true. Refer to Case Book 7.5.1 and the comment that follows.

inigo montoya Thu Nov 15, 2007 07:45pm

I\'m missing something. I\'ve only just started my 2nd year officiating so I\'m just trying to make sure I understand.

Team A\'s throw-in following a timeout. A is not ready for play, official places the ball on the floor and gives a 5-count. Whistle, violation on A. Now Team B\'s throw-in. This is according to the RPP.

Future throw in for Team A. A does not make a thrower available. Official places the ball on the floor and gives a 5-count. According to 7-5-1c this isn\'t this a T? So when the question says "a violation in one situation does not carry over to another" why isn\'t the answer false? Doesn\'t the previous violation carry over, therefore B is shooting 2 for the Technical?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1