![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
OK, let's modify the play a little bit to isolate the real question that is being asked in this thread: A1 steps OOB for a throw-in following a made goal by B. A1 passes the ball on the OOB side of the boundary plane to the corner of the court where A2 catches the ball while it is still on the OOB side of the boundary plane. A2 also has one foot inbounds and one foot touching the OOB line (but on the side line).This play removes the issue of the player being OOB during the throwin and makes it a question solely about whether catching the ball before it crosses the line takes precedence over catching the ball while the player has OOB status. A2's OOB location could just as well be the endline but then that would introduce the possibility of A1 trying to pass to A2 for a legal throwin but A2 didn't get all the way OOB....so I wanted to eliminate that from the equation:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Fri Nov 02, 2007 at 11:45am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Do you really think it matters, Eddy? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
And if it comes down to 1.5 seconds left in the McDonald's All_American super bowl of basketball, nationally televised game, with hundreds of millions watching, and a 7th grade "C" coach's job is on the line......I'll defer to whatever my partner calls. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
However, just as the NFHS test is tough because of the situations and how it requires you to actually know the rule, these posts are what make this board interesting and worth coming to. I know for me (and I've been absent since last spring until recently) I love this forum just because of these discussions. Not because I think I'll face this particular situation, but because understanding how to think through this situation and others like it help regardless of what scenario unfolds. That, and is the board really so crazy-full of info and fast-moving threads that we can't have a meaningless, overly-analytical discussion?!?
|
|
|||
|
Day late and a dollar short to this discussion, and don't know if this helps or not since this case doesn't specify that the inbounds pass remains OOB, but here's the wording from the NFHS website:
SITUATION 3: During an alternating-possession throw-in for Team A, thrower A1 passes the ball directly on the court where it contacts (a) A2 or (b) B2, while he/she is standing on a boundary line. RULING: Out-of-bounds violation on (a) A2; (b) B2. The player was touched by the ball while out of bounds, thereby ending the throw-in. The alternating-possession arrow is reversed and pointed toward Team B's basket when the throw-in ends (when A2/B2 is touched by the ball). A throw-in is awarded at a spot nearest the out-of-bounds violation for (a) Team B; (b) Team A. (4-42-5; 6-4-4; 9-2-2; 9-3-2) Hope that helps. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Argh. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
edit...I get third place!!
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
|
Quote:
What if there's 1.5 seconds left in a tie game? Would it then matter where B gets the throw-in? I think there's really no discussion on whether it's a violation, it's just which type of violation, and therefore, where is the ball put in play.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Throw in violation | lucky1313 | Basketball | 3 | Thu Mar 09, 2006 09:50am |
| Throw-In Violation | Jurassic Referee | Basketball | 49 | Mon Dec 12, 2005 11:49am |
| Throw in violation | Rita C | Basketball | 13 | Wed Feb 09, 2005 11:51am |
| Throw-in violation? | illbball | Basketball | 3 | Mon Feb 07, 2005 07:18pm |
| Throw In Violation?? | Rock'nRef | Basketball | 3 | Thu Nov 21, 2002 09:24am |