The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2007, 06:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
#2.

10-3-11 Reach through the throw-in boundary-line plane and touch or dislodge the ball as in 9-2 Penalty 3.

There is no requirement that the ball be in physical possession of an A player, but a definite prohibition against reaching through the plane and touching the ball.
Actually, what NevadaRef is getting at is, 9-2 Penalty 3 does in fact say "...and touches or doslodges the ball while in possession of the thrower or being passed to a teammate outside the boundary line..."

And so, the correct call is, a warning for delay for breaking the plane of the boundary. Of course, if the team has already previously received a delay of game warning for any of the delay warnings, this becomes a technical foul.
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2007, 06:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
I think you are incorrect. Read 9-2 Penalty 3 again.
Hmmm...I is idiot. Outside the boundary line does, indeed, mean someone outide the boundary line...
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2007, 06:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
Hmmm...I is idiot. Outside the boundary line does, indeed, mean someone outide the boundary line...
I originally misread your post. I stand corrected.
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2007, 07:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston area
Posts: 615
This is a wonderful example of how complicated the rules are written. 10-3-11 should specifically read it is a technical foul to reach through the plane and touch or dislodge the ball "while in possession of the thrower or being passed to a teammate outside the boundary line."

The shorthand reference "as in 9-2 Penalty 3" says exactly that.

My ruling...no technical foul unless there is a previous warning for one of the four delays.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2007, 07:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
I originally misread your post. I stand corrected.
No, you read it right - I misread the rule. In my head, I was thinking it stated passing it to someone inside the boundary, not outside. So, technical if it's in A's possession or being passed to A2 outside the boundary line.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2007, 07:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
If there were a teammate of A1 standing outside the boundary, and A1 put the ball down and stepped inbounds, and then A2 walked over and picked the ball up, would you call it a pass?
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2007, 07:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
If there were a teammate of A1 standing outside the boundary, and A1 put the ball down and stepped inbounds, and then A2 walked over and picked the ball up, would you call it a pass?
no.
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2007, 09:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
If there were a teammate of A1 standing outside the boundary, and A1 put the ball down and stepped inbounds, and then A2 walked over and picked the ball up, would you call it a pass?
4-31.

Not a pass.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 12:25am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I really don't like this loop hole. If A1 drops the ball and lets it bounce in place while A2 comes and gets it, it's a pass. If A1 sets the ball down so it will be sure to stay where he wants it while A2 comes to get it, I sure could consider it a pass.

BTW, a drop pass does not fit the definition of 4-31, either, yet it's a common tool for good point guards.

And, if this ball is rolling ever so slightly and slowly, it suddenly fits 4-31 and you need to call the technical anyway. I doubt the intent of the rule is for us to split this hair so finely.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 03:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
It was not my intent to have people get hung up on debating whether or not this action constitutes a pass. Therefore, I will slightly change the play.

1. The throw-in is a designated spot throw-in, but Team A does not make a thrower immediately available so the official sounds the whistle and places the ball on the floor. B1 is confused and reaches across the boundary plane and grabs the ball.

2. The throw-in is a designated spot throw-in. The official hands the ball to A1 and he sets the ball down on the floor between his legs, but he is not touching the ball, and proceeds to give hand signals to his teammates for two seconds. When he starts to bend down to pick up the ball, B1 reaches across the boundary plane and grabs the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 07:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Beaver, PA
Posts: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
It was not my intent to have people get hung up on debating whether or not this action constitutes a pass. Therefore, I will slightly change the play.

1. The throw-in is a designated spot throw-in, but Team A does not make a thrower immediately available so the official sounds the whistle and places the ball on the floor. B1 is confused and reaches across the boundary plane and grabs the ball.

2. The throw-in is a designated spot throw-in. The official hands the ball to A1 and he sets the ball down on the floor between his legs, but he is not touching the ball, and proceeds to give hand signals to his teammates for two seconds. When he starts to bend down to pick up the ball, B1 reaches across the boundary plane and grabs the ball.
I had situation 1 in a varsity girls game about 3 years ago. The teams were not very good. When I set the ball down and began my count the girl on defense thought it was a free ball and grabbed it. I stifled a giggle when she told me why she thought she could grab the ball. I did issue a delay of game warning to team B, and that move allowed team A to figure out "Hey, I am supposed to inbound the ball!" B were double losers - they got a delay warning and they alerted A to the fact they were supposed to throw in the ball. I remember all five girls from A wondering around on the court, none of them interested in throwing in the ball. I yelled White ball twice and then set the ball down. Team A, dressed in white were from a predominately black school while team B, dressed in black were from a predominately white school. Maybe that is what confused them???
__________________
I only wanna know ...

Last edited by Ref in PA; Wed Oct 31, 2007 at 07:55am.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 08:13am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
1. Boundary plane violation.
2. Technical foul. I consider this possession for the purpose of this rule.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 08:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
1. Boundary plane violation.
2. Technical foul. I consider this possession for the purpose of this rule.
I agree with Snags. Tech because player reached through the throw-in boundary-line plane and touch the ball before throw in count ended
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 08:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
1. Boundary plane violation.
2. Technical foul. I consider this possession for the purpose of this rule.
Why not T in both situation? My line of thinking is once the ball is place on the floor it is at the disposal of thrower-in. The rule still apply right? Am I missing something?
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 09:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
Why not T in both situation? My line of thinking is once the ball is place on the floor it is at the disposal of thrower-in. The rule still apply right? Am I missing something?
For the very same reason as the original post here - the ball is not in possession of A1.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1