The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2002, 03:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Tweed Heads, NSW, Australia
Posts: 559
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Duane, this play is a no brainer. Foul on A2; there is nothing in the rule book (NFHS, NCAA, or FIBA) that can an official can use to defend not calling a foul on A2.
Mark, the very definition of what constitutes a foul permits a referee to not call this.

From the FIBA rulebook, Article 43.1.2

"In determining whether or not to penalise such contact, the officials shall in each instance regard and weigh up the following fundamental principles:

Consistency in applying the concept of 'advantage/disadvantage', whereby the officials should not seek to interrupt the flow of the game unnecessarily, in order to penalise personal contact that is incidental and which does not give the player responsible an advantage nor place his opponent at a disadvantage." [Empahsis added]


If the opponent has no possibilty of rebounding the ball (bcause the basket is made) how are they being put at a disadvantage?
__________________
Duane Galle
P.s. I'm a FIBA referee - so all my posts are metric

Visit www.geocities.com/oz_referee
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1