![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Isn't the space for throw in allotted a 3' wide (as long as keeping one foot in the 3' wide area) and as deep as one would like....They don't have to be right up on the side or end line on spot throw in. I'm probably not gonna alllow them to go up in the stands obviously...but if it's an area that has 8' behind it, can't they back up....
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
I can certainly understand your frustration with this, but I have to agree that you might not want to waste a time out on this play. You may convince the official that they ruled incorrectly, but they cannot go back and change their call. A great way to handle it might be to contact the assignor with your concern so they can teach the official the correct ruling.
|
|
|||
|
Bottom line is you are stuck with your refs until the end of the game (and whatever rules knowledge they have). Trying to have a corrective rules discussion by a coach with a ref during game time is like trying to put lipstick on a chicken ... if you succeed, you've drawn a very fine line.
While a game in progress is not the time to argue rule application, you could ask politely to discuss that particular application of the rule with the ref after the game. However, it is my feeling many refs will decline the invitation. If they do accept, let them know what you think the rule is and invite them to double check.
__________________
I only wanna know ... |
|
|||
|
Sounds like you're pretty much stuck here. Not only did the official call a violation where there wasn't one, he called the wrong violation. You cannot have a traveling call on an inbound play. What you can have is an inbound violation. However, as stated, there wasn't one of those either on this play.
Hey - stuff happens.
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Obstruction Rule application | WestMichBlue | Softball | 15 | Tue Mar 06, 2007 12:59pm |
| Interference - Judgement, Rules Application, Both | UmpJM | Baseball | 21 | Fri May 19, 2006 10:00pm |
| Proper application of OBS? | U of M Sam | Softball | 1 | Sun Jul 10, 2005 12:03pm |
| mercy rule application | chas | Softball | 2 | Sat May 07, 2005 04:59pm |
| Application of 9.01(c) | akalsey | Baseball | 20 | Tue Jun 15, 2004 12:49pm |