The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 24, 2007, 02:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhanders
While A1 is dribbling the ball, defender B1 legally taps the ball away, but A1 is able to retrieve and hold the ball. Is A1 allowed to dribble a second time?

Rule 9-5-2 states that a player can dribble a second time if he loses control because a touch by an opponent. I interpret that to mean he can dribble a second time if he loses control while he is holding it. Yet others think he can dribble it a second time in the situation described above. The case book is not clear. What is the ruling?
Yes, the player may dribble again. This is the whole purpose of the rule change this season. According the rule last year the player could not legally dribble again. It wasn't being called that way and the NFHS decided to change the rule to match what was being called on the court.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about double dribble NIghtflre Basketball 5 Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:30pm
Double Dribble question lukealex Basketball 2 Thu Sep 08, 2005 09:25am
The Double Dribble smeehead Basketball 10 Wed Mar 17, 2004 11:10pm
Double Dribble Gmoore Basketball 2 Sun Feb 08, 2004 12:33am
double dribble? theshortbaldref Basketball 4 Thu Feb 20, 2003 04:38am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1