The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 23, 2007, 04:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
NFHS Situation 10 doesn't have airborne A2 grabbing the ball and then landing. Everyone (?) would agree that's a violation (assuming A2 left the ground from the frontcourt). In NFHS situation 10, A2 is standing in the backcourt and catches teh ball (and the ball has FC location until touched).
Thanks, Bob. I misread or read into the Sit. I keep loosing this server today and too many interruptions from work... haha. Now I see why the discussion has been on who touched it last.... that said, I still do not see the distinction because it does not have backcourt status until A2 catches it. Thus, in my mind, A2 caused the ball to gain backcourt status; not B1. Had A2 let the ball land in the backcourt, then caught it, would everyone agree it is not a violation? Is the scenario of A2 catching it in the backcourt giving it backcourt status really any different than if A2 caught it OOBs? A2 caused it to be OOB.... just my thoughts.... I do not have an issue with this Sit.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 23, 2007, 04:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
I do agree it is splitting hairs on the call. I suppose the coach must instruct his players to always let it hit in the backcourt first. This in my opinion gives the defense a slight advantage. However, I believe we discussed similar issues with the Sit regarding the throw-in deflection. I believe the consensus in that thread was that the throwin team was in control of the pass and in control of their on destiny (if you will); wouldnt that also apply here?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 23, 2007, 10:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splute
Is the scenario of A2 catching it in the backcourt giving it backcourt status really any different than if A2 caught it OOBs? A2 caused it to be OOB.... just my thoughts.... I do not have an issue with this Sit.
Yes, completely different. It is not a violation to cause the ball to have backcourt status. If it were, it would be a violation for A (in the frontcourt) to lose control of the ball and have it bounce into the backcourt even without touching the ball again. Causing the ball to be OOB is a violation. Touching the ball after it goes into the backcourt is required for the violation (among other things), not just making have backcourt status.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 24, 2007, 07:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Yes, completely different. It is not a violation to cause the ball to have backcourt status. If it were, it would be a violation for A (in the frontcourt) to lose control of the ball and have it bounce into the backcourt even without touching the ball again. Causing the ball to be OOB is a violation. Touching the ball after it goes into the backcourt is required for the violation (among other things), not just making have backcourt status.
I was not refering to differences of the violations, rather to the point that you are where you are till you get where you are going; ball status and court status. That position will determine if a violation ensues (yes it is a violation to cause the ball to go OOB). To me the point of the interp is basic to court status. Thus I understand the logic behind this interp; but I keep most things simple and try to take them as they are stated. Others prefer to do "what if scenarios" and look beyond the basic concept of the interp. Isnt what is stated in the Sit fundamentally true?
I also believe this could give the defense a slight advantage because once the ball is tipped they may immediately grab it where the offense may have to let it bounce once, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 24, 2007, 07:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splute
I was not refering to differences of the violations, rather to the point that you are where you are till you get where you are going;
That's not it. "You are where you were till you get where you're going."

You are always where you are. That tells you nothing.

And: it scans better if you contract the last "you are."
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 24, 2007, 08:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
You guys crack me up .... from the famous words of Animal House... I wasted 7 years of college for this...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 24, 2007, 09:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splute
You guys crack me up .... from the famous words of Animal House... I wasted 7 years of college for this...
I guess you're too cracked up to get it right.

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Belushi
“Christ, seven years of college, down the drain. Might as well join the f***ing Peace Corps.”
Harold Ramis is cringing somewhere.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 24, 2007, 10:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Thanks mbyron and wish I had been with ya Juggling....
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 24, 2007, 09:28am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splute
You guys crack me up .... from the famous words of Animal House... I wasted 7 years of college for this...
In college, I stayed in the residence which was home to all the events that led to the creation of Animal House.

We lived up to history and did some crazy stuff. Including p* raids.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 24, 2007, 08:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splute
I was not refering to differences of the violations, rather to the point that you are where you are till you get where you are going; ball status and court status. That position will determine if a violation ensues (yes it is a violation to cause the ball to go OOB). To me the point of the interp is basic to court status. Thus I understand the logic behind this interp; but I keep most things simple and try to take them as they are stated. Others prefer to do "what if scenarios" and look beyond the basic concept of the interp. Isnt what is stated in the Sit fundamentally true?
I also believe this could give the defense a slight advantage because once the ball is tipped they may immediately grab it where the offense may have to let it bounce once, etc.
But, Splute, the point is that "who confers BC status" has never been part of the definition of BC violation before. If this is really what the interp intends, then they needed to make a bigger deal out of this change. It's a fundamental difference in the definition of what constitutes the violation.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 24, 2007, 08:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
I appreciate your patience with me and these are strickly my views based on the reading.
We all (?) agree that if B1 deflects the ball into the backcourt and the ball touches the backcourt, Team A may recover no violation. We all (?) agree that if B1 deflects a pass and a Team A player with frontcourt status catches the ball in the air and lands in their backcourt; it is a backcourt violation. Therefore in my mind the same is true if Team A catches (in the air, ball has not touched bc) a deflection that has frontcourt status, while standing in their backcourt gives the ball backcourt status and a team backcourt violation. It bites, but it seems fundamentally the same to me.
I will start over and re-read this post from the beginning to see if I have a brain block or just bain dramage
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 24, 2007, 12:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splute
I appreciate your patience with me and these are strickly my views based on the reading.
We all (?) agree that if B1 deflects the ball into the backcourt and the ball touches the backcourt, Team A may recover no violation.
Agree
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splute
We all (?) agree that if B1 deflects a pass and a Team A player with frontcourt status catches the ball in the air and lands in their backcourt; it is a backcourt violation.
Agree...and the reason is A was the last to touch the ball BEFORE it gained backcourt status (catching it in the air while having FC stats) and was then the first to touch it AFTER gaining backcourt status (by landing in the backcourt while holding the ball)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splute
Therefore in my mind the same is true if Team A catches (in the air, ball has not touched bc) a deflection that has frontcourt status, while standing in their backcourt gives the ball backcourt status and a team backcourt violation.
But WHO was the LAST to touch it BEFORE it gained backcourt status? (Remember that a player can't can't possibly touch the ball before he touches the ball.)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splute
It bites, but it seems fundamentally the same to me.
I will start over and re-read this post from the beginning to see if I have a brain block or just bain dramage
The RULE, as written, is all about the timing of who touches the ball before/after the ball gains backcourt status. It is not about the status of the ball before/after it gains backcourt status.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 24, 2007, 04:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
AgreeAgree...and the reason is A was the last to touch the ball BEFORE it gained backcourt status (catching it in the air while having FC stats) and was then the first to touch it AFTER gaining backcourt status (by landing in the backcourt while holding the ball)But WHO was the LAST to touch it BEFORE it gained backcourt status? (Remember that a player can't can't possibly touch the ball before he touches the ball.)


The RULE, as written, is all about the timing of who touches the ball before/after the ball gains backcourt status. It is not about the status of the ball before/after it gains backcourt status.
I see your point and Bob's and Juulie's.... if the ONLY way you can have a BC Violation is by Rule 9-9-1, I must concede. I let Sits. sway my thinking that Ball Status could be a factor, regardless of who touched last in FC.
Thanks...
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 24, 2007, 09:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splute
I was not refering to differences of the violations, rather to the point that you are where you are till you get where you are going; ball status and court status. That position will determine if a violation ensues (yes it is a violation to cause the ball to go OOB).
Note that "cause the ball to go OOB" is specifically defined in the book and specifically includes "touching a player OOB before touching something else" (see 7-2-1 second clause and 7-2-2). These same qualification don't (or at least didn't) apply to BC violations.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Not the biggest question but it still bothers me jontheref Football 29 Tue Sep 04, 2007 08:13pm
SEC Situation olddoc08 Basketball 15 Wed Oct 04, 2006 10:05am
Situation Roger Bridges Softball 47 Thu Jan 06, 2005 09:56am
Another .3 second situation williebfree Basketball 11 Sun Dec 22, 2002 09:06pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1