The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Q#34 Resumption of Play (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/38822-q-34-resumption-play.html)

mick Tue Oct 16, 2007 03:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by KSRef07
No, that would not be part of the RPP, since the second delay is not after a TO or intermission. A live ball happened inbetween.

Why not? The next dead ball was the horn (or not). :)

KSRef07 Wed Oct 17, 2007 01:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick
Why not? The next dead ball was the horn (or not). :)

The RPP only applies after a TO or intermission. Not after a dead ball.

mick Wed Oct 17, 2007 05:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by KSRef07
The RPP only applies after a TO or intermission. Not after a dead ball.

Yes, indeed. ...The dead ball with the horn.

bob jenkins Wed Oct 17, 2007 08:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by KSRef07
No, that would not be part of the RPP, since the second delay is not after a TO or intermission. A live ball happened inbetween.

Some of this is semantics, since the rules don't explicitly state when the RPP starts and when it ends. You say it ends when the ball becomes live (I guess). It might also end when neither team is delaying. In any even,t even if it's not part of the RPP, but you're still going to have a T under 10-1-5b, right?

If a team tries to complete a throw-in but fails, then it's a violation. If they fail to even try, then it's a T. The RPP lessens the penalty for the T (to a V)under certain circumstances.

KSRef07 Wed Oct 17, 2007 03:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Some of this is semantics, since the rules don't explicitly state when the RPP starts and when it ends. You say it ends when the ball becomes live (I guess). It might also end when neither team is delaying. In any even,t even if it's not part of the RPP, but you're still going to have a T under 10-1-5b, right?

If a team tries to complete a throw-in but fails, then it's a violation. If they fail to even try, then it's a T. The RPP lessens the penalty for the T (to a V)under certain circumstances.

Once Team A violated and Team B got the throw in, and did so successfully, the RPP situation is over. If the horn blows for halftime a minute later, a violation afterward is a new situation - no T for the first violation. It's a new RPP situation. 10-1-5-b (except for the RPP carve out for TOs and Intermissions) refers to an actionless contest, which would be a T for the first violation and then can be a forfeit situation.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1