The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Q#34 Resumption of Play (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/38822-q-34-resumption-play.html)

Mark Dexter Sat Oct 13, 2007 12:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Mark, what's your take on the wording of 7-5-1c? It does make it sound as though they are cumulative over the game, although I agree they're not supposed to be.

It does, but that's where I go back to the body of 7-5-1 itself and the "In each situation" qualifier.

mick Sat Oct 13, 2007 12:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
It does, but that's where I go back to the body of 7-5-1 itself and the "In each situation" qualifier.

Mark,


If you are defaulting to 7-5-1, are you able to set a scenario for:
c. - "Following a violation by one team only, if that team continues to delay when authorized to make a throw-in, it is a technical foul."
  • What is the violation ?
  • What is the continuation of delay after that violation ?
  • When is it a technical foul ?
Thanks.

Mark Dexter Sat Oct 13, 2007 12:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick
Mark,


If you are defaulting to 7-5-1, are you able to set a scenario for:
c. - "Following a violation by one team only, if that team continues to delay when authorized to make a throw-in, it is a technical foul."
  • What is the violation ?
  • What is the continuation of delay after that violation ?
  • When is it a technical foul ?
Thanks.

Mick, I think you've unlocked it for me.

Still don't like it, though, and I may get a more official interp through my local board.

That said, would you read the technical foul (for continued delay) to apply to any throw-in or only a throw-in after the RPP?

mick Sat Oct 13, 2007 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
Mick, I think you've unlocked it for me.

Still don't like it, though, and I may get a more official interp through my local board.

That said, would you read the technical foul (for continued delay) to apply to any throw-in or only a throw-in after the RPP?

...Just the Time-out and Intermission throw-ins seems to be included in "Their" exception.
Dumb rule, ain't it?
Even if it's violated, it won't be enforced. :cool:

KSRef07 Sat Oct 13, 2007 02:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Mark, what's your take on the wording of 7-5-1c? It does make it sound as though they are cumulative over the game, although I agree they're not supposed to be.

My point exactly. If it DOES reset every time, then how would subsection C ever ocur? Give me an example where ONLY one team (Team A) violates in a situation, then violates AGAIN in the same RPP situation when authorized to MAKE a throw in.

How would they ever get a chance to make a second throw in in the same situation if the other team didn't violate? If Team A violated, then Team B makes a throw in that, say, went OOB on the far side without touching anybody, then Team A would get the throw in back at the same location but it would be a DIFFERENT situation now. It is no longer after a TO. If they didn't provide a thrower now, the RPP would begin again with no T.

So, How does subsection C apply at all?????

mick Sat Oct 13, 2007 03:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by KSRef07
My point exactly. If it DOES reset every time, then how would subsection C ever ocur? Give me an example where ONLY one team (Team A) violates in a situation, then violates AGAIN in the same RPP situation when authorized to MAKE a throw in.

How would they ever get a chance to make a second throw in in the same situation if the other team didn't violate? If Team A violated, then Team B makes a throw in that, say, went OOB on the far side without touching anybody, then Team A would get the throw in back at the same location but it would be a DIFFERENT situation now. It is no longer after a TO. If they didn't provide a thrower now, the RPP would begin again with no T.

So, How does subsection C apply at all?????


Well, yer just an agitator, KSRef07. :)

I, for one, would have been happy to merely overlook the rule and basked in ignorance for the rest of the year. I've been comfortable there for a long time.

Jurassic Referee Sat Oct 13, 2007 03:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick
Well, yer just an agitator, KSRef07. :)

I, for one, would have been happy to merely overlook the rule and basked in ignorance for the rest of the year. I've been comfortable there for a long time.

Go ahead and bask. Just remember to quit before you go blind.

You ain't gonna see this play in your lifetime, Mick. Third world play. I've never seen a technical foul called during an RRP, and I've never heard of a "T" being called during one either.

The exam answer key says that the answer is <b>TRUE</b>. If you ever do get the perfect storm, you now know what to do.

mick Sat Oct 13, 2007 04:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Go ahead and bask. Just remember to quit before you go blind.

You ain't gonna see this play in your lifetime, Mick. Third world play. I've never seen a technical foul called during an RRP, and I've never heard of a "T" being called during one either.

The exam answer key says that the answer is TRUE. If you ever do get the perfect storm, you now know what to do.

...And you can assure me the answer is correct?
That was rhetorical, ...nevermind. :)

just another ref Sat Oct 13, 2007 04:42pm

Could it be that they imagine the following?

Team A has not returned to the court to start the second half. It is their ball.
5 second count. Violation. Team B now inbounds and scores unmolested.
Team A is still in the locker room. Team A is now authorized to make a thrown-in. But since Team A is still in the locker room, that team continues to delay. Therefore, it is a technical foul.

Fits like a glove.

Nobody yell at me, I'm just trying to help.

mick Sat Oct 13, 2007 05:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
Could it be that they imagine the following?

Team A has not returned to the court to start the second half. It is their ball.
5 second count. Violation. Team B now inbounds and scores unmolested.
Team A is still in the locker room. Team A is now authorized to make a thrown-in. But since Team A is still in the locker room, that team continues to delay. Therefore, it is a technical foul.

Fits like a glove.

Nobody yell at me, I'm just trying to help.

I don't think so, cuz Team B doesn't get the ball while Team A only has 4 players.
That specific rule isn't directed at the number of players on the court to be a violation, it merely wants someone to throw-in the ball.

bob jenkins Sat Oct 13, 2007 05:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
Could it be that they imagine the following?

Team A has not returned to the court to start the second half. It is their ball.
5 second count. Violation. Team B now inbounds and scores unmolested.
Team A is still in the locker room. Team A is now authorized to make a thrown-in. But since Team A is still in the locker room, that team continues to delay. Therefore, it is a technical foul.

Fits like a glove.

Nobody yell at me, I'm just trying to help.

If Team A is still in the locker room, then the RPP doesn't apply. Team A has one minute to appear, then they get a T.

Jurassic Referee Sat Oct 13, 2007 07:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick
...And you can assure me the answer is correct?

Um, no.

But I can assure you that on the answer key, it says <b>TRUE</b>.:)

just another ref Sat Oct 13, 2007 11:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
If Team A is still in the locker room, then the RPP doesn't apply. Team A has one minute to appear, then they get a T.

Didn't know that. Where do we find this?

Ok, they're not it the locker room. Same scenario, they just don't come out on the court for whatever reason. Observing a moment of silence for the impending unemployment of Joe Torre, for example.

Mark Dexter Sun Oct 14, 2007 10:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
Could it be that they imagine the following?

Team A has not returned to the court to start the second half. It is their ball.
5 second count. Violation. Team B now inbounds and scores unmolested.
Team A is still in the locker room. Team A is now authorized to make a thrown-in. But since Team A is still in the locker room, that team continues to delay. Therefore, it is a technical foul.

Fits like a glove.

Nobody yell at me, I'm just trying to help.

10-1-5(a) covers that situation. We don't put the ball down and count when the team entitled to the throw-in isn't physically present.

bob jenkins Sun Oct 14, 2007 10:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
Didn't know that. Where do we find this?

Ok, they're not it the locker room. Same scenario, they just don't come out on the court for whatever reason. Observing a moment of silence for the impending unemployment of Joe Torre, for example.

4-38 (RPP) is a good place to start. Then 10-1-5b


If the teams are at the benches, then use the RPP. If a team is not at the bench, then enforce 10-1-5a.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1