The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Q#34 Resumption of Play (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/38822-q-34-resumption-play.html)

KSRef07 Sun Oct 14, 2007 04:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
4-38 (RPP) is a good place to start. Then 10-1-5b


If the teams are at the benches, then use the RPP. If a team is not at the bench, then enforce 10-1-5a.

Keep in mind, once the ball has been put in play after a TO (e.g., Team B after a Team A violation) then it is a live ball and not a RPP situation. Say Team B scores while A is scrambling from their benches (after A has been 5 counted) and for some reason they don't put the ball in play again, it's just a 5 count. RPP only applies after a TO or intermission. Then we have an actionless contest and a forfeit is imminent.

mick Sun Oct 14, 2007 05:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by KSRef07
Then we have an actionless contest and a forfeit is imminent.

Imminent?
Where may I read that rule?
Thanks.

KSRef07 Mon Oct 15, 2007 07:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick
Imminent?
Where may I read that rule?
Thanks.

By that I mean you would certainly tell the coach that if his team didn't take the court withing X seconds you would forfeit the game. The RPP would be the least of his worries.

mick Mon Oct 15, 2007 07:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by KSRef07
By that I mean you would certainly tell the coach that if his team didn't take the court withing X seconds you would forfeit the game. The RPP would be the least of his worries.

I would ?
I didn't know that.

rainmaker Mon Oct 15, 2007 12:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Mark, what's your take on the wording of 7-5-1c? It does make it sound as though they are cumulative over the game, although I agree they're not supposed to be.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
It does, but that's where I go back to the body of 7-5-1 itself and the "In each situation" qualifier.

Personally, after looking everything over, I suspect that the wording of 7-5-1c is left over from a previously well-written rule some years ago, and hasn't been changed to reflect other changes to the rule. I have no evidence to back that up, since I don't keep an attic full of old rulebooks. But we've seen other situations where a rule change in one part of the book screwed things up somewhere else. In the last few years, we've been able to get them changed pretty quickly, since we've got such sturdy communications technology. But perhaps this one particular item -- which after all occurs very,very seldom -- just didn't get modified once and has flown under the radar since then.

So whoever it is on the rules committee that is watching this board and getting our suggestions put into action, PAY ATTENTION!! This item needs addressing.

KSRef07 Mon Oct 15, 2007 01:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick
I would ?
I didn't know that.

Don't tell me you would forfeit a HS game without some type of "last chance" communication to the offending coach! Would you? :eek:

bob jenkins Mon Oct 15, 2007 01:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Personally, after looking everything over, I suspect that the wording of 7-5-1c is left over from a previously well-written rule some years ago, and hasn't been changed to reflect other changes to the rule. I have no evidence to back that up, since I don't keep an attic full of old rulebooks. But we've seen other situations where a rule change in one part of the book screwed things up somewhere else. In the last few years, we've been able to get them changed pretty quickly, since we've got such sturdy communications technology. But perhaps this one particular item -- which after all occurs very,very seldom -- just didn't get modified once and has flown under the radar since then.

So whoever it is on the rules committee that is watching this board and getting our suggestions put into action, PAY ATTENTION!! This item needs addressing.

I think the word "continuous" (uninterrupted; unbroken) is clear. If A violates, then B inbounds, then A inbounds, the delay has been interrupted. The next delay is not a "continuous" delay.

mick Mon Oct 15, 2007 01:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by KSRef07
Don't tell me you would forfeit a HS game without some type of "last chance" communication to the offending coach! Would you? :eek:

You wrote:
Quote:

Originally Posted by KSRef07
By that I mean you would certainly tell the coach that if his team didn't take the court withing X seconds you would forfeit the game. The RPP would be the least of his worries.




Had you written that I could certainly tell the coach, I would not have been surprised, but since you said I would certainly tell the coach, you make it seem like you've seen me in action. ;)

bob jenkins Mon Oct 15, 2007 04:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by KSRef07
Keep in mind, once the ball has been put in play after a TO (e.g., Team B after a Team A violation) then it is a live ball and not a RPP situation. Say Team B scores while A is scrambling from their benches (after A has been 5 counted) and for some reason they don't put the ball in play again, it's just a 5 count. RPP only applies after a TO or intermission. Then we have an actionless contest and a forfeit is imminent.

Do you have a reference for this? I'm not saying I disagree, but if you follwoed the ruling in 10.1.5A (which is a FT situation) then you might come to the conclusion that if A delays (the second delay above), then it's a T. If they continue to delay even after that -- that's when you go toward the forfeit.

Also (not for KS Ref, but for Mick and rainmaker, I think) 7.5.1A COMMENT contains wording about applying the procedure each time.

Mark Padgett Mon Oct 15, 2007 04:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
but if you follwoed the ruling in 10.1.5A

I didn't know Elmer Fudd was an official. :D He's carrying a pretty big whistle, though and I bet he doesn't get any flack from coaches, except from that one wascally wabbit coach at CSU (Carrot State University).

http://www.nonstick.com/sounds/Elmer.gif

KSRef07 Mon Oct 15, 2007 04:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick
You wrote:



Had you written that I could certainly tell the coach, I would not have been surprised, but since you said I would certainly tell the coach, you make it seem like you've seen me in action. ;)

AHHHH. English / grammar is not my forte. :o

rainmaker Mon Oct 15, 2007 05:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
I think the word "continuous" (uninterrupted; unbroken) is clear. If A violates, then B inbounds, then A inbounds, the delay has been interrupted. The next delay is not a "continuous" delay.

Well, I think your interp is correct. But as KS asks, when would the "continuous delay" ever, ever happen?

bob jenkins Mon Oct 15, 2007 09:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Well, I think your interp is correct. But as KS asks, when would the "continuous delay" ever, ever happen?

As I mentioned above -- follow 10.1.5A, but apply it to a throw-in, not to a FT.

Or, Team B is not ready. The ball is handed to Team A who inbounds and scores (insert Padget joke about it taking some length of time for the team to do so). Team B still doesn't appear for the subsequent throw-in. Technical foul to Team B.

mick Mon Oct 15, 2007 10:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
As I mentioned above -- follow 10.1.5A, but apply it to a throw-in, not to a FT.

Or, Team B is not ready. The ball is handed to Team A who inbounds and scores (insert Padget joke about it taking some length of time for the team to do so). Team B still doesn't appear for the subsequent throw-in. Technical foul to Team B.

Is that a violation carry-over?

KSRef07 Tue Oct 16, 2007 03:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
As I mentioned above -- follow 10.1.5A, but apply it to a throw-in, not to a FT.

Or, Team B is not ready. The ball is handed to Team A who inbounds and scores (insert Padget joke about it taking some length of time for the team to do so). Team B still doesn't appear for the subsequent throw-in. Technical foul to Team B.

No, that would not be part of the RPP, since the second delay is not after a TO or intermission. A live ball happened inbetween.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1