![]() |
Bouncing ball OOB during throw-in
Can the thrower bounce the ball out-of-bounds during a throw-in? The situation in question happened as the thrower "spun" the ball to use the spin to get it in-bounds around a defender. If it is an infraction, what is the call?
|
The ball must be thrown directly onto the court. This is a throw-in violation on A1; ball to team B from the original throwin spot.
|
What Snaqwells said.
If you want the reference: 9-2-2 |
Yes it is. Throwing a pass is not the same as dribbling out of bounds. There is nothing that suggests you cannot dribble out of bounds.
Peace |
Quote:
And, just for total clarity on my part, am I correct that it is permissible to put a spin on the ball that lands inbounds? |
Quote:
Again, whether he spins it or not doesn't matter. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Ha, true!! Do they still exist? I quit watching after Meadowlark (sp?) left.... say 20 years ago? :)
|
Quote:
|
Saw that link, but I am not allowed to Youtube at work... I will look it up after the scrimmages tonight. Lets see.... that was on the "dancing" thread I do believe... too funny.
|
THROW-IN VIOLATIONS
9.2.2 SITUATION A: Thrower A1 attempts deception by: (a) causing the ball to carom from the wall behind him/her, or from the floor out of bounds and then into the court; (b) caroming the ball from the back of the backboard to a player in the court; or (c) throwing the ball against the side or the front face of the backboard, after which it rebounds into the hands of A2. RULING: Violation in (a) and (b), since the throw did not go directly inbounds. The throw-in in (c) is legal. The side and front face of the backboard are inbounds and, in this specific situation, are treated the same as the floor inbounds. 9.2.2 SITUATION D: A1 dribbles the ball on floor on the out-of-bounds area before making a throw-in. RULING: Legal, a player may bounce the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throw-in. |
Quote:
A1, on left side of lane for the throwin...a few steps back from the throwin plane. A1 throws a bounce pass to A2 who is on the right side of the lane near the endline. The ball travels in a straight line but the point at which is bounces is still OOB. Quote:
|
End Line Throw In ??
After a made basket by Team B, Team A has the ball for an end line throw in. I believe that A-1 can bounce pass the ball, out of bounds, along the end line, to A-2, who is also out of bounds, within the five second time limit.
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21am. |