The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Bouncing ball OOB during throw-in (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/38623-bouncing-ball-oob-during-throw.html)

Rev.Ref63 Wed Oct 03, 2007 02:20pm

Bouncing ball OOB during throw-in
 
Can the thrower bounce the ball out-of-bounds during a throw-in? The situation in question happened as the thrower "spun" the ball to use the spin to get it in-bounds around a defender. If it is an infraction, what is the call?

Adam Wed Oct 03, 2007 02:23pm

The ball must be thrown directly onto the court. This is a throw-in violation on A1; ball to team B from the original throwin spot.

Ref in PA Wed Oct 03, 2007 02:27pm

What Snaqwells said.

If you want the reference: 9-2-2

JRutledge Wed Oct 03, 2007 03:02pm

Yes it is. Throwing a pass is not the same as dribbling out of bounds. There is nothing that suggests you cannot dribble out of bounds.

Peace

jmaellis Wed Oct 03, 2007 03:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rev.Ref63
Can the thrower bounce the ball out-of-bounds during a throw-in? The situation in question happened as the thrower "spun" the ball to use the spin to get it in-bounds around a defender. If it is an infraction, what is the call?

I trying to picture what is being described here. Did the inbounder put the spin on the ball, bounce it out of bounds (with the spin) and then the ball entered the court?

And, just for total clarity on my part, am I correct that it is permissible to put a spin on the ball that lands inbounds?

Adam Wed Oct 03, 2007 03:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmaellis
I trying to picture what is being described here. Did the inbounder put the spin on the ball, bounce it out of bounds (with the spin) and then the ball entered the court?

And, just for total clarity on my part, am I correct that it is permissible to put a spin on the ball that lands inbounds?

The spin is irrelevant. As Rut said, "dribbling" is fine. The problem is when the thrower passes the ball onto the court and it bounces out of bounds first. If, on the actual in bounds pass, the ball bounces OOB, it is a throwin violation for failure to throw the ball directly onto the playing court.

Again, whether he spins it or not doesn't matter.

Splute Wed Oct 03, 2007 03:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmaellis
I trying to picture what is being described here. Did the inbounder put the spin on the ball, bounce it out of bounds (with the spin) and then the ball entered the court?

And, just for total clarity on my part, am I correct that it is permissible to put a spin on the ball that lands inbounds?

Except for spinning in OOB as described here and backcourt (frontcourt status, spin to backcourt & back to front court), I can not think of another time that spinning the ball may be a violation; in the act itself...... :confused:

Mark Padgett Wed Oct 03, 2007 04:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Splute
I can not think of another time that spinning the ball may be a violation

Especially not at a Globetrotters game! :)

Splute Wed Oct 03, 2007 04:13pm

Ha, true!! Do they still exist? I quit watching after Meadowlark (sp?) left.... say 20 years ago? :)

Mark Padgett Wed Oct 03, 2007 04:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Splute
Ha, true!! Do they still exist? I quit watching after Meadowlark (sp?) left.... say 20 years ago? :)

Yes - and in another thread I posted a link to a youtube video of Mark Cuban refereeing one of their games.

Splute Wed Oct 03, 2007 04:19pm

Saw that link, but I am not allowed to Youtube at work... I will look it up after the scrimmages tonight. Lets see.... that was on the "dancing" thread I do believe... too funny.

Nevadaref Wed Oct 03, 2007 04:27pm

THROW-IN VIOLATIONS
9.2.2 SITUATION A: Thrower A1 attempts deception by: (a) causing the ball to carom from the wall behind him/her, or from the floor out of bounds and then into the court; (b) caroming the ball from the back of the backboard to a player in the court; or (c) throwing the ball against the side or the front face of the backboard, after which it rebounds into the hands of A2. RULING: Violation in (a) and (b), since the throw did not go directly inbounds. The throw-in in (c) is legal. The side and front face of the backboard are inbounds and, in this specific situation, are treated the same as the floor inbounds.

9.2.2 SITUATION D: A1 dribbles the ball on floor on the out-of-bounds area before making a throw-in. RULING: Legal, a player may bounce the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throw-in.

Camron Rust Wed Oct 03, 2007 05:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmaellis
I trying to picture what is being described here. Did the inbounder put the spin on the ball, bounce it out of bounds (with the spin) and then the ball entered the court?

No spin necessary....

A1, on left side of lane for the throwin...a few steps back from the throwin plane. A1 throws a bounce pass to A2 who is on the right side of the lane near the endline. The ball travels in a straight line but the point at which is bounces is still OOB.

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmaellis
And, just for total clarity on my part, am I correct that it is permissible to put a spin on the ball that lands inbounds?

Yep, legal.

BillyMac Wed Oct 03, 2007 06:34pm

End Line Throw In ??
 
After a made basket by Team B, Team A has the ball for an end line throw in. I believe that A-1 can bounce pass the ball, out of bounds, along the end line, to A-2, who is also out of bounds, within the five second time limit.

Rev.Ref63 Wed Oct 03, 2007 10:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac
After a made basket by Team B, Team A has the ball for an end line throw in. I believe that A-1 can bounce pass the ball, out of bounds, along the end line, to A-2, who is also out of bounds, within the five second time limit.

It was this exception to the throw-in requirement that made me question this situation. If the inbounder can legally throw to a teammate OOB after a made basket, could he also use "spin" to bounce the ball OOB and then have it spin in-bounds past a defender?

justacoach Wed Oct 03, 2007 10:40pm

What if???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac
After a made basket by Team B, Team A has the ball for an end line throw in. I believe that A-1 can bounce pass the ball, out of bounds, along the end line, to A-2, who is also out of bounds, within the five second time limit.

You are positively correct.

And what would you have if B2, defending A2, intercepts the pass from A1?

Adam Wed Oct 03, 2007 11:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rev.Ref63
If the inbounder can legally throw to a teammate OOB after a made basket, could he also use "spin" to bounce the ball OOB and then have it spin in-bounds past a defender?

No.Whether he spins it is completely irrelevant. The "spin" itself never matters according to the rules. Never.

Back In The Saddle Thu Oct 04, 2007 12:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rev.Ref63
It was this exception to the throw-in requirement that made me question this situation. If the inbounder can legally throw to a teammate OOB after a made basket, could he also use "spin" to bounce the ball OOB and then have it spin in-bounds past a defender?

While the thrower may pass to a teammate who is OOB after a made or awarded basket, the pass onto the court still must be directly into the court.

NFHS 7-5-7 After a goal or awarded goal as in 7-4-3, the team not credited with the score shall make the throw-in from the end of the court where the goal was made and from any point outside the end line. ... Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in OR he/she may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate(s) outside the boundary line.

There is no circumstance where the spin-pass-thingee described is legal. The problem, as has been stated, is not the spin, but that the pass bounced OOB before coming inbounds, it was not "directly into the court" (NFHS 7-6-1)

Scrapper1 Thu Oct 04, 2007 06:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac
After a made basket by Team B, Team A has the ball for an end line throw in. I believe that A-1 can bounce pass the ball, out of bounds, along the end line, to A-2, who is also out of bounds, within the five second time limit.

Billy's comment is correct because the pass from A1 to A2 in this case is not a THROW-IN pass. The throw-in pass is directed onto the court. So a pass that touches out of bounds before going onto the court is illegal; the pass between teammates that stays completely out of bounds is legal.

Scrapper1 Thu Oct 04, 2007 06:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach
And what would you have if B2, defending A2, intercepts the pass from A1?

Whack! And a delay of game warning.

Rev.Ref63 Thu Oct 04, 2007 09:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
There is no circumstance where the spin-pass-thingee described is legal. The problem, as has been stated, is not the spin, but that the pass bounced OOB before coming inbounds, it was not "directly into the court" (NFHS 7-6-1)

That makes sense.

WhistlesAndStripes Thu Oct 04, 2007 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Whack! And a delay of game warning.

What's the WHACK for? Is that just the sound your whistle makes? Or are you saying you'd call a T for this? Most people use the term WHACK on here to indicate a technical foul, which I don't think is necessary. I do agree with the delay of game warning. Of course, if they had already been warned, then WHACK.

M&M Guy Thu Oct 04, 2007 01:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
What's the WHACK for? Is that just the sound your whistle makes? Or are you saying you'd call a T for this? Most people use the term WHACK on here to indicate a technical foul, which I don't think is necessary. I do agree with the delay of game warning. Of course, if they had already been warned, then WHACK.

What about 10-3-11?

Camron Rust Thu Oct 04, 2007 03:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
What's the WHACK for? Is that just the sound your whistle makes? Or are you saying you'd call a T for this? Most people use the term WHACK on here to indicate a technical foul, which I don't think is necessary. I do agree with the delay of game warning. Of course, if they had already been warned, then WHACK.

A T is the correct call.

Splute Thu Oct 04, 2007 03:19pm

Agreed, by rule, a Technical. I would not hesitate to apply on JV or Varsity level. However, I get the impression from my chapter leadership regarding the lower levels that they had rather us use preventative communications and maybe even stop the initial play as it happens and explain to the player he/she can not reach across the line, period. In other words, avoid these kind of technicals in lower games as much as possible.

bob jenkins Thu Oct 04, 2007 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Splute
Agreed, by rule, a Technical. I would not hesitate to apply on JV or Varsity level. However, I get the impression from my chapter leadership regarding the lower levels that they had rather us use preventative communications and maybe even stop the initial play as it happens and explain to the player he/she can not reach across the line, period. In other words, avoid these kind of technicals in lower games as much as possible.

Once it's happened, it's too late to prevent it. Call the T. If you see B approaching the line, (before the ball becomes live) you can tell them not to cross the line.

Splute Thu Oct 04, 2007 04:19pm

Good point, Bob. I will remember to do my communicating PRIOR to giving the ball. And gentle words while they are throwing in after a made basket as I can.

Nevadaref Thu Oct 04, 2007 07:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
What's the WHACK for? Is that just the sound your whistle makes? Or are you saying you'd call a T for this? Most people use the term WHACK on here to indicate a technical foul, which I don't think is necessary. I do agree with the delay of game warning. Of course, if they had already been warned, then WHACK.

:(

Been studying for your rules test again. :eek:

10.3.11 SITUATION B: After a field goal, the score is A-55, B-54. A1 has the ball out of bounds for a throw-in with two seconds remaining in the game. A1 throws the ball toward A2 who also is out of bounds along the end line. B2 reaches across the end line and grabs or slaps the ball while it is in flight. Time expires close to the moment the official indicates the infraction. RULING: A technical foul is charged against B2. The remaining time or whether Team B had been previously warned for a delay-of-game situation is not a factor. No free throws are awarded as the winner of the game has been determined. (9-2-11 Penalty 3, 4)

Back In The Saddle Thu Oct 04, 2007 11:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Splute
Agreed, by rule, a Technical. I would not hesitate to apply on JV or Varsity level. However, I get the impression from my chapter leadership regarding the lower levels that they had rather us use preventative communications and maybe even stop the initial play as it happens and explain to the player he/she can not reach across the line, period. In other words, avoid these kind of technicals in lower games as much as possible.

There's nothing quite like a technical foul in a meaningless youth game (yeah, I know somebody's gonna flame me for saying that. Get over it.) to teach a young man or woman not to reach across the line. It's quick, relatively painless, and long lasting.

Prevent what you can prevent. But don't withhold a valuable lesson just because they're young.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1