The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Bouncing ball OOB during throw-in (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/38623-bouncing-ball-oob-during-throw.html)

justacoach Wed Oct 03, 2007 10:40pm

What if???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac
After a made basket by Team B, Team A has the ball for an end line throw in. I believe that A-1 can bounce pass the ball, out of bounds, along the end line, to A-2, who is also out of bounds, within the five second time limit.

You are positively correct.

And what would you have if B2, defending A2, intercepts the pass from A1?

Adam Wed Oct 03, 2007 11:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rev.Ref63
If the inbounder can legally throw to a teammate OOB after a made basket, could he also use "spin" to bounce the ball OOB and then have it spin in-bounds past a defender?

No.Whether he spins it is completely irrelevant. The "spin" itself never matters according to the rules. Never.

Back In The Saddle Thu Oct 04, 2007 12:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rev.Ref63
It was this exception to the throw-in requirement that made me question this situation. If the inbounder can legally throw to a teammate OOB after a made basket, could he also use "spin" to bounce the ball OOB and then have it spin in-bounds past a defender?

While the thrower may pass to a teammate who is OOB after a made or awarded basket, the pass onto the court still must be directly into the court.

NFHS 7-5-7 After a goal or awarded goal as in 7-4-3, the team not credited with the score shall make the throw-in from the end of the court where the goal was made and from any point outside the end line. ... Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in OR he/she may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate(s) outside the boundary line.

There is no circumstance where the spin-pass-thingee described is legal. The problem, as has been stated, is not the spin, but that the pass bounced OOB before coming inbounds, it was not "directly into the court" (NFHS 7-6-1)

Scrapper1 Thu Oct 04, 2007 06:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac
After a made basket by Team B, Team A has the ball for an end line throw in. I believe that A-1 can bounce pass the ball, out of bounds, along the end line, to A-2, who is also out of bounds, within the five second time limit.

Billy's comment is correct because the pass from A1 to A2 in this case is not a THROW-IN pass. The throw-in pass is directed onto the court. So a pass that touches out of bounds before going onto the court is illegal; the pass between teammates that stays completely out of bounds is legal.

Scrapper1 Thu Oct 04, 2007 06:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach
And what would you have if B2, defending A2, intercepts the pass from A1?

Whack! And a delay of game warning.

Rev.Ref63 Thu Oct 04, 2007 09:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
There is no circumstance where the spin-pass-thingee described is legal. The problem, as has been stated, is not the spin, but that the pass bounced OOB before coming inbounds, it was not "directly into the court" (NFHS 7-6-1)

That makes sense.

WhistlesAndStripes Thu Oct 04, 2007 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Whack! And a delay of game warning.

What's the WHACK for? Is that just the sound your whistle makes? Or are you saying you'd call a T for this? Most people use the term WHACK on here to indicate a technical foul, which I don't think is necessary. I do agree with the delay of game warning. Of course, if they had already been warned, then WHACK.

M&M Guy Thu Oct 04, 2007 01:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
What's the WHACK for? Is that just the sound your whistle makes? Or are you saying you'd call a T for this? Most people use the term WHACK on here to indicate a technical foul, which I don't think is necessary. I do agree with the delay of game warning. Of course, if they had already been warned, then WHACK.

What about 10-3-11?

Camron Rust Thu Oct 04, 2007 03:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
What's the WHACK for? Is that just the sound your whistle makes? Or are you saying you'd call a T for this? Most people use the term WHACK on here to indicate a technical foul, which I don't think is necessary. I do agree with the delay of game warning. Of course, if they had already been warned, then WHACK.

A T is the correct call.

Splute Thu Oct 04, 2007 03:19pm

Agreed, by rule, a Technical. I would not hesitate to apply on JV or Varsity level. However, I get the impression from my chapter leadership regarding the lower levels that they had rather us use preventative communications and maybe even stop the initial play as it happens and explain to the player he/she can not reach across the line, period. In other words, avoid these kind of technicals in lower games as much as possible.

bob jenkins Thu Oct 04, 2007 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Splute
Agreed, by rule, a Technical. I would not hesitate to apply on JV or Varsity level. However, I get the impression from my chapter leadership regarding the lower levels that they had rather us use preventative communications and maybe even stop the initial play as it happens and explain to the player he/she can not reach across the line, period. In other words, avoid these kind of technicals in lower games as much as possible.

Once it's happened, it's too late to prevent it. Call the T. If you see B approaching the line, (before the ball becomes live) you can tell them not to cross the line.

Splute Thu Oct 04, 2007 04:19pm

Good point, Bob. I will remember to do my communicating PRIOR to giving the ball. And gentle words while they are throwing in after a made basket as I can.

Nevadaref Thu Oct 04, 2007 07:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
What's the WHACK for? Is that just the sound your whistle makes? Or are you saying you'd call a T for this? Most people use the term WHACK on here to indicate a technical foul, which I don't think is necessary. I do agree with the delay of game warning. Of course, if they had already been warned, then WHACK.

:(

Been studying for your rules test again. :eek:

10.3.11 SITUATION B: After a field goal, the score is A-55, B-54. A1 has the ball out of bounds for a throw-in with two seconds remaining in the game. A1 throws the ball toward A2 who also is out of bounds along the end line. B2 reaches across the end line and grabs or slaps the ball while it is in flight. Time expires close to the moment the official indicates the infraction. RULING: A technical foul is charged against B2. The remaining time or whether Team B had been previously warned for a delay-of-game situation is not a factor. No free throws are awarded as the winner of the game has been determined. (9-2-11 Penalty 3, 4)

Back In The Saddle Thu Oct 04, 2007 11:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Splute
Agreed, by rule, a Technical. I would not hesitate to apply on JV or Varsity level. However, I get the impression from my chapter leadership regarding the lower levels that they had rather us use preventative communications and maybe even stop the initial play as it happens and explain to the player he/she can not reach across the line, period. In other words, avoid these kind of technicals in lower games as much as possible.

There's nothing quite like a technical foul in a meaningless youth game (yeah, I know somebody's gonna flame me for saying that. Get over it.) to teach a young man or woman not to reach across the line. It's quick, relatively painless, and long lasting.

Prevent what you can prevent. But don't withhold a valuable lesson just because they're young.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1