The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 09, 2007, 06:40pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
I stand corrected. I don't necessarily agree with the logic, but it is not my place to do so. My remaining question has to do with the other play which Tony posted on the other thread:

A1 shoots, ball comes off the backboard and rim hard and bounds all the way out to the division line. A2 leaps from his FC, catches the ball while airborne, and lands in the BC. Is this a violation? Damn skippy it is.

Is this a violation on only team A? Is it significant that A was last in control?
Or would it also be a violation on B if A's shot is batted out to the division line and B1 jumps from his FC, secures control, and lands in BC?

I would think that it would have to be a violation on either team in this case, but I'm not gonna bet the farm on it.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 09, 2007, 07:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Damn, I get tired of being right all the time.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 09, 2007, 08:02pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Damn, I get tired of being right all the time.
This was the original thread.

Throw-in/Backcourt violation?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 09, 2007, 08:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Damned if a bunch of you didn't miss that one!!
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 09, 2007, 07:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
I stand corrected. I don't necessarily agree with the logic, but it is not my place to do so. My remaining question has to do with the other play which Tony posted on the other thread:

A1 shoots, ball comes off the backboard and rim hard and bounds all the way out to the division line. A2 leaps from his FC, catches the ball while airborne, and lands in the BC. Is this a violation? Damn skippy it is.

Is this a violation on only team A? Is it significant that A was last in control?
Or would it also be a violation on B if A's shot is batted out to the division line and B1 jumps from his FC, secures control, and lands in BC?

I would think that it would have to be a violation on either team in this case, but I'm not gonna bet the farm on it.
Consider these points and perhaps it won't be as difficult.

1-There is no Team A or Team B in this play.
2- It makes no difference which team shot the ball, who was on defense, who was on offense.
3- It's a loose ball, there's no team control and no one is "entitled" to the ball.

When player #12 jumps from his FC and grabs the ball, he has now established team control, the ball has FC status, and he is the last player to touch the ball in the FC. When he lands in the BC, he has committed a BC violation.

It's actually no different than the play Scrapper1 cited.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 09, 2007, 07:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Good stuff, Scrappy.

I actually got an e-mail from my board's interpreter a month or two ago saying no violation. Glad it got cleared up by Fed.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 09, 2007, 07:54pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
Glad it got cleared up by Fed.
It's not the first time that related case plays have come out after some lengthy rules discussions on this forum. Methinks some things that we discuss are getting back to members of the rules committee.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 09, 2007, 08:36pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Consider these points and perhaps it won't be as difficult.

1-There is no Team A or Team B in this play.
2- It makes no difference which team shot the ball, who was on defense, who was on offense.

When player #12 jumps from his FC and grabs the ball, he has now established team control, the ball has FC status, and he is the last player to touch the ball in the FC. When he lands in the BC, he has committed a BC violation.

It's actually no different than the play Scrapper1 cited.

When you say there is no Team A or B, does that mean simply that there is no team control, (like the case play) or does this refer to the fact that team control by A ended on the try, and there is no more Team A & B (offense/defense) until team control is reestablished?

Quote:
3- It's a loose ball, there's no team control and no one is "entitled" to the ball.
The red part here is also true in the case play. I don't know what you mean by "entitled to the ball." When is one entitled to the ball?

My new question:

Team A is awarded a throw-in near the division line. A1's throw-in is deflected by B1; B2 jumps from Team B's frontcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands in the backcourt. Is this a violation, or is B2 still considered a defender in this play?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 09, 2007, 08:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
"team control by A ended on the try, and there is no more Team A & B (offense/defense) until team control is reestablished"

Correct. There is no offense or defense. The rule equally applies to all 10 players on the field.

"The red part here is also true in the case play. I don't know what you mean by "entitled to the ball." When is one entitled to the ball?"

In the case play, a team is entitled to the ball because they have the throwin, therefore, they are Team A.

I'm just trying to help you see that in your play, no matter which team a player is on, he can't jump from his FC, gain player control of the ball and land in his BC. It's a BC violation.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 10, 2007, 08:55am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Well, I guess this clears it all up then. It's obvious from this that the committee intends the parenthetical statement in this rule to be all-inclusive rather than merely providing examples. I stand corrected.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 09, 2007, 08:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
My new question:

Team A is awarded a throw-in near the division line. A1's throw-in is deflected by B1; B2 jumps from Team B's frontcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands in the backcourt. Is this a violation, or is B2 still considered a defender in this play?
I would say that B2 is a defensive player on this play and thus it is not a violation. But what the heck do I know!?!?

Scrapper, Thanks for the clarification. I won't get my new books until the first week of October.
For now I will have to wonder if the NFHS changed the wording of the actual rule or simply writing case plays that support the stance that Tony advocated. That being that the during a throw-in, during a jump ball, and defensive player are THE ONLY THREE times that an exception is granted. If that is the case, then it seems to me that they should have just kept the old wording. It was clearer.

I also agree with Jurassic's point that the members of this discussion forum have once again caused the NFHS to issue a clarification. If we can keep having that kind of positive impact then we are not wasting our time.

PS Congrats to BktBallRef for championing the position that the NFHS elected to support.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 10, 2007, 05:16am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
For now I will have to wonder if the NFHS changed the wording of the actual rule or simply writing case plays that support the stance that Tony advocated. That being that the during a throw-in, during a jump ball, and defensive player are THE ONLY THREE times that an exception is granted. If that is the case, then it seems to me that they should have just kept the old wording. It was clearer.
NFHS rule 9-9-3 has NOT changed in this year's book. The case play clarifies that Tony was right.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 09, 2007, 09:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Consider these points and perhaps it won't be as difficult.

1-There is no Team A or Team B in this play.
2- It makes no difference which team shot the ball, who was on defense, who was on offense.
3- It's a loose ball, there's no team control and no one is "entitled" to the ball.

When player #12 jumps from his FC and grabs the ball, he has now established team control, the ball has FC status, and he is the last player to touch the ball in the FC. When he lands in the BC, he has committed a BC violation.

It's actually no different than the play Scrapper1 cited.
In simpler terms what the NFHS is now telling us is that since this action does NOT take place (1) during a throw-in, (2) during a jump ball, or (3) by a defensive player (The last being because there is no clear offensive team or clear defensive team in this scenario.), the player is not granted an exception and thus this is a violation.

At least that is how I now understand the rule after reading the new case play posted by Scrapper.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 09, 2007, 09:07pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,708
I'm just happy I didn't chime in on the other thread (because I think I would've been wrong and ended up owing Bktballref $5).
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 09, 2007, 10:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
In simpler terms what the NFHS is now telling us is that since this action does NOT take place (1) during a throw-in, (2) during a jump ball, or (3) by a defensive player (The last being because there is no clear offensive team or clear defensive team in this scenario.), the player is not granted an exception and thus this is a violation.

At least that is how I now understand the rule after reading the new case play posted by Scrapper.
I don't think it's "simpler terms" to try to explain why an exception doesn't apply. This play has nothing to do with the exceptions so why bring them up? It only further confuses the issue for someone who doesn't already understand it.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FOr the benefit of BktBallRef 26 Year Gap Basketball 6 Sun Apr 02, 2006 05:56pm
For BktBallRef CYO Butch Basketball 3 Wed Feb 19, 2003 02:31pm
Thanks BktBallRef APHP Basketball 10 Fri Feb 07, 2003 11:57pm
Bktballref and all please look at this Self Basketball 59 Fri Mar 01, 2002 02:38pm
attn: BktBallRef re backward pass marys02052 Football 4 Fri Feb 01, 2002 03:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1