The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Least called call (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/38111-least-called-call.html)

Mark Padgett Sat Sep 08, 2007 03:58pm

Least called call
 
Again, this comes out of a conversation I was having with another official. Out of all the calls under NF rules, which is the one you've called the least (or maybe never) in your career. For me, it's basket interference on a free throw.

My buddy agreed and put "false multiple foul" in second place. Actually, I've called that every so often.

What about you?

Mark Dexter Sat Sep 08, 2007 04:35pm

I, too, have called BI on a free throw. Unfortunately, I passed on the technical that should have gone with it.

I would have to say that the "normal" violation/foul (i.e., no multiple fouls :p ) that I call least often is a 3-second violation.

Back In The Saddle Sat Sep 08, 2007 05:11pm

I've never called fisting. I've never called a simultaneous foul. Never had BI on a free throw.

Old School Sat Sep 08, 2007 05:19pm

After reading up the definition of a multiple foul, I once called it. Player driving in for a layup was foul at the top of the key, his momentum took him in for a layup, which another player came across and hampered him again shooting the layup. I probably should have made it a false multiple foul or a false double foul, all hell, I don't know to be technically correct. However, the coach didn't like my call and we almost came to blows. Since I knew him from my playing days, the argument was more about the call then it was personal. The call cause so much comotion that I'm hestiant to use it again.

In fact, I did use it again and it encountered the same reaction. After about 10 minutes getting everybody settle back down, we got back to play. So I have decided to screw the multiple foul, that 2nd foul on the same player will be a technical foul.

Mark Padgett Sat Sep 08, 2007 06:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
I've never called fisting.

By "fisting", I assume you mean a violation for hitting the ball with your fist. BTW - I have absolutely no idea what this poster means.

http://i147.photobucket.com/albums/r...na/fisting.jpg

Scrapper1 Sat Sep 08, 2007 07:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
I, too, have called BI on a free throw. Unfortunately, I passed on the technical that should have gone with it.

Was the technical for hanging on the rim? Or was this before the rule was changed to remove the T penalty?

As I'm sure you know, goaltending a free throw is a T, but basket interference is not (anymore).

Adam Sat Sep 08, 2007 07:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Old School
In fact, I did use it again and it encountered the same reaction. After about 10 minutes getting everybody settle back down, we got back to play. So I have decided to screw the multiple foul, that 2nd foul on the same player will be a technical foul.

Not only will this get an even bigger reaction (that seems to be what you're worried about here), it's the wrong call and can't be made with rules backing. If the 2nd foul is one that needs to be called, it's simply another personal shooting foul.
I'm almost afraid to ask, but how did you administer it when you did call the simultaneous foul?

Nevadaref Sat Sep 08, 2007 10:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Old School
... another player came across and hampered him ...

He put him in with the dirty laundry! :eek:

Mark Dexter Sun Sep 09, 2007 09:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Was the technical for hanging on the rim? Or was this before the rule was changed to remove the T penalty?

As I'm sure you know, goaltending a free throw is a T, but basket interference is not (anymore).

It was back in '02-'03, when both BI and GT of a FT were Ts. I passed on it rather than inflame tempers over a rule that none of the players would have known.

Old School Sun Sep 09, 2007 09:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Not only will this get an even bigger reaction (that seems to be what you're worried about here), it's the wrong call and can't be made with rules backing.

Excuse me! How was it the wrong call?

Quote:

If the 2nd foul is one that needs to be called, it's simply another personal shooting foul.
Incorrect, as usual from you. If the 2nd foul needs to be called, it's a dead ball foul, a dead ball foul is a technical, or i could say it was apart of the original move and make it a multiple foul.

Quote:

I'm almost afraid to ask, but how did you administer it when you did call the simultaneous foul?
By the rules.

Jurassic Referee Sun Sep 09, 2007 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Old School
Excuse me! How was it the wrong call?

Incorrect, as usual from you. If the 2nd foul needs to be called, it's a dead ball foul, a dead ball foul is a technical, or i could say it was apart of the original move and make it a multiple foul.

By the rules.

By the rules?

Not freaking likely. You've never owned a rule book in your life.

The <b>rules</b>, both NFHS and NCAA, say that multiple fouls can <b>ONLY</b> be <b>personal</b> fouls, <b>NOT</b> technical fouls.

As usual, you're guessing, and also as usual, you're guessing wrong.

Corndog89 Sun Sep 09, 2007 12:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Old School
Player driving in for a layup was foul at the top of the key, his momentum took him in for a layup, which another player came across and hampered him again shooting the layup.

Who was the player...Michael Jordan? LeBron? Dr J? That's a lot of momentum (about 20 feet worth) for a rec leaguer (rec is all you call, right?)...from the top of the key all the way in for a layup??? Did you blow your whistle at the moment of the original foul (i.e., at the "top of the key")? If so, how did the player continue on for a "hampered" layup? His jumps must have the approximate thrust of a jet engine? Wish this was on You Tube.....

26 Year Gap Sun Sep 09, 2007 01:09pm

Hampered him? Did his uniform need washing?

refnrev Sun Sep 09, 2007 04:21pm

BI on the free throw ... or BI in general. Never called either. I officiate mostly smaller schools and have never seen it.

Mark Padgett Sun Sep 09, 2007 04:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnrev
BI on the free throw ... or BI in general. Never called either. I officiate mostly smaller schools and have never seen it.

Just curious as to why you think the size of the school would have something to do with whether or not the players would commit BI.

Or, by "smaller" did you mean in height? ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1