The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 05, 2007, 11:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Pasadena Ca
Posts: 281
Send a message via AIM to TRef21
Rule Question

After a big block by A1,While the ball is dead since it went out of bounds, A1 receives a flagrant non contact technical foul for abusive language towards B2. While going to the table to report, b6 on the bench says something to the official and a technical foul is assessed to him.

How are the FT's administered, how is the ball put back into play. Is it point of interruption or is it at a designated spot at the division line because of the non contact flagrant foul? Is the bench technical indirect to the head coach or since the official had knowledge of who committed the act is it direct? Let's see if you can answer it... )
__________________
Tommy
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 05, 2007, 11:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
It's pretty simple, really. Penalize fouls in the order they occurred. B shoots A1's technical. then A shoots for B6's T. Since B6 is bench personnel, there is an indirect T on head coach, regardless of whether you have direct knowledge of who said it.. Play resumes with A receviing the ball at the midcourt line, because that's part of the last foul committed. Now that wasn't so bad, was it?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2007, 12:15am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
It's pretty simple, really. Penalize fouls in the order they occurred. B shoots A1's technical. then A shoots for B6's T. Since B6 is bench personnel, there is an indirect T on head coach, regardless of whether you have direct knowledge of who said it.. Play resumes with A receviing the ball at the midcourt line, because that's part of the last foul committed. Now that wasn't so bad, was it?
For coaching box purposes, the coach has to now sit the rest of the game as well. Everything else Juulie said is right on.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2007, 01:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Pasadena Ca
Posts: 281
Send a message via AIM to TRef21
now is the college rule the same? Sorry I should have noted that
__________________
Tommy
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2007, 02:10am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,548
No the college rule is not the same. I am not even sure that Men's and Women's is the same as to how this would be handled.

Flagrant Technical (dead ball) is enforced just like a HS technical. The ball would be placed at the division line given to the offended team after 2 FTs. A bench technical or "Bench Restriction Technical" is enforced by putting the ball in play at the point of interruption. So in this case you would have the ball given at the division line with Team A in possession after 4 FTs.

So if everything was the same and A6 got a bench technical (instead of B2), then the ball would go back to Team A after each team shot 2 FTs.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)

Last edited by JRutledge; Mon Aug 06, 2007 at 02:30am.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2007, 07:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
No the college rule is not the same. I am not even sure that Men's and Women's is the same as to how this would be handled.

Flagrant Technical (dead ball) is enforced just like a HS technical. The ball would be placed at the division line given to the offended team after 2 FTs. A bench technical or "Bench Restriction Technical" is enforced by putting the ball in play at the point of interruption. So in this case you would have the ball given at the division line with Team A in possession after 4 FTs.
In the original situation, wouldn't this be reversed? The flagrant T was on A1, so B will get the division line throw-in.

Women's NCAA here is same as men's.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2007, 07:57am
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
No the college rule is not the same. I am not even sure that Men's and Women's is the same as to how this would be handled.

Flagrant Technical (dead ball) is enforced just like a HS technical. The ball would be placed at the division line given to the offended team after 2 FTs. A bench technical or "Bench Restriction Technical" is enforced by putting the ball in play at the point of interruption. So in this case you would have the ball given at the division line with Team A in possession after 4 FTs.

So if everything was the same and A6 got a bench technical (instead of B2), then the ball would go back to Team A after each team shot 2 FTs.

Peace
Wait a minute ole Rut boy. Me thinks you got this wrong. After the flagrant, team B is now in possession, technical on team B, team A shoots FT's but team B gets the ball at the division line. POI sir, you pointed that out but gave the ball to the wrong team.

Have fun taking that apart.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2007, 08:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
No the college rule is not the same.
One other thing about NCAA is that there is no "seatbelt" rule. He/she may still use the coaching box after the indirect T is assessed to him/her.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2007, 07:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
Since B6 is bench personnel, there is an indirect T on head coach, regardless of whether you have direct knowledge of who said it.
Care to clarify this, Juulie? In NFHS, in order to have an indirect technical on the coach, you have to have a direct technical assessed to someone else.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2007, 08:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
Care to clarify this, Juulie? In NFHS, in order to have an indirect technical on the coach, you have to have a direct technical assessed to someone else.
That someone could be the "bench". So it doesn't have to be any one player in particular. I could not know who said what, but if I hear "you're a piece of sh&% ref" from the bench with my back turned, I'm whacking the bench and letting the coach know that he just lost his coaching box priviliges.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2007, 09:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
That someone could be the "bench". So it doesn't have to be any one player in particular. I could not know who said what, but if I hear "you're a piece of sh&% ref" from the bench with my back turned, I'm whacking the bench and letting the coach know that he just lost his coaching box priviliges.
That's fine (as long as you go along with the T-ing the "bench" is okay philosophy). I just wanted to point out the fact that someone (or someones) must get a direct T before the HC can get an indirect T.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2007, 10:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Nfhs

Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
It's pretty simple, really. Penalize fouls in the order they occurred. B shoots A1's technical. then A shoots for B6's T. Since B6 is bench personnel, there is an indirect T on head coach, regardless of whether you have direct knowledge of who said it.. Play resumes with A receviing the ball at the midcourt line, because that's part of the last foul committed. Now that wasn't so bad, was it?
You missed something.

FTs are administered in the order in which the fouls occurred.

B shoots 2 FTs, A shoots 2 FTs and A gets the ball at the division line for a throw-in.

The HC loses coaching box privileges.

A1 is disqualified.

It makes no difference what type of technical foul it is, with regard to where the throw-in is.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2007, 10:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
You missed something.

FTs are administered in the order in which the fouls occurred.

B shoots 2 FTs, A shoots 2 FTs and A gets the ball at the division line for a throw-in.

The HC loses coaching box privileges.

A1 is disqualified.

It makes no difference what type of technical foul it is, with regard to where the throw-in is.
Thanks. I didn't spell it out in as much detail as I might have.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rule Question NothernVA_Ump Football 3 Tue Nov 08, 2005 01:32pm
Rule Question Ohioref3 Football 5 Tue Oct 04, 2005 10:13am
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am
new rule question eastcoastref Basketball 19 Tue Sep 28, 2004 09:13am
Question about NFL rule aliazhar Football 13 Wed Nov 19, 2003 11:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1