The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2007, 01:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Pasadena Ca
Posts: 281
Send a message via AIM to TRef21
now is the college rule the same? Sorry I should have noted that
__________________
Tommy
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2007, 02:10am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,575
No the college rule is not the same. I am not even sure that Men's and Women's is the same as to how this would be handled.

Flagrant Technical (dead ball) is enforced just like a HS technical. The ball would be placed at the division line given to the offended team after 2 FTs. A bench technical or "Bench Restriction Technical" is enforced by putting the ball in play at the point of interruption. So in this case you would have the ball given at the division line with Team A in possession after 4 FTs.

So if everything was the same and A6 got a bench technical (instead of B2), then the ball would go back to Team A after each team shot 2 FTs.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)

Last edited by JRutledge; Mon Aug 06, 2007 at 02:30am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2007, 07:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
No the college rule is not the same. I am not even sure that Men's and Women's is the same as to how this would be handled.

Flagrant Technical (dead ball) is enforced just like a HS technical. The ball would be placed at the division line given to the offended team after 2 FTs. A bench technical or "Bench Restriction Technical" is enforced by putting the ball in play at the point of interruption. So in this case you would have the ball given at the division line with Team A in possession after 4 FTs.
In the original situation, wouldn't this be reversed? The flagrant T was on A1, so B will get the division line throw-in.

Women's NCAA here is same as men's.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2007, 09:38am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
In the original situation, wouldn't this be reversed? The flagrant T was on A1, so B will get the division line throw-in.

Women's NCAA here is same as men's.
This is why you do not post early in the morning. Of course Team B would get the ball at the division line.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2007, 07:57am
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
No the college rule is not the same. I am not even sure that Men's and Women's is the same as to how this would be handled.

Flagrant Technical (dead ball) is enforced just like a HS technical. The ball would be placed at the division line given to the offended team after 2 FTs. A bench technical or "Bench Restriction Technical" is enforced by putting the ball in play at the point of interruption. So in this case you would have the ball given at the division line with Team A in possession after 4 FTs.

So if everything was the same and A6 got a bench technical (instead of B2), then the ball would go back to Team A after each team shot 2 FTs.

Peace
Wait a minute ole Rut boy. Me thinks you got this wrong. After the flagrant, team B is now in possession, technical on team B, team A shoots FT's but team B gets the ball at the division line. POI sir, you pointed that out but gave the ball to the wrong team.

Have fun taking that apart.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2007, 09:21am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,575
Why don't you reference the rulebook in your answer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Old School
Wait a minute ole Rut boy. Me thinks you got this wrong. After the flagrant, team B is now in possession, technical on team B, team A shoots FT's but team B gets the ball at the division line. POI sir, you pointed that out but gave the ball to the wrong team.

Have fun taking that apart.
One of these days you will decide to pick up a rulebook. On second thought.....

Rule 10-14-1

Section 14. Penalty for Flagrant Technical Fouls

Art. 1. The penalty for a flagrant technical foul shall be two free throws awarded to a player of the offended team and possession of the ball to the offended team at the designated spot at the division line.

I guess some things will never change.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)

Last edited by JRutledge; Mon Aug 06, 2007 at 09:34am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2007, 09:40am
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
One of these days you will decide to pick up a rulebook. On second thought.....

Rule 10-14-1

Section 14. Penalty for Flagrant Technical Fouls

Art. 1. The penalty for a flagrant technical foul shall be two free throws awarded to a player of the offended team and possession of the ball to the offended team at the designated spot at the division line.

I guess some things will never change.

Peace
There you have it, but you gave the ball to the wrong team! Now, what teams gets the ball after the 2nd technical, ncaa rules?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2007, 10:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old School
There you have it, but you gave the ball to the wrong team! Now, what teams gets the ball after the 2nd technical, ncaa rules?
Good grief OS, it was a typo. Give the guy a little bit of a break. As we do with so many of your typos!!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2007, 10:08am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
Good grief OS, it was a typo. Give the guy a little bit of a break. As we do with so many of your typos!!
If I had defended my position and said this was my opinion then he would have thought you give the ball back to Team A. Then he would have told us all how wrong the NCAA is and that this will happen to them some day and they need to do the right thing. Then he would have claimed that his big-time rec. game this took place and he set the record straight.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2007, 08:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
No the college rule is not the same.
One other thing about NCAA is that there is no "seatbelt" rule. He/she may still use the coaching box after the indirect T is assessed to him/her.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rule Question NothernVA_Ump Football 3 Tue Nov 08, 2005 01:32pm
Rule Question Ohioref3 Football 5 Tue Oct 04, 2005 10:13am
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am
new rule question eastcoastref Basketball 19 Tue Sep 28, 2004 09:13am
Question about NFL rule aliazhar Football 13 Wed Nov 19, 2003 11:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1