The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Jul 29, 2007, 03:27pm
Official Forum Member

Rookie Here..Need Advice

hey guys..I'm a rookie at basketball officiating and to this forum. Here's my dilemma: I've done a little officiating the past two years, all of it has been at a youth basketball league sponsored by a local church. My first few games, I was beyond AWFUL. The past season I really felt like I developed enough to try officiating on a middle school or even JV level. I've done all the research about certification here in Kentucky. I've sent my application in, now I'm waiting for my study guides so I can take the test. There is a mandatory rules clinic that all refs have to attend this September and October. The only problem is, I was talking to guy that I work with who has been officiating for around ten years. He was saying that the assigning secretary only provides refs for varsity games. So, in other words, newbies like me would have to get in touch with schools individually just for work on the Middle school/Jv level. I'm a little deflated by this, as I was hoping I could get just a little mentoring before I start out. I guess you could say I'm a little unclear as to what I need to do after doing the paperwork and attending the rules meetings. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks...
Old Sun Jul 29, 2007, 04:40pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by rbkersey