![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
If there are 3.0 seconds left in this scenario I think you either reset the clock to 3.0 or (gulp) 2.7.
I'm resetting it to 3.0 because I never chopped time to begin the clock. Therefore, there is a timing error in my opinion. I apologize that I understand the logic that 3 tenths has to run off the clock. I just don't think that is the right in this situation.
__________________
Go Purdue! |
|
|||
Quote:
At the moment, the proper timing for a play in which a defender kicks an inbounds pass if for the timer to start the clock on the chop by the official (or on the touch if the official fails to chop per 5-9-1) and then quickly stop the clock upon hearing the whistle for the kicking violation. So how much time should come off for this situation in an NFHS game? However long it takes the timer to turn the clock on and then off when responding to the officials whistle. Under the current NFHS rules that amount is NOT zero seconds. This is why my first post on this stated that I hope that the NFHS amends its rule to match the NCAA and then the correct answer will be zero seconds. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Never argue with an idiot. He will bring you down to his level and beat you with experience. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
So, what is the intent and purpose of 5-9-4? My feeling it is to allow the timer to start the clock when the official neglects to properly start it (see 5-9-1), usually on the routine throw-ins. Granted, I don't have any inside information as to what's inside the committee's heads, ![]() Quote:
Now, I suppose there's the chance that the official did see the touch, start to chop in time, realize it was a kick and bring their hand back up immediately while blowing the whistle. That would eliminate one of my arguments. But I still maintain the clock wasn't stopped immediately, because I have definite knowledge the throw-in was not completed, and can correct the time based on that specific knowledge.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
2) What difference does it make what the purpose and intent of the rule is? ![]() 3) You can argue it if you want, but I still don't see you citing any rules to back up your argument. The official is supposed to stop the clock because of the violation. The timer isn't authorized to stop the clock until you signal him to do so. 4) Hooray for you and your definite knowledge. I can't begin to tell you how happy I am for you. Now.......whatinthehell does that have to do with starting and stopping the clock on a throw-in as per the current written rules? There's nothing anywhere in the rules that I know of that can negate the specific language of R5-9-1&4. You can't put time back on the clock when there was NO timer's mistake made and the clock started and stopped by the existing rules. |
|
|||
Quote:
It (the kick) is a violation, not when the timer sees it but when the official calls it. Time can elapse from when it happens to when the whistle blows. Timers should not play referee with regards to the clock. Just like a travel. The travel happens, the official recognizes, blows whistle, timer hears, timer stops clock. A whole second or more may have elapsed from when the violation actually occured and when the timer actually stopped the clock. Now, are we gonna decide to put 3 tenths, 7 tenths, etc for every violation, foul, etc., too and call it a timer error? No. But, allbeit those are running clock examples and this discussion revolves around a stopped clock throw-in during a 1 point game with 3 seconds left in the 4th. At that point, a little communication between the timer and official would be beneficial, considering the rule as written. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
![]() Look, I keep saying I understand the point you're making about 5-9-4, and the difference between that wording and the new ruling. I hope they fix that with one simple little word addition when the books come out. Ok, I'm going to try to improve on my interlect over lunch.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
I'm beginning to see the issue here. It's possible to end the game under the kickball violation. Doesn't sound right but then again, allowing Team A to retain the AP if B kicks the ball is not right either. Before we go too far here, it's unlikely that if a team is down one point and inbounding the ball that it will be a bounce pass with .01 seconds left. Knowing the players can't catch and shoot with .01, it has to be a tap so the pass will be up top. Just my 2 cents, continue on with your debate. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Rule 1, The Forgotten Rule | TxJim | Football | 14 | Thu Jan 04, 2007 07:02pm |