The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 05, 2002, 10:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally posted by chayce
We have discussed this topic several times in our Association meetings and we have all agreed to give the inbounding time the right to run the baseline when team b deflects the ball oob on the endline.

The NFHS rulebook is very plain in identifying a ball deflected oob as a violation. If the ball went oob on the sideline it would be a designated spot throw-in. If the ball goes oob on the endline, team A still gets the baseline. It may not seem fair, but that is the rule.
It seems fair, but what you are doing is NOT the rule! Team A is allowed to run the endline when team B either violates or commits a foul (before the bonus) before the throw-in ends. If B2 taps the ball out of bounds, the throw-in ends when B2 touches the ball, and the OOB is a separate act.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1