The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 10, 2007, 06:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 74
foul away from the ball

Q. A1 has the ball near midcourt. B2 commits a common foul on A2 in the paint near team A's basket. Team A is not in the bonus. Where does team A inbound the ball? Inbound near where the ball was or near where the foul occurred?

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 10, 2007, 06:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
Quote:
Originally Posted by RefLarry
Q. A1 has the ball near midcourt. B2 commits a common foul on A2 in the paint near team A's basket. Team A is not in the bonus. Where does team A inbound the ball? Inbound near where the ball was or near where the foul occurred?

Thank you.
At the closest point OOB nearest to where the foul occurred.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 06:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,044
ART. 5 . . . After a player-control foul, as in 4-19-6; a team-control foul, as in 4-19-7; or after a common foul prior to the bonus rule being in effect, as in 4-19-2, any player of the offended team shall make the throw-in from the designated out-of-bounds spot nearest the foul.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 08:16am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,393
Larry, just to add a little bit to the correct answers that you've already received, here's a little reminder list.

For NFHS rules, where to put the ball in play after. . .

a) any single personal foul -- at the spot closest to where the foul occurred;
b) any single technical foul -- at midcourt;
c) a double foul (technical OR personal) -- at the point of interruption. (Remember that, in the example you gave, the POI would be at the spot closest to where the BALL was at the time the fouls occurred.)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 21, 2007, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 259
Is this rule the same for NCAA men and women?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 21, 2007, 01:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
follow up question / scenario:
A1 inbounding ball on sideline. Throws in, A2 touches, ball continues into A's new frontcourt, no possession; however right after the touch A2 and B2 crash, just short of division line. Foul called. Will the ball be thrown in at point of foul or where the ball is when the foul is called?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 21, 2007, 01:04pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splute
follow up question / scenario:
A1 inbounding ball on sideline. Throws in, A2 touches, ball continues into A's new frontcourt, no possession; however right after the touch A2 and B2 crash, just short of division line. Foul called. Will the ball be thrown in at point of foul or where the ball is when the foul is called?
Edited to clarify/correct: If it's a single personal foul on A2 or B2, the throw-in will be at the spot closest to the foul. If it's a double personal foul on A2 and B2, the throw-in will be at the spot closest to the double foul. No team control = the throw-in will not be where the ball was when the double foul was called.

Last edited by HawkeyeCubP; Thu Jun 21, 2007 at 01:09pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 21, 2007, 01:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
common foul
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 21, 2007, 01:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 572
As Scrapper1 said, double fouls go to the point of interruption, e.i. where the ball was when you blew the whistle. Since there was no team control established, you would go to AP, with the throw-in spot closest to where the ball was when play was stopped.

Common foul---nearest where the foul occured. (NF)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 21, 2007, 01:26pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
If it's a double personal foul on A2 and B2, the throw-in will be at the spot closest to the double foul. No team control = the throw-in will not be where the ball was when the double foul was called.
Disagree. With no team control, the throw-in is at closest spot to where the ball was located when the double-foul was called. See case book play 4.19.8SitE(c).
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 21, 2007, 01:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Thanks, that was my thought. No possession, AP, Have to know where the ball was.
Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 21, 2007, 01:37pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Disagree. With no team control, the throw-in is at closest spot to where the ball was located when the double-foul was called. See case book play 4.19.8SitE(c).
I sit corrected. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 21, 2007, 06:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 259
Is this the same for college men and women?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 25, 2007, 08:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,192
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mwanr1
Is this the same for college men and women?
Yes. This rule is the same.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Foul tip caught, foul ball, or out? bossman72 Baseball 9 Sun Jul 09, 2006 11:03pm
fair ball/foul ball still_learning Softball 7 Fri May 13, 2005 10:02am
Foul Ball Out or Dead Ball/Foul Ball Frank Drebin Baseball 1 Sat Apr 30, 2005 06:50am
USSSA Foul tip vs. Foul ball sunfudblu Baseball 2 Sat Aug 07, 2004 12:08pm
Foul Ball Call - Does it make the ball dead ??? cmckenna Baseball 2 Tue Apr 30, 2002 08:53am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1