The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
The wording of A.R. 155's RULING is poor. Dan is correct that A1 cannot retouch the ball because A1 stepped onto the playing court and that is the ONLY reason a violation has occured in A.R. 155. The thing to remember in A.R. 155, as well as in the Original Post, is that Team A's throw-in is a throw-in after a score by Team B. One must remember that this throw-in has different that a designated throw-in.
Mark
I have to disagree completely with you here. The AR 155 specifically states after a basket by team B - and it is specifiacally a part of Rule 7 - S5-A8, a. which states: Any player of the throw-in team may make a direct throw in or may pass the ball along the end line to a team mate who is also out of bounds..

I can not see how you come to your conclusion.
I may be a little slow today help me out
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 12:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF
Mark
I have to disagree completely with you here. The AR 155 specifically states after a basket by team B - and it is specifiacally a part of Rule 7 - S5-A8, a. which states: Any player of the throw-in team may make a direct throw in or may pass the ball along the end line to a team mate who is also out of bounds..

I can not see how you come to your conclusion.
I may be a little slow today help me out
I'm not MTD but I'll help you out.

The part that I left underlined is to differentiate between a pass to a team mate inbounds or OOB beyond the endline. It is not there to say that a pass *must* be only to a team mate when it's made beyond the endline (that's kind of redundant btw, since a pass by definition is to a team mate). And it does not invalidate the 1 thing we agree on, that no travel or dribble rules apply during the throw-in.

So...

1. You can pass the ball inbounds or OOB beyond the endline. If it goes inbounds you cannot be the first to touch.

2. You cannot violate travel or illegal dribble rules (ie so-called "self pass" as in the OP's play allowed)

3. You cannnot "pass" the ball, come in bounds the go back out & retrieve the ball in this case. Per the AR under discussion.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 12:59pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF
Mark
I can not see how you come to your conclusion.
I may be a little slow today help me out
Allow me. See if you can find an NCAA or NFHS rule anywhere that says that it's a violation for the thrower on a non-designated spot throw-in to fumble the ball along the endline and then go and get it. That's what's happening in the play being discussed. AR155 simply isn't relevant.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Tue Jun 05, 2007 at 01:01pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw in violation Rita C Basketball 13 Wed Feb 09, 2005 11:51am
Throw in violation? Rick Durkee Basketball 6 Fri Jan 21, 2005 12:33pm
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm
Throw In Violation?? Rock'nRef Basketball 3 Thu Nov 21, 2002 09:24am
Throw in violation Bchill24 Basketball 16 Thu Dec 06, 2001 06:57pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1