The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 30, 2007, 09:32am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF
in this case the officials blew the call as they called basket interference anyway. but the judgment if they had made the right Call "T" was sound, the player could not be blocking the shot because he hit the backboard below the rim.
That's a wrong assumption also. Where the backboard was hit is irrelevant as long as the the contact was on the same side of the backboard that the ball was put up on. The criteria used to determine the call is simply judging whether the player was legitimately attempting to block the ball or not.

Don't make the call any harder than it has to be.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 30, 2007, 10:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
That's a wrong assumption also. Where the backboard was hit is irrelevant as long as the the contact was on the same side of the backboard that the ball was put up on. The criteria used to determine the call is simply judging whether the player was legitimately attempting to block the ball or not.

Don't make the call any harder than it has to be.
If the ball is on the cylinder, as in the OP, and the opponent slaps the $h*t out of the backboard, unintentionally, causing the ring to vibrate and the ball to fall off, is this still a no call?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 30, 2007, 10:56am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
If the ball is on the cylinder, as in the OP, and the opponent slaps the $h*t out of the backboard, unintentionally, causing the ring to vibrate and the ball to fall off, is this still a no call?
Let me make this clear to you and everyone reading this. The amount of vibration on the rim/backboard has absolutely nothing to do with anything. The only thing you have to determine is if any player hit the backboard on purpose to showboat or to purposely vibrate the backboard. If you determine there was attempt to block a shot and they miss the ball, whether they hit the backboard hard is not apart of this call. Vibrating the backboard cannot be goaltending or basket interference considering that the backboard has nothing to do with that call.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 30, 2007, 11:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
Let me make this clear to you and everyone reading this. The amount of vibration on the rim/backboard has absolutely nothing to do with anything. The only thing you have to determine is if any player hit the backboard on purpose to showboat or to purposely vibrate the backboard. If you determine there was attempt to block a shot and they miss the ball, whether they hit the backboard hard is not apart of this call. Vibrating the backboard cannot be goaltending or basket interference considering that the backboard has nothing to do with that call.

Peace
I completely understand that, but doesn't rule 10-3-5 say, intentionally slap or stike the backboard OR cause the ring to vibrate. I see that as 2 conditions of 10-3-5 that a player can get a technical foul if the ball is in flight, touching the backboard or in the basket or the cylinder. Since we all know that we can't count the basket for BI or goaltending, then I am probably going to whack the defender.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 30, 2007, 11:36am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,558
This is why you read the casebook for a ruling, which you are asking for.

Casebook says under 10.3.5 Situation says in the comment section:

The purpose of the rule is to penalize intentional contact with the backboard while the shot or try is involved or placing the hand on the backboard to gain an advantage. A player who strikes either backboard so forcefully it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw the player or means of venting frustration may be assessed a technical foul pursuant to rule 10-3-7.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 30, 2007, 02:11pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
I completely understand that, but doesn't rule 10-3-5 say, intentionally slap or stike the backboard OR cause the ring to vibrate. I see that as 2 conditions of 10-3-5 that a player can get a technical foul if the ball is in flight, touching the backboard or in the basket or the cylinder. Since we all know that we can't count the basket for BI or goaltending, then I am probably going to whack the defender.
Joe, you're over-thinking the call too. What JRut has written is the only correct way to make the call. Forget about anything else. You simply judge whether the player was trying to make a legitimate block or not. If there is any doubt, you do what you do with other calls where there is a doubt. You don't make a call unless you are sure.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Mon Apr 30, 2007 at 02:13pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 02, 2007, 11:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 44
31.2.4 Interference occurs during a shot for a field goal when:
- A player touches the basket or the backboard while the ball is in contact with the ring.

31.3.2 If the violation is committed by a defensive player, the offensive team is awarded:
- One (1) point when the ball was released for a free throw.
- Two (2) points when the ball was released from the two-point field goal area.
- Three (3) points when the ball was released from the three-point field goal area.

The awarding of the points is as if the ball had entered the basket.

31.3.3 If the violation is committed by a defensive player during a last or only free throw one (1) point shall be awarded to the offensive team, followed by the technical foul penalty charged against the defensive player.
__________________
See you in the funny pages!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 02, 2007, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Canuck
31.2.4 Interference occurs during a shot for a field goal when:
- A player touches the basket or the backboard while the ball is in contact with the ring.

31.3.2 If the violation is committed by a defensive player, the offensive team is awarded:
- One (1) point when the ball was released for a free throw.
- Two (2) points when the ball was released from the two-point field goal area.
- Three (3) points when the ball was released from the three-point field goal area.

The awarding of the points is as if the ball had entered the basket.

31.3.3 If the violation is committed by a defensive player during a last or only free throw one (1) point shall be awarded to the offensive team, followed by the technical foul penalty charged against the defensive player.
As a heads-up to those of you out there who might be confused - these are FIBA rules (which is why they're numbered in metric).
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
Good Call / Bad Call whiskers_ump Softball 29 Fri Mar 28, 2003 09:35am
Does one call relate to the last call? Tee Basketball 28 Thu Feb 13, 2003 05:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1