The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 25, 2007, 04:44pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
This is why I'm Batman, and you're only Robin.

I believe this is from the original post:


Isn't this exactly a violation of 4-15-2?
Is 4-15-2 a violation?

Are you also saying that 4-15-4(b) is a violation also?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 25, 2007, 04:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Is 4-15-2 a violation?
Um, no, but the play mentioned is a violation of that particular rule, because the ball was not allowed to hit the ground after the bat in the air.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Are you also saying that 4-15-4(b) is a violation also?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Someone like Dan_ref
WTF are you talking about?? Where did I say that??
I'll be a little milder - I don't believe I said anything about a double dribble violation. I have said all along, (and only said) the play is a violation of 4-15-2.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 25, 2007, 04:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Someone like Dan_ref
WTF are you talking about?? Where did I say that??
blah blah....
WTF are you talking about?? Where did I say that??!!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 25, 2007, 05:01pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
I'll be a little milder - I don't believe I said anything about a double dribble violation. I have said all along, (and only said) the play is a violation of 4-15-2.
Are all of the things listed under 4-15 explicitly violations? Or are they "definitions" that are used to call violations outlined in rule 9?

Are 4-15-1,3,4,5&6 violations?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 25, 2007, 05:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Are all of the things listed under 4-15 explicitly violations? Or are they "definitions" that are used to call violations outlined in rule 9?

Are 4-15-1,3,4,5&6 violations?
You, my crusty old friend, are wandering into Nevada territory to defend yourself.

Why not stop talking, stand in line for the buffet lunch, then head home.

It's been fun, time to call it a day.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 25, 2007, 05:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Are all of the things listed under 4-15 explicitly violations? Or are they "definitions" that are used to call violations outlined in rule 9?

Are 4-15-1,3,4,5&6 violations?
Maybe you need to get your prescription checked. Here, let me help:

WTF are you talking about??? I never said 4-15-2 was a violation. I said the play was a violation because it did not meet the criteria of a legal dribble outlined in 4-15-2!!!

Ahh...I feel better now.

I'm gonna go play some softball. And probably get struck by lightning, from the looks of it.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 25, 2007, 05:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Are all of the things listed under 4-15 explicitly violations? Or are they "definitions" that are used to call violations outlined in rule 9?

Are 4-15-1,3,4,5&6 violations?
I have to agree - the violations are in rule 9.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 25, 2007, 11:58pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
..........the violations are in rule 9.

4.15.4 SITUATION D: While dribbling: (a) A1 bats the ball over the head of an opponent, runs around the opponent, bats the ball to the floor and continues to dribble. RULING: Violation in (a) because the ball was touched twice by A1's hand(s) during a dribble, before it touched the floor.

Where, in rule 9, is this violation?

Foot movement, during a dribble, is totally irrelevant, is it not? So, if A1 bats the ball up in the air, even while standing still, is he allowed to catch it before it hits the floor? If not, then apparently, (this part would take a guy with really quick hands) during a dribble, A1 pushes the ball toward the floor, then reaches down and grabs it before it touches the floor, this would also be a violation.

One thing I am certain about, this was a really good question.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 26, 2007, 07:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
4.15.4 SITUATION D: While dribbling: (a) A1 bats the ball over the head of an opponent, runs around the opponent, bats the ball to the floor and continues to dribble. RULING: Violation in (a) because the ball was touched twice by A1's hand(s) during a dribble, before it touched the floor.

Where, in rule 9, is this violation?
9-5, because he's dribbling a second time (batting the ball to the floor) after the dribble ended (touching his hands a second time while in the air).

Even the casebook play says that it is a violation if it occurs "during a dribble." Catching the ball and shooting it is not a dribble.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 26, 2007, 08:13am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
9-5, because he's dribbling a second time (batting the ball to the floor) after the dribble ended (touching his hands a second time while in the air).

Even the casebook play says that it is a violation if it occurs "during a dribble." Catching the ball and shooting it is not a dribble.
Where is it written that touching the ball a second time while in the air ends the dribble?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1