![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Was was your call OP? Last edited by bob jenkins; Wed Apr 25, 2007 at 01:33pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
If he throws it off the backboard, legal, but if it doesn't hit anything or it's not a shot attempt or an interrupted dribble, it is a classic traveling with the ball. [/quote] You are so damn WRONG. Read the rule book! With one exception, you must be HOLDING the ball in order to travel! As long as the player above did not end his dribble, his play is perfectly legal. If he ended the dribble, released the ball and then touched it again, it's an illegal dribble. But under NO circumstances is this ever traveling!!!
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
So, BBR, it sounds like it depends on whether or not the dribble ended. If it was just a bat, then the dribble did not end, thus legal. However, if he picked it up with both hands and lobbed it forward to himself and did as described, it would be double dribble as soon as he caught it. Is this correct?
__________________
Sorry, no signature. Last edited by KCRef; Wed Apr 25, 2007 at 02:40pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
So, BBR, it sounds like it depends on whether or not the dribble ended. If it was just a bat, then the dribble did not end, thus legal. However, if he picked it up with both hands and lobbed it forward to himself and did as described, it would be double dribble as soon as he caught it. Is this correct?[/QUOTE] Since you clarified on the level or type of game... IT WAS A FRICKIN NO CALL!!!!!! ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
Sorry, no signature. |
|
|||
Quote:
It is not illegal if he is dribbling, bats the ball, goes around the opponent and catches the ball before it hits the floor. It would never be traveling.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith Last edited by BktBallRef; Thu Apr 26, 2007 at 09:47am. |
|
|||
Quote:
Yep, I believe the OP was a violation, but not for the reason you state. In fact, if the ball had hit the ground before he picked it up and shot, you would be wrong, because, by rule, it would be a legal dribble. So, since it's a dribble, a basketball rule fundamental (not one of them pesky little technical thingies, but an actual fundamental) states you cannot travel during a dribble.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|