The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Self bat (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/33957-self-bat.html)

M&M Guy Wed Apr 25, 2007 03:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
The violation for "batting the ball in the air and touching it again before it hit the ground." Illegal dribble.

Yep, that too. ;) :D

Scrapper1 Wed Apr 25, 2007 04:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad
Actually the OP says he JUMPED and caught the ball while in the air and then shot it before landing...

Yeah, but he jumped after taking several steps.

Quote:

exactly what violation will you call?
Not sure. I'd blow my whistle, give the stop clock signal and yell "4-15-2!!" Think anybody would argue?

M&M Guy Wed Apr 25, 2007 04:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Yeah, but he jumped after taking several steps.

Not sure. I'd blow my whistle, give the stop clock signal and yell "4-15-2!!" Think anybody would argue?

I would.

Just on principle, because you're such a big Sammy Sosa fan.

Jurassic Referee Wed Apr 25, 2007 04:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
What about it? It tells us when the dribble ended. Great. But M&M Guy's cite tells us that play is a violation. He ended the dribble by violating.

What violation? Rules citation please?

M&M Guy Wed Apr 25, 2007 04:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
What violation? Rules citation please?

...sigh...

4-15-2.

Jurassic Referee Wed Apr 25, 2007 04:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Illegal dribble, per 4-15-2. Remember, his jump, catch and shot was after the bat over the defender's head. It would've been legal if the ball hit the ground first.

Riddle me this, Batman.....

Rule 4-15-4(b) says that "the dribble ends when the player palms/carries the ball by allowing it to come to rest in one or both hands". Is that a violation <i>per se</i>?

Also.....casebook play 4.15.4SitE(b) that you and the Scrappy One are so happy to cite (almost to the point of orgasm) uses rule 9-5 as the relevant rules reference. And what does rule 9-5 say, you ask? That one says that it's illegal to <b>DRIBBLE</b> a <b>SECOND</b> time after the first dribble has <b>ENDED</b>. In the play being discussed, did anybody dribble a second time after ending their dribble? Scrappy? M? Beuller?

M&M Guy Wed Apr 25, 2007 04:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Riddle me this, Batman.....

This is why I'm Batman, and you're only Robin.

I believe this is from the original post:
Quote:

Originally Posted by KCRef
Had a player last night <font color = red>dribbling up the court</font color> for a 1 on 1 break. Right before he got to the defender, he lobbed <font color = red>(batted) the ball up</font color> to himself around the defender (not a shot), took a few steps then <font color = red>jumped and caught the ball in the air</font color>, and shot it before returning to the ground. <font color = red>The ball did not hit the floor</font color> before he caught his own pass either. Is this legal?

Isn't this exactly a violation of 4-15-2?

Jurassic Referee Wed Apr 25, 2007 04:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
This is why I'm Batman, and you're only Robin.

I believe this is from the original post:


Isn't this exactly a violation of 4-15-2?

Is 4-15-2 a violation?

Are you also saying that 4-15-4(b) is a violation also?

M&M Guy Wed Apr 25, 2007 04:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Is 4-15-2 a violation?

Um, no, but the play mentioned is a violation of that particular rule, because the ball was not allowed to hit the ground after the bat in the air.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Are you also saying that 4-15-4(b) is a violation also?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Someone like Dan_ref
WTF are you talking about?? Where did I say that??

I'll be a little milder - I don't believe I said anything about a double dribble violation. I have said all along, (and only said) the play is a violation of 4-15-2.

Dan_ref Wed Apr 25, 2007 04:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy

Quote:

Originally Posted by Someone like Dan_ref
WTF are you talking about?? Where did I say that??

blah blah....

WTF are you talking about?? Where did I say that??!!

Jurassic Referee Wed Apr 25, 2007 05:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
I'll be a little milder - I don't believe I said anything about a double dribble violation. I have said all along, (and only said) the play is a violation of 4-15-2.

Are all of the things listed under 4-15 explicitly violations? Or are they "definitions" that are used to call violations outlined in rule 9?

Are 4-15-1,3,4,5&6 violations?

Dan_ref Wed Apr 25, 2007 05:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Are all of the things listed under 4-15 explicitly violations? Or are they "definitions" that are used to call violations outlined in rule 9?

Are 4-15-1,3,4,5&6 violations?

You, my crusty old friend, are wandering into Nevada territory to defend yourself.

Why not stop talking, stand in line for the buffet lunch, then head home.

It's been fun, time to call it a day.

M&M Guy Wed Apr 25, 2007 05:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Are all of the things listed under 4-15 explicitly violations? Or are they "definitions" that are used to call violations outlined in rule 9?

Are 4-15-1,3,4,5&6 violations?

Maybe you need to get your prescription checked. Here, let me help:

<font size = +3>WTF are you talking about??? I never said 4-15-2 was a violation. I said the play was a violation because it did not meet the criteria of a legal dribble outlined in 4-15-2!!!</font size>

Ahh...I feel better now.

I'm gonna go play some softball. And probably get struck by lightning, from the looks of it.

Mark Dexter Wed Apr 25, 2007 05:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Illegal dribble, per 4-15-2. Remember, his jump, catch and shot was after the bat over the defender's head. It would've been legal if the ball hit the ground first.

4-15-2 states what is allowed and says that, if you do that, you can continue to dribble.

Note that the illegal dribble rule (9-5) states that you can't dribble a second time after ending your first dribble. There's no penalty for a "funky" move that ends your dribble.

Mark Dexter Wed Apr 25, 2007 05:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Are all of the things listed under 4-15 explicitly violations? Or are they "definitions" that are used to call violations outlined in rule 9?

Are 4-15-1,3,4,5&6 violations?

I have to agree - the violations are in rule 9.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1