The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 09, 2001, 12:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 187
I really hate to beat a dead horse, but I never claimed to be real quick. " One more time for the slow guy huh fella's".
If A1 inbounds the ball under A's own basket the ball is tipped by A2 and goes into the back court and then A2 recovers the ball is this a violation?
Mark Dexter has a 4 step formula for determining this, but I was unable to locate this in previous posts. Thanks in advance!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 09, 2001, 12:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Not my list

This is not my formula, just one that I have seen dozens of times before on this and other internet discussion boards.

Here are the four points. If any are missing, it's not a backcourt violation:
(1) Team A must have control.
(2) The ball must obtain frontcourt status.
(3) A must be the first to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt.
(4) A must be the first to touch the ball in the backcourt.

In this case, A never had control (no team control on a throw-in) so it is not a violation.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 09, 2001, 12:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 187
Smile

Thanks Mark, I justy found the post and even the very same stich, I'm relieved I made the right call. And it was actually bballrefs list. Thanks again!!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2007, 09:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Beavercreek, Oh
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to udbomber
Throw-in - backcourt violation without taking possesion

In Mark Dexter's 4 points, offense does not always have to have control (point #1). Yes it is true, offense can juggle ball across the line and not have control but if the defense touches the ball on the throw-in, the throw-in ends and ball, now touching offense and going into backcourt , and now being touched by offense first is a backcourt violation.

You Make the Call!!!Advanced Situation: A team is awarded a throw-in at half court. The inbounds pass is deflected by the defense and the offensive guard, jumping in the air from his frontcourt, grabs the deflected ball while in the air and lands in his backcourt. You make the call!!!

Ruling: If you called nothing because no team control was established until the ball was caught in the air and the first landing of the feet was in the backcourt, you are incorrect. If you called a backcourt violation because the throw-in ends when it is legally touched by the defense, you are correct. The airborne guard gains player and team control in the air after having left the floor from his frontcourt therefore having frontcourt status. As soon as the guard lands in his backcourt, he has committed a backcourt violation.

Rule 9.9.3: A player from the team not in control (defensive player or during a jump ball or throw-in) may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. (Casebook Situation)
Note: The exception granted during a throw-in ends when the throw-in ends and is only for the player making the initial touch on the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2007, 09:23pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by udbomber
In Mark Dexter's 4 points, offense does not always have to have control (point #1). Yes it is true, offense can juggle ball across the line and not have control but if the defense touches the ball on the throw-in, the throw-in ends and ball, now touching offense and going into backcourt , and now being touched by offense first is a backcourt violation.
Not true. No team control in frontcourt. No violation.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2007, 10:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 162
Yah I remember from one of the backcourt posts that no it would not be a backcourt violation. If A1 shot the ball, off rim, then a2 taps it out and it goes to the backcourt and then a3 grabs it would that be backcourt? I would again say no but I'm not positive. And would it matter if the tap is intentional like a controlled tap. A tap pass.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2007, 10:05pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by udbomber
In Mark Dexter's 4 points, offense does not always have to have control (point #1). Yes it is true, offense can juggle ball across the line and not have control but if the defense touches the ball on the throw-in, the throw-in ends and ball, now touching offense and going into backcourt , and now being touched by offense first is a backcourt violation.
Sigh.......

Completely wrong.

Lah me.....
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 01:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Lah me.....
Nice! Another appearance of "Lah me..." That's the JR we know!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 05:20am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
That's the JR we know!
And love......

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2007, 10:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by udbomber
In Mark Dexter's 4 points, offense does not always have to have control (point #1). Yes it is true, offense can juggle ball across the line and not have control but if the defense touches the ball on the throw-in, the throw-in ends and ball, now touching offense and going into backcourt , and now being touched by offense first is a backcourt violation.

You Make the Call!!!Advanced Situation: A team is awarded a throw-in at half court. The inbounds pass is deflected by the defense and the offensive guard, jumping in the air from his frontcourt, grabs the deflected ball while in the air and lands in his backcourt. You make the call!!!

Ruling: If you called nothing because no team control was established until the ball was caught in the air and the first landing of the feet was in the backcourt, you are incorrect. If you called a backcourt violation because the throw-in ends when it is legally touched by the defense, you are correct. The airborne guard gains player and team control in the air after having left the floor from his frontcourt therefore having frontcourt status. As soon as the guard lands in his backcourt, he has committed a backcourt violation.
Where is this reference from?

Also, don't you see the difference between this sitch and the OP??
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 08:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Beaver, PA
Posts: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by udbomber
In Mark Dexter's 4 points, offense does not always have to have control (point #1). Yes it is true, offense can juggle ball across the line and not have control but if the defense touches the ball on the throw-in, the throw-in ends and ball, now touching offense and going into backcourt , and now being touched by offense first is a backcourt violation.

You Make the Call!!!Advanced Situation: A team is awarded a throw-in at half court. The inbounds pass is deflected by the defense and the offensive guard, jumping in the air from his frontcourt, grabs the deflected ball while in the air and lands in his backcourt. You make the call!!!

Ruling: If you called nothing because no team control was established until the ball was caught in the air and the first landing of the feet was in the backcourt, you are incorrect. If you called a backcourt violation because the throw-in ends when it is legally touched by the defense, you are correct. The airborne guard gains player and team control in the air after having left the floor from his frontcourt therefore having frontcourt status. As soon as the guard lands in his backcourt, he has committed a backcourt violation.

Rule 9.9.3: A player from the team not in control (defensive player or during a jump ball or throw-in) may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. (Casebook Situation)
Note: The exception granted during a throw-in ends when the throw-in ends and is only for the player making the initial touch on the ball.
In your example above, team control was established. When A1 leaps from front court and secures control in the air, player and team control is established at that point in time (Point 1). Beacause A1 is in the air and lept from the front court and has touched the ball, the ball has front court status (point 2). A1 is holding the ball as he lands in back court (points 3 and 4 are now satisfied). Now we can call the back court violation.
__________________
I only wanna know ...
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 08:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,182
Quote:
Originally Posted by udbomber
In Mark Dexter's 4 points, offense does not always have to have control (point #1). Yes it is true, offense can juggle ball across the line and not have control but if the defense touches the ball on the throw-in, the throw-in ends and ball, now touching offense and going into backcourt , and now being touched by offense first is a backcourt violation.
Good job. It's not often that someone can resurrect a 6-year old thread and be so wrong about it.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 08:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Good job. It's not often that someone can resurrect a 6-year old thread and be so wrong about it.


Didn't even notice the date of the OP.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 07, 2007, 07:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Beavercreek, Oh
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to udbomber
Pay close attention:

In co2ice scenario, it is not a backcourt violation because A2 touched the inbounds pass and not the defense so you are correct, it is not team control.

Pay close attention: My response was to Mark Dexter's rule of thumb for throw in backcourt violations in particular #1.

There can be a violation for A2 if he leaves the frontcourt with feet in the air on an inbounds pass and the defense touches the ball, then A2 catches ball in the air and lands in backcourt. His player location is now established immediately as frontcourt with the touch of the defense since his last spot was in the frontcourt where his feet were before going airborne.

Read your casebook.

I love this game. Alan
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 07, 2007, 08:17am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by udbomber
There can be a violation for A2 if he leaves the frontcourt with feet in the air on an inbounds pass and the defense touches the ball, then A2 catches ball in the air and lands in backcourt. His player location is now established immediately as frontcourt with the touch of the defense since his last spot was in the frontcourt where his feet were before going airborne.

Read your casebook.
Pay close attention.

The highlighted statement is completely wrong. The player location is not established by the touch of the defense. The player location was established immediately when the player jumped. Period.

Read, learn and understand your rulebook. Rule 4-35-3.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1