The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 04, 2007, 10:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF
If she picked up the ball it could not have been a double (illegal) dribble - that requires you to dribble again after holding the ball. It could have been ruled a travel, but I think not.
She clearly fumbled the ball while trying to pass.
However, I do not think she could dribble again with out it being ruled an illegal dribble, because she had put two hands on the ball prior to the fumble.
I thought when I first saw it that she could pick it up....but with my DVR instant replay on my couch and the beneft of unlimited replays ...

Player dribbled, picked up the ball with both hands to throw to a teammate. Her teammate's back is turned and the defender was going to steal the pass.

Player reroutes the ball back towards herself and it bounces on the floor in front of her.

The only thing you have to determine on this play is if she fumbled the ball or purposely choose not to throw it b/c of the defender. IMO she was purposely not throwing it for that reason, therefore it would have been a double dribble IF she had touched the ball again.

I do agree with JoeTheRef that she should have just picked it up and taken the chance.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 04, 2007, 11:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by All_Heart
The only thing you have to determine on this play is if she fumbled the ball or purposely choose not to throw it b/c of the defender. IMO she was purposely not throwing it for that reason, therefore it would have been a double dribble IF she had touched the ball again.
First let me clarify I am not saying she could or could not pick up the ball without a violation being called here, I have only seen the play at full speed and was not really paying attention.
I am saying is that had she picked up the ball - if there was a violation - it would not have been for illegally dribbling the ball .
Reasoning:
A dribble starts with batting or throwing the ball to the floor.
So since she had picked the ball up ending her dribble and thrown or batted it to the floor that would be the illegal dribble right there.
So since the whistle did not blow at that point picking up the ball at this point has nothing to do with the illegal dribble.
It could have been a travel - lifting and replacing the pivot on the floor.

but I would guess that it was a fumble and nothing would have been called - to the dismay of a lot of fans.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 04, 2007, 11:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF
First let me clarify I am not saying she could or could not pick up the ball without a violation being called here, I have only seen the play at full speed and was not really paying attention.
I am saying is that had she picked up the ball - if there was a violation - it would not have been for illegally dribbling the ball .
Reasoning:
A dribble starts with batting or throwing the ball to the floor.
So since she had picked the ball up ending her dribble and thrown or batted it to the floor that would be the illegal dribble right there.
So since the whistle did not blow at that point picking up the ball at this point has nothing to do with the illegal dribble.
It could have been a travel - lifting and replacing the pivot on the floor.
This is incorrect.

Player dribbles the ball, picks it up and then starts to dribble again (by throwing the ball towards the floor). Then the player realizes that she had already dribbled and so she does not touch the ball again. This is NOT an "illegal dribble" it would be if she touches the ball again.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 04, 2007, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
Definitions
Section 15 Art … 3 the dribble may be started by pushin, throwing or batting the ball to the floor before the pivot foot is lifted.
Art …4 the dribble ends when;
a. The dribbler catches or causes the ball to come to rest in one or both hands.

Violations and Penalties
Section 5: Illegal Dribble
Aplayer shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of;
Art 1 … A try for field goal,
Art 2 … A bat by an opponent,
Art 3 … A pass or fumble which has then touched or been touched by, another player.

So you are saying that – the illegal dribble does not occur until the ball is touched the second time but the dribble starts when the ball is batted to the floor?

Ex. A1 standing still legally starts his/her dribble by batting the ball to the floor, and moves toward the basket, after several steps A1 places both hands on the ball then intentionally bats the ball to the floor again and;
a. Continues to dribble
b. Runs along side the ball, without touching it.
You have an illegal dribble in one and not in the other?

I believe that the violation occurs when the dribble starts.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 04, 2007, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF
Ex. A1 standing still legally starts his/her dribble by batting the ball to the floor, and moves toward the basket, after several steps A1 places both hands on the ball then intentionally bats the ball to the floor again and;
a. Continues to dribble
b. Runs along side the ball, without touching it.
You have an illegal dribble in one and not in the other?

I believe that the violation occurs when the dribble starts.
DD in a.

Nothing in b.

Otherwise a bounce pass would be a DD.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 04, 2007, 12:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
DD in a.

Nothing in b.

Otherwise a bounce pass would be a DD.
A bounce pass is a pass. Unless a teammate is standing on the dribbler's shoulders, if she starts the second dribble, she's violated. I can differentiate between when a player throws a bounce pass and when a person starts a dribble. Once I make that distinction that she's started a second illegal dribble, I would violate that dribbler.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 04, 2007, 12:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
Once I make that distinction that she's started a second illegal dribble, I would violate that dribbler.
That seems like kinda of a harsh punishment!! ( )
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 04, 2007, 12:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
Unless a teammate is standing on the dribbler's shoulders, if she starts the second dribble, she's violated.
So IOW you'll accept that there are cases where DD would be the wrong call. That's a step in the right direction.

The rule says it's illegal to dribble a second time.

It does not say it's illegal to *start* a dribble a second time. That's because you must wait for the play to continue to determine if a second dribble occurred.

Don't overthink this, it's not that hard.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 04, 2007, 12:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by All_Heart
This is incorrect.

Player dribbles the ball, picks it up and then starts to dribble again (by throwing the ball towards the floor). Then the player realizes that she had already dribbled and so she does not touch the ball again. This is NOT an "illegal dribble" it would be if she touches the ball again.
Can you not have a dribble after the dribble has started? I have the violation as soon as the second dribble starts.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 04, 2007, 12:25pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I'm going to lay this out so my brain can understand it since I haven't seen the play.

1. A1 has picked up her dribble.
2. A1 starts to pass but re-thinks and either attempts to hold the ball or redirects her pass downward.

Can A1 pick up the ball? If this is not considered a fumble, she cannot pick up the ball, it would be an illegal dribble. It's the same play you have if the player, after having picked up a dribble, passes the ball and proceeds to chase it down. Once they touch the ball, it becomes a dribble.

In this case, it's a violation even if she didn't move her pivot foot (again, assuming it's not ruled a fumble), because it becomes an illegal dribble once she .
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 04, 2007, 12:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
I'm going to lay this out so my brain can understand it since I haven't seen the play.

1. A1 has picked up her dribble.
2. A1 starts to pass but re-thinks and either attempts to hold the ball or redirects her pass downward.

Can A1 pick up the ball? If this is not considered a fumble, she cannot pick up the ball, it would be an illegal dribble. It's the same play you have if the player, after having picked up a dribble, passes the ball and proceeds to chase it down. Once they touch the ball, it becomes a dribble.

In this case, it's a violation even if she didn't move her pivot foot (again, assuming it's not ruled a fumble), because it becomes an illegal dribble once she .
Your description of what happened is accurate. She dribbled, picked up her dribble and then went to pass. She tried to re-direct the pass as it got away from her, and then realized she couldn't pick it up again. It would have been DD as soon as she touched it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Women's Championship Officials SCalScoreKeeper Basketball 28 Wed Apr 04, 2007 02:51pm
Women's Championship Snake~eyes Basketball 13 Wed Apr 05, 2006 07:34pm
NFC Championship Game RookieDude Football 3 Mon Jan 23, 2006 11:08am
Women's Championship officials?? lasert Basketball 43 Wed Apr 07, 2004 07:47am
MLL Championship game ChuckElias Lacrosse 5 Thu Sep 20, 2001 09:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1