The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Women's Championship Game (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/33386-womens-championship-game.html)

jkjenning Thu Apr 05, 2007 06:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Here's the question.
A1, who has ended his dribble, pushes the ball down for what looks like another dribble. Before A1 touches the ball following the bounce, the official whistles a double dribble violation just before a) A2 swoops in and grabs the ball or b) just before B1 kicks it.
Is the official correct? I think not.

Nor do I, but the official could be thinking quite narrowly about the rules and, technically, the rules would back him/her up since their judgment that another dribble had begun agrees with the definition of the start of a dribble. ;)

BillyMac Thu Apr 05, 2007 07:47pm

Palming ???
 
In my opinion, "Palming" could be considered a form of traveling, or an illegal (double) dribble, depending on how you view the violation.

Adam Thu Apr 05, 2007 09:25pm

Until a few years ago, it was technically either a double dribble or a travel, depending on which happened first. They added the palming designation recently.

OHBBREF Fri Apr 06, 2007 05:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Until a few years ago, it was technically either a double dribble or a travel, depending on which happened first. They added the palming designation recently.

the Palming designation has existed for years a number of years ago the signal was dropped from useage and the illegal dribble signal was used, just about two years ago it was brought back because it specifically addressed the violation that was again brought to the points of emphasis.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1