![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
New angle
Before the UCLA/Kansas Game, I saw an angle from under the basket. I only watched Green's pivot foot. I'm not certain, but I believe that at a point when he lifted his heel and had his toe on the ground, the defender may have kicked him in the bottom of the foot, causing the pivot foot to move.
If so, that's a great no-call.
__________________
Visit my blog at illegalscreen.blogspot.com... |
|
|||
|
Did you see this?
Classy reply from the Vandy coach Kevin Stallings:
"I'm certainly not going to take away from the dignity of this game," Stallings said. "I haven't seen the replay. Don't care to. He made a great shot." It's on page 2 of this article: http://abcnews.go.com/Sports/wireStory?id=2978088
__________________
Larry Ledbetter NFHS, NCAA, NAIA The best part about beating your head against the wall is it feels so good when you stop. |
|
|||
|
Vandy whole program is first class. I always root for them to do well in the SEC.
The comments by the player and the coach do their institution proud. Sadly, the article is just another one by a sportswriter who has never seen a rules book. "Replays seemed to suggest Green traveled by picking up his pivot foot. None of the three officials saw it that way."
|
|
|||
|
CBS is clearly backtracking on the Green play. Someone even coached Billy Packer to state that it was clearly NOT a travel when the broadcast returned from the first media time-out in today's Georgetown/UNC game.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I couldn't afford a cool signature, so I just got this one. |
|
|||
|
I'm not a ref so found this site a valuable resource when looking into this topic; I'm one of those who was sure that what Green did was a travel, as did most of the people in my pickup game who I discussed it with.
I have an additional question. Green was pivoting on his right foot, planted his left, spun around it and elevated and shot. Let's say he was trying to gain a little more distance and instead of pivoting and stepping on his left, he jumped to his left. So the move was similar, but his right foot left the ground before his left one landed. Is this a travel? The NBA rule book says "If he alights with both feet, he must release the ball before either foot touches the floor", by which I think it would be interpreted as a travel; I'm not sure if there's a similar college rule, or if it's implied one way or another. (This came up in a pickup game yesterday when someone made a similar move.) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
This play happen in a NCAA game which also shares the same rules of traveling as National Federation (High School to you) Rules do. It is always legal to lift a pivot foot to pass and shoot. This is what took place so it was not called. If a player puts back his pivot foot to the floor before he shoots or passes (after lifting it) then it would be a travel. Now since you are a fan I will not get into all the traveling as it relates to dribbling because that was not your question. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/33035-announcers-said-he-traveled.html
|
||||
| Posted By | For | Type | Date | |
| Bilas and the Jeff Green "travel" | HoyaTalk | This thread | Refback | Tue Feb 11, 2014 11:46am | |
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Knowledgeable TV Announcers | Jim Bob | Basketball | 20 | Tue Feb 27, 2007 04:47pm |
| ABC Announcers in Colo. vs. Neb. | buckrog64 | Football | 11 | Mon Nov 28, 2005 01:28pm |
| Announcers again | Adam | Basketball | 26 | Thu Apr 01, 2004 06:29am |
| Announcers | Simbio | Football | 11 | Fri Oct 31, 2003 02:44pm |
| Announcers | Flaco23 | Basketball | 8 | Tue Apr 08, 2003 08:00am |