The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2004, 07:39pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Duke Minnesota women's game. Duke's Foley driving the lane plows into a Minnesota player. Tight play, block called by lead official. Female announcer says, "I think the concern was with how deep she was in the lane. If she was under the orange [rim], and I think she was, then it was a good call."

argh!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2004, 07:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Hate to break it to you, Adam, but this is a pro philosophy that's been explicitly adopted by the NCAA on the women's side. Appendix III, section 12b of the NCAA rulebook (page 156) states that "A defender who establishes a position directly under the cylinder or behind the backboard when a dribbler becomes an airborne shooter is not in a legal guarding position, regardless if she got to the spot first. If contact occurs, the official must decide whether the contact is incidental or a foul has been committed by the defender."

DISCLAIMER!! Please disregard the disclaimer in my tagline!!

[Edited by ChuckElias on Mar 30th, 2004 at 07:01 PM]
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2004, 07:57pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Ah, man. I was wrong and the announcers were right.

Now, where'd that BBQ sauce go? I've got some crow to eat.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2004, 07:59pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Appendix III, section 12b of the NCAA rulebook (page 156) states that "A defender who establishes a position directly under the cylinder or behind the backboard when a dribbler becomes an airborne shooter is not in a legal guarding position, regardless if she got to the spot first. If contact occurs, the official must decide whether the contact is incidental or a foul has been committed by the defender."

Then why are you saying that the ruling is relevant for men's games only?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2004, 08:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Then why are you saying that the ruling is relevant for men's games only?
OOPS!!! I forgot I'd said it!! LOL
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2004, 08:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,738
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Then why are you saying that the ruling is relevant for men's games only?
OOPS!!! I forgot I'd said it!! LOL
Perhaps you should reword your disclaimer:

Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only unless otherwise stated!

(Just trying to get my post count in the ball park of you two prolific posters )
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2004, 08:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,465
ESPN announcers

Anybody watching the Minn/Duke womens' game? The announcers are just ripping the officials. Statements such as this is a joke. That's horrible.
I was quite stunned by their professionalism.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2004, 08:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,802
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Then why are you saying that the ruling is relevant for men's games only?
OOPS!!! I forgot I'd said it!! LOL
Perhaps you should reword your disclaimer:

Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only unless otherwise stated!

(Just trying to get my post count in the ball park of you two prolific posters )
Sounds like a good idea.

Both parts of your post.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2004, 09:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,465
who are they?

For those of you watching this game, who are the two commentators?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2004, 09:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
NIT Semifinals - Rutgers v. ISU
Announcer says player has to establish a pivot foot during throw in. He does "walk" and ref points at feet, I assume he stepped inbounds and that was the violation. I hope that NFHS and NCAA are the same in this perspective.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2004, 09:46pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Anybody watching the Minn/Duke womens' game? The announcers are just ripping the officials. Statements such as this is a joke. That's horrible.
I was quite stunned by their professionalism.

You mean lack of professionalism, I take it. I was going back and forth between both games. I muted the sound on both. Easier on the nerves. The problem is that the fanboys watching actually believe these gomers, and then nobody can tell them anything different. We get "Nope, I don't care what the rulebook says. ESPN said that it was a terrible call". If anybody wants to disagree with that statement, just check out some of the posts and posters that we've had inflicted on us over the last few weeks. It's almost enough to make an even-tempered feller like myself speak out.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2004, 09:49pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by Snake~eyes
NIT Semifinals - Rutgers v. ISU
Announcer says player has to establish a pivot foot during throw in. He does "walk" and ref points at feet, I assume he stepped inbounds and that was the violation. I hope that NFHS and NCAA are the same in this perspective.
I couldn't see the feet on the replay, but I think that the call was for the player throwing the ball in stepping outside the 3-foot area along the sideline. That looked like the signal given too.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2004, 10:11pm
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Talking

Professionalism and commentators in the same sentence????? Have we landed on Mars????
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2004, 10:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,465
Re: ESPN announcers

Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
I was quite stunned by their professionalism.
Yeah, that's my sarcasm.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2004, 10:34pm
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Wink

I figured you were scarcastic, but I just wanted to keep the ball rolling. High time we gifted zebras consider ourselves appropriate educated compared to the howler monkeys and annoying announcers.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1