The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 09:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
We give B an advantage because they can't control where the ball is.

An excpetion is granted on a jump ball, and inbounds pass, and to the defense intercepting a pass -- an airborne player is allowed to jump from the FC, catch the ball and land in the BC without this being a violation.
I got the first two but didn't realize the third....what about the landing....if one touches in the front court has he established front-court position and if the other comes down in the backcourt then it's a violation??? I know if A does that on an inbounds its a violation so it should be on B in this sit....

Personally I don't like this rule (probably because I didn't know it) Don't think there should be an exception....if this is a rule then give the O the benefit of the doubt on a tipped ball that goes into the backcourt...I have the casebook in front of me but it doesn't cover this rule there..

Again, can someone post the actual rulebook explanation...if they have it...
__________________
Do you really think it matters, Eddy?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 09:39am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,715
Quote:
Originally Posted by RushmoreRef
I got the first two but didn't realize the third....what about the landing....if one touches in the front court has he established front-court position and if the other comes down in the backcourt then it's a violation???
No. As someone else already posted, the player is allowed a "normal" landing, even if the first foot touches in the frontcourt and the second touches in the backcourt.

Quote:
I know if A does that on an inbounds its a violation.
I don't think that you really know that.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 09:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by RushmoreRef
I got the first two but didn't realize the third....what about the landing....if one touches in the front court has he established front-court position and if the other comes down in the backcourt then it's a violation??? I know if A does that on an inbounds its a violation so it should be on B in this sit
I think not. Check out 9-9-3.

Quote:
Don't think there should be an exception....if this is a rule then give the O the benefit of the doubt on a tipped ball that goes into the backcourt...I have the casebook in front of me but it doesn't cover this rule there..

Again, can someone post the actual rulebook explanation...if they have it...
The "exception" is there because of the NFHS definition of team control. B can't have team control, and A doesn't have control during a throw-in.


9-9-3:
"A player from the team not in control (defensive player or during a jump ball or throw-in) may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt."
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 10:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 127
Great I learned something...now with the inbounds play. It all depends on the status of the player (airborne or not airborne)....got it now...if airborne they can land normally, if not airborne then the court status is just like anything else, in and out of bounds, behind the arc or in front etc....

Got it...thanks.
__________________
Do you really think it matters, Eddy?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 10:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by RushmoreRef
Great I learned something...now with the inbounds play. It all depends on the status of the player (airborne or not airborne)....got it now...if airborne they can land normally, if not airborne then the court status is just like anything else, in and out of bounds, behind the arc or in front etc....

Got it...thanks.

Think of it this way. FC and BC are only in existence when there's team control. When a defensive player is airborne, and catches the ball, he didn't have team control when he left the floor, so there wasn't any FC when he left the floor, so he's just establishing team control when he lands. He hasn't carried the ball from FC to BC, because he didn't have FC status when he left the floor.

And you can apply the same logic to the throw-in. No team control until the player lands, so no FC or BC status until the player lands.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt ? missinglink Basketball 5 Mon Mar 13, 2006 12:25am
backcourt? jr Basketball 3 Sat Mar 11, 2006 09:43am
Backcourt gostars Basketball 6 Tue Nov 02, 2004 08:56pm
Backcourt??? whistleone Basketball 3 Sat Mar 01, 2003 01:11am
Backcourt DownTownTonyBrown Basketball 10 Thu Oct 31, 2002 03:41pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1