![]() |
|
|
|||
From the NCAA Rulebook
A.R. 143. A1 blocks a pass near the end line. The ball falls to the floor inbounds but A1, who is off balance, falls outside the end line. A1 returns, secures control of the ball, and dribbles.
RULING: Legal. A1 has not left the playing court voluntarily and was not in control of the ball when leaving the playing court. This situation is similar to one in which A1 makes a try from under the basket and momentum carries A1 off the playing court. The try is unsuccessful, and A1 comes onto the playing court and regains control of the ball.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all." |
|
|||
This is one of those plays that so many people believe is illegal...even at high levels. I've called T on more than one occassion on a coach/player who went ballistic after I no-called this situation. The number of players, fans, and coaches who believe that a player can't touch the ball, go OOB, and return and be the next to touch the ball is probably a majority (but are all wrong).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Kentucky/Mississippi State Lane Violation | Jim Bob | Basketball | 53 | Mon Mar 12, 2007 09:48pm |
Okla State / K State Head Butt | Larks | Basketball | 1 | Thu Mar 01, 2007 10:26pm |
NC State vs. Florida State | GPC2 | Football | 12 | Fri Oct 06, 2006 11:09pm |
Class 5A State Finals--Florida | JRutledge | Basketball | 42 | Sun Jul 16, 2006 01:13am |
State Government Defeated in Attempt to Control State Association | mikesears | Football | 14 | Wed Apr 20, 2005 07:35am |