The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 13, 2007, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
What if the player is standing on only one foot?

Just pointing out that there is no requirement that both feet must touch in the front court, only that front court status must be attained.
This made me think of an interesting situation. What if a player is dribbling from the backcourt to the frontcourt while hopping on one foot? Does the three point rule apply? I would say, no, but it seems that it is within the rules if after a couple of hops in the frontcourt, he were to return to the backcourt.
__________________
Sorry, no signature.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 13, 2007, 01:18pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by KCRef
This made me think of an interesting situation. What if a player is dribbling from the backcourt to the frontcourt while hopping on one foot? Does the three point rule apply? I would say, no, but it seems that it is within the rules if after a couple of hops in the frontcourt, he were to return to the backcourt.
This is when you would apply the spirit and intent of the rules. IMO, two hops = two feet down. Same concept as when a player lifts his pivot foot and hops on the other foot without dribbling. You still call a travel.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 13, 2007, 01:26pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by KCRef
This made me think of an interesting situation. What if a player is dribbling from the backcourt to the frontcourt while hopping on one foot? Does the three point rule apply? I would say, no, but it seems that it is within the rules if after a couple of hops in the frontcourt, he were to return to the backcourt.
Gee if that "hoppyfoot" wasn't his pivot foot, he could legally "hop" on it from the backcourt right to his basket while holding the ball. No need to even dribble, right?

That's within the rules too, isn't it?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 13, 2007, 02:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Gee if that "hoppyfoot" wasn't his pivot foot, he could legally "hop" on it from the backcourt right to his basket while holding the ball. No need to even dribble, right?

That's within the rules too, isn't it?
Uh, oh...here we go again...

(How's that handbasket of yours?)
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 13, 2007, 03:00pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Uh, oh...here we go again...

(How's that handbasket of yours?)
Bad Woddy....

Bad, bad Woddy......
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 13, 2007, 06:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by KCRef
This made me think of an interesting situation. What if a player is dribbling from the backcourt to the frontcourt while hopping on one foot? Does the three point rule apply? I would say, no, but it seems that it is within the rules if after a couple of hops in the frontcourt, he were to return to the backcourt.
About five years ago, I designed a play in which a player who is dribbling in the backcourt begins hopping on one foot and then proceeds to dribble into the FT lane in the frontcourt, turn around and return to his backcourt. THe player dribbles and hops on the same foot the entire time. I posted it on this very forum. It was an absurd play thought up specifically to test one's understanding of the backcourt rule. The answer is that this is not a violation of the backcourt rule, nor is it a travel. If the player dribbles the whole time, then traveling is impossible, and since the second foot never touches the frontcourt the player does not achieve frontcourt status, thus a backcourt violation is also impossible. The official must be sharp enough to continue the ten second backcourt count though!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 13, 2007, 06:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
About five years ago, I designed a play in which a player who is dribbling in the backcourt begins hopping on one foot and then proceeds to dribble into the FT lane in the frontcourt, turn around and return to his backcourt. THe player dribbles and hops on the same foot the entire time. I posted it on this very forum. It was an absurd play thought up specifically to test one's understanding of the backcourt rule. The answer is that this is not a violation of the backcourt rule, nor is it a travel. If the player dribbles the whole time, then traveling is impossible, and since the second foot never touches the frontcourt the player does not achieve frontcourt status, thus a backcourt violation is also impossible. The official must be sharp enough to continue the ten second backcourt count though!

you designed this play...how can guys like Bobby Knight and coach K continue working with a basketball mind like yours being wasted not getting a chance to execute this play in real life. shame on the system and shame on any ref who calls this a bc violation.

pretty much shame all around
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 13, 2007, 06:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
I mentioned it in post #27 in this thread back in 2005.

Free Throw Violation
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 14, 2007, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
I mentioned it in post #27 in this thread back in 2005.

Free Throw Violation
Not this one again.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 13, 2007, 07:35pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
About five years ago, I designed a play in which a player who is dribbling in the backcourt begins hopping on one foot and then proceeds to dribble into the FT lane in the frontcourt, turn around and return to his backcourt. THe player dribbles and hops on the same foot the entire time. I posted it on this very forum. It was an absurd play thought up specifically to test one's understanding of the backcourt rule. The answer is that this is not a violation of the backcourt rule, nor is it a travel. If the player dribbles the whole time, then traveling is impossible, and since the second foot never touches the frontcourt the player does not achieve frontcourt status, thus a backcourt violation is also impossible. The official must be sharp enough to continue the ten second backcourt count though!
You never fail to disappoint.

And believe me, I don't mean that in a good way.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asa, Nhfs, Ncaa tcannizzo Softball 1 Sun Aug 06, 2006 11:30am
NHFS EXAM hwalker747 Softball 7 Wed Mar 15, 2006 02:39pm
backcourt ruling during a game question 81artmonk Basketball 3 Thu Mar 09, 2006 11:22am
Backcourt ruling ditttoo Basketball 16 Sun Jan 23, 2005 06:41pm
HELP ASA vs NHFS Bagman62 Softball 9 Tue May 25, 2004 06:22pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1