The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 08, 2007, 01:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Pasadena Ca
Posts: 281
Send a message via AIM to TRef21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
At 6:51 of the 1st half Washington's Quicy Pondexter was charged with a technical foul for pushing an ASU player during the dead ball following an ASU foul which warranted a 1-1.
It seems to me that this has to be an intentional technical foul and should have carried the penalty of not only 2FTs, but also possession of the ball at the division line. Therefore, the fouls should have been administered in the order of occurrence.
Instead the officials administered the FTs for the T to an ASU player first, and then continued from the POI with the players occupying the lane spaces on the 1-1 FTs by Washington.

Did they kick it?
No they didn't. In NCAA an intentional technical foul occurs when the ball is dead and there is contact. In this case, we have a common foul which is warranted a 1-1 then an intentional technical which is 2 shots and we continue play from the POI. In this case the last POI was the 1-1. So we shoot 2 for the intentional technical and resume play off the 1-1.
__________________
Tommy
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 08, 2007, 01:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRef21
No they didn't. In NCAA an intentional technical foul occurs when the ball is dead and there is contact. In this case, we have a common foul which is warranted a 1-1 then an intentional technical which is 2 shots and we continue play from the POI. In this case the last POI was the 1-1. So we shoot 2 for the intentional technical and resume play off the 1-1.
I don't think so.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NCAA Rule Book
f. In the case of a false double foul or a false multiple foul, each foul
shall carry its own penalty. When one of the fouls is a direct or
indirect technical foul, the ball shall be put back in play at the point
of interruption.
1. When one of the fouls is a single (men) intentional technical
foul or a single flagrant technical foul, the penalties shall be
administered in the order of occurrence and the ball shall be
awarded to the offended team at the division line on either side
of the playing court.
I think they MIGHT have kicked it. Then again, they're working D1, and I'm not. Just what it seems like to me at first impression

Last edited by NewNCref; Thu Mar 08, 2007 at 02:02am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 08, 2007, 02:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
At 6:51 of the 1st half Washington's Quicy Pondexter was charged with a technical foul for pushing an ASU player during the dead ball following an ASU foul which warranted a 1-1.
It seems to me that this has to be an intentional technical foul and should have carried the penalty of not only 2FTs, but also possession of the ball at the division line. Therefore, the fouls should have been administered in the order of occurrence.
Instead the officials administered the FTs for the T to an ASU player first, and then continued from the POI with the players occupying the lane spaces on the 1-1 FTs by Washington.

Did they kick it?




Quote:
Originally Posted by TRef21
No they didn't. In NCAA an intentional technical foul occurs when the ball is dead and there is contact. In this case, we have a common foul which is warranted a 1-1 then an intentional technical which is 2 shots and we continue play from the POI. In this case the last POI was the 1-1. So we shoot 2 for the intentional technical and resume play off the 1-1.
and isn't that exactly what happened?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 08, 2007, 02:33am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRef21
No they didn't. In NCAA an intentional technical foul occurs when the ball is dead and there is contact. In this case, we have a common foul which is warranted a 1-1 then an intentional technical which is 2 shots and we continue play from the POI. In this case the last POI was the 1-1. So we shoot 2 for the intentional technical and resume play off the 1-1.
Say what?

That's completely wrong under NCAA Mens rules. See NCAA rule 10-15 and 10-16-1. The penalty is 2 shots and the ball. You shoot the 1/1, followed by 2 for the "T", followed by the throw-in at center for the "T".
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 08, 2007, 03:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Pasadena Ca
Posts: 281
Send a message via AIM to TRef21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Say what?

That's completely wrong under NCAA Mens rules. See NCAA rule 10-15 and 10-16-1. The penalty is 2 shots and the ball. You shoot the 1/1, followed by 2 for the "T", followed by the throw-in at center for the "T".
damn it! I read the scenario wrong again plus now thinking about it isn't that clear. If there is contact the ball is dead you have intentional technical and get the ball at the division line. My question is what type of tech was it. You can have a direct technical for using words at each other. If it's int. tech. then I have to say they kicked it. Thanks for the heads up Jurassic I was in a different world like always. when I'm on the court I'm zoned in on my book and the game at hand, so we don't kick it.
__________________
Tommy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What was I doing wrong? Mark Padgett Basketball 6 Sun Feb 01, 2004 08:27am
Was I wrong dsimp8 Basketball 21 Fri Feb 28, 2003 09:32pm
Was I wrong dsimp8 Basketball 2 Thu Feb 20, 2003 06:04pm
right or wrong? shipwreck Softball 5 Wed Sep 12, 2001 09:33pm
did I do anything wrong? refjef40 Softball 6 Sat Apr 14, 2001 07:54pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1